We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay - again.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bull Inn

The Bull Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Battle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bull Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Battle B&B and Inns
Battle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great stay - again.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Back for a second stay in the same holiday. Love the staff, atmosphere, food - everything really. The rooms are comfortable without being overdone. If we come back to the U.K. again and are in this neck of the woods, would book again.

Room Tip: Depends on the night - check for live music/karaoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    31
    6
    7
    5
See reviews for
13
23
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

We recently stayed here, and can reasonably describe the standard as average.

The welcome was lovely, and we were shown up to our room on a busy Friday night quickly and with no waiting. The staff remained friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

We were warned of the Friday night karaoke before we booked, and decided to partake of a few drinks in the pub downstairs. The karaoke finised at midnight, but we left slightly earlier. If you have little ones, or are looking for a quiet stay, we don't recommend you stay here when an event is on. The noise was very loud as the rooms are directly over the bar.

The room itself was functional, but pleasant enough. The mattress was not very comfortable and both of us ended up with back ache, and shoulder pains from the springs so close to the surface.
Only 2 medium size towels - no smaller hair or hand towels provided as standard, and no bath mat for a slippery floor. We recommend you ask for more if required. The bathroom was run using a saniflow system, we assume due to the age of the building, so flushing and showering were noisy and the shower was not particularly effective or enjoyable.

The breakfast was great - a full choice of pretty much whatever we wanted, and the staff (owners?) were friendly and helpful.

Due to a torrential rain storm on the Sunday morning, we were treated to a rude awakening as water seeped through the wall, over the window top and showered our bed. The staff couldn't do enough to help us, and we assume this was a one-off issue based on the nature of the weather, and a fault in an old building so dont' hold it against them!

Overall, an average experience. Although the breakfast was good, we felt that the price quoted of £75 per night was a litte too much.

Room Tip: Rooms are above the bar, and noisy on karaoke/music nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed at the Bull Inn a few years back, and said that we would never return. The room wasn't great, and the food was awful.

We came back to Battle last Monday (30/04/12) to see some friends and accidently went into the Bull.
The welcome we received from the bar staff was excellent and we felt quite welcomed.
The menu has changed allot since out last visit, and the choice and price was impressive.
Our food was well presented and tasted excellent, definatly value for money. After this visit, I would definatly go back again, and can see that the changes made by the owners have improved the venue for the better. I would like to congratulate who ever they are, the people that have created the new menu and improved the quality of the food and overall experience.

Thank you for a wonderful evening

Bob and Susan, Derbyshire

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

went to Bull inn after visiting yesterdays world up the road.
food was great and was good value,portions are very generous.
Kids ate free over halfterm which was a brilliant offer.
the service was great staff were extremely friendly.
Best Meal i had on my holiday.
well recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supahoop69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

my Fiance and I went to this hotel for a meal, we both travelled for 4hours and was in dire need of a good drink and excellent food- was my birthday afterall and had high expectations seeing as it was my birthday :)
we were not disappointed we both ordered lasagne and chips (homemade of course)
was gorgous, we sat next to the roaring fire, as was very cold outside.
we enjoyed out meal that much we ventured a further two other occasions during our 4 day stay at battle.
however we had already paid to stay at another property s can't comment on the accommodation there.
the locals that were having a drink in there were very friendly- was a very welcoming place thankyou sooo much :)
Dee and Steve x

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dee5214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Bull Inn for a friends wedding in November, we found the staff very welcoming and friendly. The room was clean and functional and the full English breakfast was delicious. Overall very good value!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelanieB7284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Popped in on Saturday to treat some visitors to lunch whilst visiting Battle. The cask ale was good, as was the overall ambience, BUT THE FOOD was less than exciting. Limited choice, cool to cold plates for a hot meal, and the chicken was dry, dry, dry!
The table next to us sent their food back, and so should we, but with visitor/guests we didn't want to make a fuss.
Would we go back again? 'NUFF SAID!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeithinBexhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebullinn, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
We are sorry to hear that the food you received was not up to our usual standards.

We would like to thank-you for your comments as we find them useful in moving our business forward; therefore in light of this review and other comments that we have been receiving over the weekend we have decided to employ a New chef who starts work for us this Saturday (5th of November) We have chosen not to employ the chef who served you at the end of his two week trial period.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the cask ale probably Dry Hop, Harveys, or Directors? As we take pride in selection of Ale which is rotated through the year in suit the different seasons etc.

If you do ever past through Battle again maybe you could give us another chance and see whether the changes that we have made are satisfactory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Battle hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Battle hotels
0.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#5 of 5 in Battle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in Battle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
2.8 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Battle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.9 mi away
PowderMills Country House Hotel
2.5 mi away
St Benedicts Byre
St Benedicts Byre
#3 of 9 in Battle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Inn

Property: The Bull Inn
Address: 27 High Street, Battle TN33 0EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Battle
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bull Inn Battle is a 17thcentury coaching inn with a warm and welcome atmosphere for all ages. Dogs are welcome in the front bar. Homecooked locally sourced (where possible ), is served daily and all day Saturday and Sunday. Battle is a unique town with individual shops and is a central place to stay with loads of attractions nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bull Hotel Battle
The Bull Inn Battle, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing