We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hosts, very nice rooms and nice breakfasts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tollgate Farmhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Battle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tollgate Farmhouse
Ranked #2 of 9 Battle B&B and Inns
Port Macquarie
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely hosts, very nice rooms and nice breakfasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

The hosts at this B& B are just lovely. They great you with a warm smile and are always very helpful and friendly. Breakfasts were very good. the room was excellent. Parking is easy. Very hospitable people in a convenient area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greater Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend Tollgate Farmhouse in Battle. Christine and Martin are excellent hosts and made us extremely welcome, the accommodation was very clean, comfortable and well appointed. As for the breakfasts, just superb and with a good selection available. Plenty of local information and advise on hand. Many thanks for the hospitality over the 3 nights that we stayed with you in April.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed with Martin and Christine at their wonderful B and B in Battle, We stayed in a self contained room with bath and shower. The room was well presented and had some wonderful touches to make your stay more comfortable such as juice in the fridge ,biscuits and an array of hot drinks sachets. Breakfast was more than adequate and set us up for the day. Parking was great as it was difficult to find a B and B in Battle with parking. It was a 10- 15 minute walk into the town but bus stop is right outside should you need it. Christine and Martin are great hosts and we would highly recommend. Debbie and Dawn

Room Tip: We had room 5 - away from main house very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Very welcoming hosts. A very pleasant and relaxing stay. Nice attention to detail. Nice room and facilities. Weather was pretty bad so it was nice to come back in the evening to a warm, cosy room.
Would definitely return. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidA47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Very much recommended for long or short stay, extremely comfortable with very thoughtful extras making our stay wanting for nothing more!! The breakfasts... delicious and the hosts very friendly and welcoming........ Don't try the rest come to the Best!!!!
Many thanks for a truly lovely stay... and thanks to gorgeous Bertie (your Boxer dog) for all our cuddles and being such a well behaved doggie xx

Room Tip: Nothing is too much trouble and whatever your needs are I'm sure will be accommodated and very w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

After searching Battle and the surrounding area for somewhere to stay with parking, a family room and not too overpriced we came across the Tollgate Farmhouse which is now going to be our first stop if we can't stay with family in the future.
The room we had (#5) was superb for us as we had our 8 month old Daughter with us, it gave us so much space for her cot without us having to climb around it to get in to our bed. We were astonished by what was in the room/bathroom, it was so well stocked that we could have just brought spare clothes and needed nothing else!
Martin & Christine were excellent hosts, they made you feel welcome from the moment you entered the door, they never made you feel like you were invading their home. They also accommodated our Daughter so well for breakfast, which is always something that worries us (we're baby led weaning her so she's prone to making a lot of mess!). Also our breakfast was cooked to perfection, it was so full of flavour and gave us a great start to the day!
What took us both by surprise was the cost of Tollgate Farmhouse, it was significantly cheaper than anywhere else in Battle and the surrounding areas, but offered so much more. We highly recommend stay here!

Room Tip: Room #5 is perfect for a young child as you're in an annex separate from the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SyUK85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay, would recomend to everyone. Very friendly and dow. To earth. All rooms are very well equipped and warm.
Breackfast is amazing and cook to perfection. Makes the trip that much better, espically with off road parking. Cant wait till next years vist!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Battle
3.5 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#5 of 5 in Battle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.9 mi away
PowderMills Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in Battle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
2.3 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Battle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sedlescombe Golf Hotel
Sedlescombe Golf Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sedlescombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tollgate Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tollgate Farmhouse

Property: Tollgate Farmhouse
Address: Tollgates Farmhouse 59 North Trade Road, Battle TN33 0HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Battle
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tollgate Farmhouse is a family business set in the historic town of Battle. Being within walking distance to Battle town centre and Battle Abbey and Station, with all amenities, it is an ideal place to stay. A warm welcome awaits you at Tollgates ensuring your stay is comfortable and relaxed and enjoyable as possible. The house is a modern spaciously planned accommodation, offering six en-suite rooms which includes a family suite including one room with disabled facilities. Our en-suite rooms are well stocked with toiletries, towels and towelling robes, tastefully decorated and each has its own freeview flat screen television, alarm clock radio, free wifi and mini fridge stocked with fruit juice and mineral water. The property enjoys a large well stocked garden to the rear with a large paved patio equipped with tables and chairs for relaxing. The heated swimming pool may be used by guests at proprietors discretion. A choice of full english or continental breakfast is served every morning to all our guests in our new recently extended sun lounge that overlooks the garden and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tollgate Farmhouse Battle, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing