We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Macmillian Coffee Morning 27th September 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
PowderMills Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Macmillian Coffee Morning 27th September 2013”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The Macmillan coffee morning was extremely well organised, with comfortable relaxing surroundings, attentive staff and the most super entertainer sang Michael Buble' songs. What more could we have wished for?

Jan Edwards

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    166
    77
    37
    18
See reviews for
107
360
1
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed here for 4 night with my partner whilst over for a family wedding in the powder mills hotel. Our room was a junior suite and it was decorated beautifully! Loved our sunken bath! Wide variety of choice for breakfast - the cooked breakfast was delicious. We also ate in restaurant on one of the nights and the food is beautifully presented and very tasty. Unfortunately day of wedding was rainy! But the there was no problems as the staff rallied around to ensure there was plenty of brollies and that every one was comfortable - it was worth it as the view over the lake where the ceremony took place was truly spectacular! Wedding meal itself was delicious, nothing like the 'usual' wedding meals u would expect from other venues - and with the BBQ for evening food and lots of music and bands it was a really special day! Apart from The wedding we took time to walk the grounds and through the woods- some really lovey walks! And definite recommended to visit battle abbey-very interesting! We visited London the day we left and the staff were extremely helpful in recommending and letting us know about great deals to help us make the most of our time in London! Will definitely be back

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannahbjjkkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed here last weekend after attending a charity night for our local Hospice. All staff we met were polite and friendly. Our room was clean and well furnished. The food, both in the evening and at breakfast was hot and delicious. Would highly recommend this hotel as a perfect place to stay. The charity ball had been well thought out and would definately attend one again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We attended an evening of glamour, good food and wine where we were entertained by a Michael Buble tribute followed by a DJ playing some excellent music. We stayed the night enjoying the comfort of an Executive suite in the Pavilion (annex) overlooking the beautiful grounds and pond; it was tastefully decorated with a very comfortable kingsize bed together with a two seater sofa, coffee table, satellite TV and tea/coffee making facilities. The ensuite also tastefully decorated included towels and complimentary bathroom products. There was a good choice of Breakfast which was served at your table.
A great evening for raising funds for such a well deserved local charity...Thank you and Well Done to Becky and all the staff at the PowderMills !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Great Sunday lunch in the Orangery with excellent jazz trio in the background. Very good food, locally sourced, - the lamb was the best I have tasted for a very long time - and beautifully presented. Supported by a wide-ranging value for money wine list. Despite the restaurant being full, the service was friendly and efficient. Don't turn up at weekends without booking well in advance!

Room Tip: Book a room in the Cloisters or the Pavilion - both quiet with balconies and excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ticehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed here for my Dad's 80th birthday weekend. There were five of us plus a dog.

The hotel is country house style and it does feel as though you are in a home rather than a hotel. The atmosphere is laid back but the staff were friendly and helpful. The service can be a bit slow (especially on Saturday when there were 2 functions as well as a full restaurant) but this was part of the charm - no hurry, sit and watch the world go by.

Some of our party spent Saturday fishing on the gorgeous 7 acre lake and thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

Food was superb.

If you are looking for a super smart, spa hotel this is not for you but if you are looking for a relaxed country stay then this is a great place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoCee1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently for a wedding. Our room was lovely , nice decor, bathroom and large, comfortable bed. There was no full length mirror but they did get one when asked.

Others said their rooms were dated and unattractive, had problems with sockets not working and noise. I would try to get room in The Cloisters, it's a block on its own up some steps but rooms seem newly completed and are nicely furnished.

The biggest problem was with the service, particularly in the bar. I recommend you order a couple of rounds at a time as the service is exceptionally slow. There were also problems with charging items to rooms or card payments.

The hotel is nice but is in need of considerable maintenance and more than a lick of paint.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Battle
3.1 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#3 of 5 in Battle
406 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Brickwall Hotel
The Brickwall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sedlescombe
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in Battle
96 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Cooden Beach Hotel
The Cooden Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bexhill-on-Sea
870 reviews
0.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#5 of 5 in Battle
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PowderMills Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PowderMills Country House Hotel

Property: PowderMills Country House Hotel
Address: Powdermill Lane, Battle TN33 0SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — PowderMills Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your PowderMills Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powdermills Country Hotel
Powdermills Country Battle
PowderMills Country House Hotel Battle, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing