We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will most certainly be returning, well worth the visit.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of PowderMills Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
PowderMills Country House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We will most certainly be returning, well worth the visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

We wanted to explore the old town in hastings but didnt want to stay in town. the tourist office recommended the Powdermills Hotel in Battle and it was good advice for what we wanted. The Powdermills is a georgian country house in an area of outstanding beauty. To reach the hotel, you have to drive over an old bridge with small lakes either side. we saw ducks and geese by the water having a splash. The reception staff were very efficient and friendly and we were shown to a 4 poster room with marbe bathroom at the back of the hotel with a country view. It was quite adequate for our needs. The downstairs public rooms are very elegant and i particularly enjoyed browsing through the many old books lining the library. This is a pet friendly hotel. The owners have two young springer spaniels and we also saw other well behaved dogs staying. This would not suit guests who have animal allergies. We dined that evening in the Orangery Restaurant which has a good reputation for its food. The restaurant is large and decorated in a georgian orangery style with marble floors, large plants and greek statues. In the centre of the room is a large fountain filled with fresh flowers. We enjoyed and excellent dinner and we enjoyed the atmosphere. Next morning, after a large freshly cooked breakfast we decided to go for a walk and explore the grounds. Unfortunately it started to rain so we postponed this until our next visit and headed to Hastings.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannahbjjkkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    156
    72
    36
    18
See reviews for
105
339
1
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

We booked this hotel after driving past on a visit to Battle in March. We booked a suite as it was our anniversary, and this was a fabulous room with king size bed, three seater sofa, sunken bath, shower and his and hers sinks. Over and above this was a balcony with a view overlooking the lake. We had the 3-course dinner booked as part of the deal, this was first class wonderful food and the staff were very attentive. The wine list was good and prices not over the top. The pool wasn't open but the setting was lovely. Would recommend this Hotel 100%. The full English breakfast was very nice and a good start to the day. It is a short drive to the Abbey but you are that close you can walk, in fact it backs on to the 1066 battlefield. Fab setting. It's also pet friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Lake and enjoy.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kif61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

Although this is quite a "posh" hotel - it has a lovely informal country house welcoming feel about it. I think the fact that they accept (well-behaved) dogs helps with that. Also quite a few of their staff are "mature" in years which is a bonus as they are very professional and experienced at dealing with people in the best way. We stayed in a lovely room which had a small patio/decking area overlooking a very picturesque lake at the back of the hotel. Our bed was very comfortable and we had a lovely sofa to sit on as well as the table and chairs outside. Looking around the hotel most of the rooms seem to have a lovely outlook as there is a large pond at the front of the hotel (complete with perfect picturesque ducks!) as well and a very pretty outdoor swimming pool in the centre gardens. Many of the rooms seem to have an outside space such as a balcony or patio as well. We had a deal which included dinner and I must say the food was excellent and the wine is very reasonably priced - £16 for a very nice chilled bottle of Pinot Grigio - lovely! As for anything negative - if I was being really picky I could say that the TV is quite small for the room and perhaps the bathroom looks a little bit tired but that would really be nit-picking! I would definitely stay there again - nice people and a lovely peaceful place. Good hotel for a romantic break with your partner - you can even bring the dog with you!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissK28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
329 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

We have stayed here twice in the last couple of years taking advatage of the eat in the restaurant and stay for free deal. The hotel is in a beautiful location backing onto the Battle of Hastings battle field. The staff are professional and very helpful and the hotel is decoarted with choice items of furniture. The restaurant is large and a little echoey when we stayed there. The food is well very well cooked and imaginative. My only complaint is that they do not have any specials so had we stayed more than three nights we would have sampled all of food we were interested in. The wine list is long with something for every taste and wallet. Particularly nice was the of the English biodynamic white wine.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomski2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

We came to visit family in Hastings and chose the charming PowderMills for our overnight stay. This is a proper country house hotel with springer spaniels and wellies. by the door. This would not suit someone looking for a modern hotel. The furnishings and paintings are antique and in keeping with the style. of a georgian country house. All the staff were very friendly and gave advice on places to visit in the area. We had a prettty room with a comfortable 4 poster bed in the main part of the hotel with a modern marble tiled bathroom. Crisp white bedlinen and fluffy towels. We dined in the Orangery Restaurant for dinner. We couldnt fault the imaginative food with good coffee and hand made truffles to finish. Next morning, Eddie, the breakfast waiter (who informed us he had worked at the hotel for 18 years, ) served us a freshly cooked full english with all the trimmings. The grounds are beautiful even at this time of the year and we had an enjoyable walk through the woods and by the lakes. Altogether a very good stay and we will return.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbojane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worthing
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

my lovely husband surprised me with a night at the Powdermills over valentines weekend, we got married there in 2008 and had a faultless wedding and stay. This was no different, in fact it was prob a bit better as we didnt have the stress of a wedding! we stayed in room 28 overlooking the lake out front (there are 2) with a gorgeous balcony. the room itself was huge and decorated very beautifully, the bathroom was so decadant, we had a sunked bath and was probably the comfiest bath ive ever been in. the walks are beautiful and we relaxed in the library with books and great food, coffee and the owners 2 sweet springer spaniels in the evening. i didnt want to leave!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tudorfan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

We had an overnight stay whilst attending a wedding. First impression when driving onto the hotel grounds was that it was a very attractive setting. A bit taken aback after going through front door with 2 dogs hovering around getting under ones feet. Carpet in bar area appeared dirty which seemed to be frequented by the canine welcoming party. Otherwise downstairs the hotel is full of character. Dining room orangery style. Breakfast good with attentive staff. Executive Bedroom good size with balcony and view over lake. Bathroom excellent - well decorated and clean. Bedroom could have been cleaner with dust around carpet edges. Wedding breakfast food was good.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrocodileRoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Battle
3.1 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Battle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in Battle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Brickwall Hotel
The Brickwall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sedlescombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Cooden Beach Hotel
The Cooden Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bexhill-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
15.6 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PowderMills Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PowderMills Country House Hotel

Property: PowderMills Country House Hotel
Address: Powdermill Lane, Battle TN33 0SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — PowderMills Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your PowderMills Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powdermills Country Hotel
Powdermills Country Battle
PowderMills Country House Hotel Battle, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing