We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Claverton Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Claverton Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely B&B - friendly owners and waitresses, comfortable rooms in a beautiful, quiet location. Anything we asked for we received with a smile.

The morning breakfast is absolutely delicious and they serve real coffee (a big bonus for us coffee fiends!)



Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cappers1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaveronCountryHouse, Owner at Claverton Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you had a lovely stay with us enjoying the service, food and location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    76
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
43
239
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I and friends stayed here recently for the weekend.the champagne breakfast was divine with fantastic hospitality by staff and owners,lovely bedroom with views over the garden .we would come back again

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EnglandBirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaveronCountryHouse, Owner at Claverton Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. It was lovely meeting you all and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards Lorraine the 2nd !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

lovely rooms, good food! Excellent mushrooms and a warm welcome. Could not fault the service. Worth a stay!

Comfy bed and nice linens, quiet location and place to stay if want to be near Hastings.

Would stay again if in the area, we also ate at The Wild Mushroom which I would also recommend

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amyjohawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaveronCountryHouse, Owner at Claverton Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for your recommendation. We are delighted you found your stay with us a superb experience. We look forward to seeing you again should you decide to revisit the area.
Kind Regards Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Found this place by accident after booking a wine tasting experience. It is fantastic.

The owners are great, friendly and easy to chat to. The rooms are brilliant, the setting perfect, the ambience is perfect. An ideal place for a romantic getaway, a base to explore Battle, Hastings and Eastbourne.

The hotel (country house) is set in its own grounds, it has been renovated -very very well -by the owners. The restraint is great, food second to non.

Everyone should stay here if you want peace and tranquility...

Not just for couples, but ideal for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: The king size rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaveronCountryHouse, Owner at Claverton Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your recommendation. We hope you enjoyed your wine tasting at Carr Taylor vineyard too.
Kind Regards
Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Chose this B&B as it appeared to offer excellent value for the price I was paying. The furniture and TV in the room were of a very high standard, and it was nice to have the use of a bar/lounge downstairs as well (although a few more comfortable chairs wouldn't go astray there).

Despite being of a good size, the bathroom did not contain a bath, but the shower was of a high enough standard for this not to be a gripe on a one night stay.

I had high hopes for breakfast (it gets excellent reviews). but I only found it average. My barometer is the sausage, and this one was only 5/10. Some nice unusual fruit juices, but no bread apart from sliced pan on offer, a let down.

But in summary, if you get the best rate, the quality of the rooms here are truly 5*

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCimino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaveronCountryHouse, Owner at Claverton Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you found most aspects of your stay of a good standard . All of our rooms have en suite shower room with the exception of the 2 bedroom Garden Suite and are advertised as such. We are sorry you did not enjoy your sausage which is purchased from our local butchers and with meat supplied by local farms. We offer the usual toast ( from local bakers) plus Crusty Rolls and Chocolate Croissants are freshly baked when selected as an option from the menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sutton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We only stayed here one night but will be sure to go back.
on entering the hotel you will find a lovely relaxed atmosphere. You will also recieve a warm welcome from the lovely host. Our room was spotlessley clean and very comfortable. The en-suite was small but perfect for our requirements.The hotel was quiet and sits in very nice gardens.We had dinner and breakfast both of which were delicious.Overall we had a lovely stay and would highly reccomend paying a visit here. A lovely place for couples wishing to spend time together

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazat63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaveronCountryHouse, Owner at Claverton Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you intend to return again and that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay.
Kind regards
Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed last weekend for 2 nights where lovely surroundings and a superb champagne breakfast was topped off with a sublime evening dinner. The hotel is cozy and very clean, with delightful hosts. It's not far from Rye and Hastings and has lots of local pubs. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinBones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaveronCountryHouse, Owner at Claverton Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Battle
3.1 mi away
PowderMills Country House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Battle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Brickwall Hotel
The Brickwall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sedlescombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in Battle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
4.1 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
8.5 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claverton Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claverton Country House Hotel

Property: Claverton Country House Hotel
Address: Claverton Bluemans Lane | Kent Street, Battle TN33 0SE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Claverton Country House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claverton Country House Hotel combines Edwardian character with modern design. Offering luxury guest accommodation with free onsite car park and free WiFi and set in secluded landscaped gardens 3 miles from Battle Abbey.Claverton is perfectly positioned in a country lane, off Kent Street A21, to visit the many Castles and National Trust Gardens. Hastings seafront, Rye and Bodium Castle can all be reached after a 10 minute drive. Carr Taylor Vineyard is a 20 minute walk. London is a 1hour 10 minute train ride away and Brighton or Dover is a 1 hour drive.The Bedrooms are elegantly furnished with luxury mattresses, flat screen satellite LCD TV and Tea/Coffee making facilities.English breakfasts are freshly prepared to order using local produce with fine bone china and silver cutlery decorating the restaurant tables. Please note, breakfast is only free only if stated as included on your booking confirmation. Evening dining at Claverton includes the highly acclaimed "The Dining Room" restaurant on Friday and Saturday and a Bistro menu served in the Lounge Monday - Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Claverton Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claverton Country House Hotel Battle, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing