We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly very good, but not really!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
PowderMills Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nearly very good, but not really!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I would love to say a huge amount of positive things about Powdermills and not criticise it all, but I am afraid all was not quite as it should have been when we stayed there.

Firstly, the good points:
1. Very dog friendly and treated the dogs with huge love and respect.
2. Dining room service was excellent
3. The food was also excellent and reasonably priced. Great bread and breakfast was lovely too. Shame the tea at afternoon tea came in those cheap catering teapots rather than a china one though. I think I would expect that in a country house hotel.
4. Lovely place to be. Beautifully kept grounds and George the peacock was an added extra to wake up to outside the room.
5. When something did go wrong it was rectified fairly quickly.
The bad points:

1. Freezing cold rooms. Upon arrival greeted to really cold rooms which made us nearly turn round and go away again. The heating is turned off at night so if you wake up at 4am, it is really chilly. They definitely need to do something about this. The bar area is also cold as is the conservatory. It is winter, warm it up!
2. Afternoon tea and cakes, just not up to the standard expected. Mediocre cakes and that tea-pot!
3. Noisy when there is a big function.
4. slightly haphazard service during the day - a little bit fawlty towersish at times. One override to this, the lady on reception later in the day and on the sunday was quite charming.
5. Shame the rooms, which are nice enough, are not more country house hotelish rather than modern and mass hotel like.

I had been recommended this place by a couple of people, but there are better places to go for a really relaxing and pampering weekend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DL_ALB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    163
    75
    36
    18
See reviews for
105
354
1
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed for our fifth time at beginning of November and it was absolutely wonderful as usual. Lovely sitting in the Drawing Room with afternoon tea whilst reading as the rain battered the windows. As always dinner and wine was superb and was well complemented by excellent service. Lovely to round off the evening by sitting in the library with a nightcap. Our room was bright and clean and comfortable (room 11) and it is so nice to be able to run a bath with an endless supply of hot water which is unlike other places we have stayed where it can run out when half full. Very tasty breakfast with ample choice on offer and we were well looked after by the friendly waiter for whom nothing was too much trouble. Would thoroughly recommend PowderMills for a stay - there is so much to enjoy including the fabulous grounds, waterfowl, George the peacock as well as the friendly and helpful staff and beautiful food. Thank you PowderMills we will back for our sixth visit on our next wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

There isn't a lot to criticise about PowderMills but on the whole I thought that it was rather expensive compared with other good quality establishments we have visited recently. We paid £160 for a superior room with breakfast and first impressions were pretty good - very friendly check-in staff, beautiful old traditional feel to the reception and quite glorious grounds. Our room (41) had sliding patio windows (which I couldn't lock) to the garden and the lake and overall, the decoration was really lovely and the room spotlessly clean. I can't quite put my finger on the slight disappointment with the accommodation and I almost feel that I am being unfair - maybe it was the fact that it was a queen bed or maybe we had just been spoilt by spending the previous night at the Grand in Brighton for about the same money? Anyway I really am being subjective and of course it's all about personal taste. Drinks in the bar before attending the Battle Bonfire celebrations went down well and reception duly obliged in organising a taxi for the purpose. Breakfast next morning was in the lovely Conservatory / Orangery and it was as good as it comes. Plenty of cereal, fruit and juices choice and the served hot breakfast comprised eggs (we chose poached), bacon, sausage, mushrooms, tomato, baked beans (ordered separately) and black pudding. Thick white and brown toast with decent coffee complimented the breakfast very well. Really liked the idea of individual "pots" of brown sauce (same as normal mini jam pots!).

Check out was efficient and courteous. I would certainly recommend the hotel despite my earlier comments.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyccpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed just two nights. And will most definitely repeat our visit as often as time and commitment allows. My Wife and I originally planned our stay here so that we could attend a "Murder Mystery Dinner" but had we known how beautiful the whole site is, and how good the food is, it would have been on the list of places to visit a lot sooner. Conveniently situated for visiting the Sussex Coastal Resorts, and even Tonbridge and Tunbridge Wells are quite close to hand.

Room Tip: Pick any Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Booked a junior suite for an overnight stay. Had high tea in our room which was beautifully presented and very tasty. We then discovered a problem with the plumbing and were immediately moved and upgraded to the Lake Suite. What can I say about this amazing and beautiful room. It was huge and luxurious. The evening meal was beautifully presented and very tasty. My only small gripe was about the selection of main courses available that night. A lot of game dishes which don't appeal to everyone. However, that said the service was superb. Breakfast was excellent. All of the staff were friendly and attentive and went out of their way to help. Thank you Powdermill Hotel we will be back outstanding without fault.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zimbo-Jono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and went on 2 long walks during our stay. We stayed in Room 7, which is next to the stairs and a fire door so there were some noise issues late at night and early in the morning. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and all the hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming. The highlight however was the fantastic food in the Orangerie restaurant. We intended to just eat there on Friday night, but were so impressed that we ate there on Saturday night as well. The 2/3 course prix fixe menu and wine list put many exclusive restaurants to shame. The full english breakfast was also very good, according to my husband. My one gripe is that although advertised on the continental breakfast menu, there was no Charcuterie at the buffet table on either Saturday or Sunday morning which left me feeling a bit short changed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank practicepacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The Macmillan coffee morning was extremely well organised, with comfortable relaxing surroundings, attentive staff and the most super entertainer sang Michael Buble' songs. What more could we have wished for?

Jan Edwards

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Battle
3.1 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#3 of 5 in Battle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in Battle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Brickwall Hotel
The Brickwall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sedlescombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Cooden Beach Hotel
The Cooden Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bexhill-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
22.2 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PowderMills Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PowderMills Country House Hotel

Property: PowderMills Country House Hotel
Address: Powdermill Lane, Battle TN33 0SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — PowderMills Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your PowderMills Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powdermills Country Hotel
Powdermills Country Battle
PowderMills Country House Hotel Battle, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing