We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Claverton Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights to visit gardens and other sights in the surrounding area, such as Battle itself and gardens at Sissinghurst, Great Dixter and Driftwood Garden at Seaford. We also visited Batemans, Rudyard Kipling's house. There is a wealth of attractions in the vicinity, not all of which we could get to and we were mainly on a garden tour. The hotel was like a private house so don't expect spas and swimming pools. The full dining menu is available only on Friday & Saturdays & there is no evening meal on Sundays. This suited us very well as, having had lunch, we were very satisfied with a lighter meal served in the lounge-bar for supper. We found a warm welcome, a really comfortable, large bed and immaculate cleanliness everywhere. Our shower room was well appointed and the shower itself fairly powerful with apparently endless hot water. The breakfasts are top class and freshly cooked to order and the fine dining evening we experienced, on the Friday, resulted in truly delicious, well-presented food. We found our hosts and the staff to be both efficient and friendly and helpful with regard to directions or information. There is a large and attractive garden with a pretty sitting out decking area and koi pond and there is, invaluably, complete peace and quiet. On the day we left, our hosts were expecting the whole place to be taken over by one family, celebrating a Golden Wedding. This hotel would be absolutely perfect for such an occasion and it would feel exactly like staying your own home but without the work involved!

Room Tip: We were in Powdermills, overlooking the garden and can recommend it as being sufficiently roomy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjhdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had a lovely room overlooking the very attractive garden. It was large, well furnished and very clean and comfortable. Lorraine, our hostess, served us drinks in the garden which were very welcome after a long day's walk from Boreham Street on the 1066 walk. There is only a lounge menu on weekdays but we were grateful to be able to eat at the hotel as there is no other restaurant within walking distance. Unfortunately the food was a bit of a let down. All the meals (apart from a fillet steak at £25) were just casserole style which could be heated up quickly. They were all priced around £12/13 and did not include any vegetable which came as separate orders for an extra charge. There were no starters available so we had puddings which did not come with anything such as cream or ice cream as standard although when we requested some we were given some at no extra charge but at £6/7 these were quite pricey. Breakfast was excellent. We did enjoy our stay but felt it was a bit overpriced.

Room Tip: One at the back as there is quite a noisy road at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Captainmoosehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaveronCountryHouse, Owner at Claverton Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

We are responding to both reviews “Comfortable rooms - food let it down” and “A very comfortable stay” as they travelled together.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your breakfasts and that you liked your rooms. However - for the benefit of future guests - we would like to pay particular attention the negative comments regarding the evening meals.
As we are a small establishment of just seven rooms there is little demand from guests to dine in. We are aware that we do not have a pub or restaurant within walking distance so we have prepared a menu for the convenience of guests who do not wish to venture out in the car.
In order to keep our prices competitive, it is not cost effective to hire a chef in the evening to cook freshly prepared food. As a husband and wife run business, the provision of evening meals six days a week is now met solely by us.
We provide individually cooked to order breakfasts every day and a Fine Dining menu Friday and Saturday nights. The workload on us to provide freshly cooked food midweek, with the preparation time and clearing up time for a variety of different meals, has proved too exhausting in the past. Anyone who cooks at home knows how much mess is made just to cook 1 meal! We did try it for two years but the staffing costs and huge waste of fresh food when nobody dined in all week meant we had to find an alternative.
Our current mid-week bistro menu is made up of pre-prepared handmade food. Some include vegetables such as the Lamb casserole and others such as Chilli Con Carne (though made with tomatoes) do not. We do have extra portions of different vegetables as a side order purely to provide more variety.
The menu consists of good quality ingredients for variety of meals which includes Gluten Free, Vegetarian, Beef, Lamb and Chicken dishes, Prices range from £9.95 - £13.95 for mains, £6.50 for desserts and the menu is available to see on our website. The desserts DO come with Movenpick Vanilla Pod ice-cream as standard and were not provided just because they were asked for.
We are glad that you all appreciated the fact that we did provide evening food for you (as your previous night’s accommodation did not) but just wished that you enjoyed your meals as much as the guest “a great escape” who left the review between your 2 reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed midweek so the fine dining was sadly not available. However the bistro menu was great and we especially loved the aspect, watching the bunnies was worth it alone. The rooms are totally undersold as there was a mini fridge and loads of extras such as small toiletries etc. Rooms are not huge but finely furnished with good linens. Bathroom again not huge but clean and modern. Staff were pleasant and welcoming. Would definitely recommend. Ps we visited the local winery on the way home. A great trip. Fine dining next time I hope........

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank charliechucklechops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaveronCountryHouse, Owner at Claverton Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your mid week evening meal and that your room exceeded your expectations. We hope you enjoy your Carr Taylor wine and also to see you again one weekend to enjoy our Fine Dining restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We were made very welcome by Lorraine. We relaxed in the lovely garden with glasses of wine, after a long day's walk . Our room was beautifully furnished and very comfortable.
There is only a lounge menu available during the week, but a meal was much appreciated as there is no restaurant within easy walking distance. However we all felt that the food was disappointing, uninspired and quite expensive. A selection of dishes that could be heated up simply, but no veg included, although available as an extra.
Breakfast was very good indeed, however.

Room Tip: The hotel is near A21, so a room overlooking the garden is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaveronCountryHouse, Owner at Claverton Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

We are responding to both reviews “Comfortable rooms - food let it down” and “A very comfortable stay” as they travelled together.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your breakfasts and that you liked your rooms. However - for the benefit of future guests - we would like to pay particular attention the negative comments regarding the evening meals.
As we are a small establishment of just seven rooms there is little demand from guests to dine in. We are aware that we do not have a pub or restaurant within walking distance so we have prepared a menu for the convenience of guests who do not wish to venture out in the car.
In order to keep our prices competitive, it is not cost effective to hire a chef in the evening to cook freshly prepared food. As a husband and wife run business, the provision of evening meals six days a week is now met solely by us.
We provide individually cooked to order breakfasts every day and a Fine Dining menu Friday and Saturday nights. The workload on us to provide freshly cooked food midweek, with the preparation time and clearing up time for a variety of different meals, has proved too exhausting in the past. Anyone who cooks at home knows how much mess is made just to cook 1 meal! We did try it for two years but the staffing costs and huge waste of fresh food when nobody dined in all week meant we had to find an alternative.
Our current mid-week bistro menu is made up of pre-prepared handmade food. Some include vegetables such as the Lamb casserole and others such as Chilli Con Carne (though made with tomatoes) do not. We do have extra portions of different vegetables as a side order purely to provide more variety.
The menu consists of good quality ingredients for variety of meals which includes Gluten Free, Vegetarian, Beef, Lamb and Chicken dishes, Prices range from £9.95 - £13.95 for mains, £6.50 for desserts and the menu is available to see on our website. The desserts DO come with Movenpick Vanilla Pod ice-cream as standard and were not provided just because they were asked for.
We are glad that you all appreciated the fact that we did provide evening food for you (as your previous night’s accommodation did not) but just wished that you enjoyed your meals as much as the guest “a great escape” who left the review between your 2 reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I spent a night here with my husband to our wedding anniversary. We treated ourselves to the four poster bedroom (Darwell) and were highly impressed - the room was beautiful, furnished to an extremely high standard, and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was small but perfectly formed and an excellent use of space with a lovely shower. Our room had a great view over the garden, including cute wild rabbits. We were lucky enough to experience the fine dining menu in the restaurant - we both enjoyed our meals immensely; the food was of an extremely high standard, with excellent and attentive service. Breakfast the following morning was also very good - the cooked breakfast was delicious and filling, and I noted from the menu that local produce was used (same as at dinner) which was a great touch. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and we were made to feel welcome. I highly recommend Claverton Country House and my only wish is that we had stayed another night! My only suggestion for improvement would be for better signage from the A21 - we missed the turning twice!

Room Tip: Darwell (four poster bed room) is spacious with lovely view of garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sa16citytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaveronCountryHouse, Owner at Claverton Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review and you recommendation. We are delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us. We have been denied planning permission for a sign on the A21 and we have now contacted Planning Consultants to help us. Fingers are crossed that they are more successful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely B&B - friendly owners and waitresses, comfortable rooms in a beautiful, quiet location. Anything we asked for we received with a smile.

The morning breakfast is absolutely delicious and they serve real coffee (a big bonus for us coffee fiends!)



Stayed: April 2014
Thank Cappers1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaveronCountryHouse, Owner at Claverton Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you had a lovely stay with us enjoying the service, food and location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My wife and I and friends stayed here recently for the weekend.the champagne breakfast was divine with fantastic hospitality by staff and owners,lovely bedroom with views over the garden .we would come back again

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank EnglandBirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaveronCountryHouse, Owner at Claverton Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. It was lovely meeting you all and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards Lorraine the 2nd !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Battle
3.1 mi away
PowderMills Hotel & Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#1 of 5 in Battle
458 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in Battle
124 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Brickwall Hotel
The Brickwall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sedlescombe
283 reviews
4.1 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claverton Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claverton Country House Hotel

Address: Bluemans Lane | off Kent Street, Battle TN33 0SE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Price Range: £71 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Claverton Country House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claverton Country House Hotel combines Edwardian character with modern design. Offering luxury guest accommodation with free onsite car park and free WiFi and set in secluded landscaped gardens 3 miles from Battle Abbey.Claverton is perfectly positioned in a country lane, off Kent Street A21, to visit the many Castles and National Trust Gardens. Hastings seafront, Rye and Bodium Castle can all be reached after a 10 minute drive. Carr Taylor Vineyard is a 20 minute walk. London is a 1hour 10 minute train ride away and Brighton or Dover is a 1 hour drive.The Bedrooms are elegantly furnished with luxury mattresses, flat screen satellite LCD TV and Tea/Coffee making facilities.English breakfasts are freshly prepared to order using local produce with fine bone china and silver cutlery decorating the restaurant tables. Please note, breakfast is only free only if stated as included on your booking confirmation. Evening dining at Claverton includes the highly acclaimed "The Dining Room" restaurant on Friday and Saturday and a Bistro menu served in the Lounge Monday - Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Claverton Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claverton Country House Hotel Battle, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing