We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going Greek in the heart of Sussex” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Oak Whatlington

The Royal Oak Whatlington
Ranked #10 of 47 Restaurants in Battle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$12
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Charming and full of character 15th Century Inn, dating back to 1490. Situated at the heart of the village of Whatlington, on the A21, just a few minutes outside Battle and the seaside town of Hastings. With a wealth of original features including the large inglenook fireplace, the 80ft indoor well, quirky oldie-worldly interior and private large beer garden, The Royal Oak is the perfect place to meet up with friends and family. With a passion for good food, specialising in Greek cuisine and many popular international dishes, the Royal Oak offers a great venue for a quiet meal, family day out or a special event, in its stunning Function Room. Children are welcome and can be entertained at the indoor and outdoor play areas.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Going Greek in the heart of Sussex”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

New hosts Neil and Maria are working wonders as they try to bring this lovely, rambling, Sussex country pub back to life after its chequered history in recent years. Neil knows his beer and Maria is a Greek-Cypriot who knows all about Greek food. The place is increasingly popular of an evening, and there's a great selection of bar meals. But - and here's the real secret for foodies - Maria's Saturday night "meze" meals are a memorable Greek treat. The delicious courses just keep coming, and it is hard to find fault with any of them. Neil will even offer you a doggy bag if you can't finish all the food. But the best thing is the price. You may leave the Royal Oak a good deal heavier than when you went in, but your wallet won't feel much lighter, because this endless array of Greek dishes costs just £13.50 a head.

The pub itself needs a little TLC, but the new owners are on to it. And roll on the warmer weather, when the Royal Oak's huge garden area comes into its own.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank robinmeadtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    43
    13
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“friendly and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Found this on way to our B&B for the May day bike weekend Hastings,and couldn't have found a nicest pub to stop for a rest. we walked in and was greeted by Neil the land lord who served us, we sat near the bar and chatted to Neil and a couple with a baby, it was so nice to be made welcome not coming from the area, I asked if food was served as it was sunday and getting late in evening, unfortunately it wasnt, but Neil kindly offered to make me some toasted sandwiches, I thanked him but declined as we could find a fish and chip shop in Hastings close to our B&B.we had a drink and chatted and said we would pop in before we left on the Tuesday before we left to go home. We went in on the Monday and had a meal which was very nice and looked around the lovely quirky old pub with the amazing well.we left and said we will be back next may and we will be popping in alot more for lovely meals and good company and service, highly recommend. good luck Neil your doing a fab job of keeping a pub just as it should be, with lovely proper homemade food and atmosphere, see you next May :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy_Woo_713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fascinating and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We only stopped for a drink, but will definitely go back as the menu looked very appealing. We were greeted by an extremely polite and charming young lady who briskly and politely ran around looking after everyone in a friendly and professional way. Natural and genuinely old building, complete with a Well and lots of nooks and crannies. A great place to stop on the way to or from Hastings - just a shame (for me anyway) that a dog was allowed inside.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food and lovely People”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had lunch in the Royal Oak a few weeks ago and were so impressed with their Greek souvlaki that we booked a table for the Greek meze night they have on Saturdays. Went last night and thoroughly enjoyed the evening. 16 dishes plus bread. As the meat comes at the end in Greek Cypriot fashion, I had eaten too much before and could not finish the excellent meat dishes. Everything was well prepared and tasty, and the couple who run the bar/restaurant are friendly and approachable.
Highly recommended for a nice eveing out with friends.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gadjetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Super”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We had lunch today at the Royal Oak with our two young sons. The staff are friendly, the food reasonable and service excellent. Our boys particularly enjoyed playing in the garden with the owners children.

All in all a very good experience. We will definitely be going back as we live locally.

Helpful?
Thank GWSaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Oak Whatlington also viewed

 
Battle, East Sussex
 
Battle, East Sussex
Battle, East Sussex
 

Been to The Royal Oak Whatlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing