We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
PowderMills Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here for 1 Night in early Jan and the hotel was great. Lovely resonable size room with king size bed and patio doors over-looking the lake. Very clean with nice size bath / shower room. TV in room with usual Freeview channels.
Friendly staff all-round from arrival to departure.
Food and service in resturant was excellent both in the evening and at breakfast time. We also had cream tea in the library in the afternoon which was great, there are plenty of room sto simply lounge in.
Lovely walks around lake and to Battle across fields are possible, We opted for the short walk around lake as it was late and going to get dark at 4.
Checkin is available from 2 onwards and checkout is at 11 so no need to rush.
Plenty of car parking avaliable.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 42 overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wackywebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

We have been to Powdermills a couple of times at New Year, and would like to say that you feel so relaxed and at home at the Hotel. I recommend the New Year and any other time to use this Hotel if you are in the Area. We had a group of 4 couples and all had nothing but praise for the Hotel and the whole package. We had a number of people who have issues regarding the Menu on offer, but the Team at the Hotel took on the issues as gave us a number of other options. Hope to go there a gain soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayu111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed only one night and got an excellent bed, breakfast and dinner deal. Driving in we were impressed with the setting, even though it was very wet. Would be lovely in Summer. There are plenty of common rooms to sit in downstairs, with an open fire in the hallway, and a bar, choice of new boxed games etc, so you are not confined to your room. Our room, although only a standard, had everything we required and a nice long bed, and I was pleased to see we had a bath. As other guests have mentioned, a toilet brush would be appreciated and we would have liked pillows that weren't so flat, other than that, our room was most satisfactory and spotless. We went to the Orangery for Dinner at seven but there were no staff there to greet us or show us to our seats. They arrived after about five minutes and turned some music on, which was nice, but would have been better earlier Wait Staff were good, but there seemed to be some role confusion with several different people serving us.The food was delicious, but definitely quality over quantity, the portions may not be enough for a man. However it was cooked beautifully, though the choices were limited. We thought we got very good value for money, will return and would recommend this place to others.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the drive, it was quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Disillusioned82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Its a typical small town country hotel. The location is lovely, a lake in the grounds and lovely flowers and patios. I was disappointed to see that the only open fire was in the entrance hallway which was not a seating area. The communal lounge is very comfortable with leather chairs and books and games. The orangery restaurant is a bit clinical, tiled floor and plastic flowers and plants but the service was good, the food was very good and not overpriced. The hotel is small and the rooms are somewhat dated, but they are clean, but not exceptionally so. This is due more to the age of the building than levels of cleanliness. The television in the room was very small, there was plenty of room for a larger telly which would be more comfortable when watching from the bed. There was no mini bar and only one bottle of water supplied. I always feel slightly ripped off when I am told that check in is at 1400 and check out at 1100. In huge city hotels you sort of expect it but in a small country house I feel a bit miffed with it. It doesn't feel as if I am getting what I am paying for. In winter it is dark at 1600 and too dark to walk and see the grounds. I would much prefer to check in at midday and enjoy the surroundings and the facilities. The hotel was not full and in low season surely small hotels could change their policies concerning check in and check out times.

Room Tip: I had an executive room but it was the standard of a normal standard room. I did not feel that I wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elle-Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We were a large family (aged from 6 to 76) party celebrating my mother in law's birthday, so only experienced the restaurant. We were seated around a large round table, which is much nicer for talking to each other than a long table. The food was excellent with good choice for us all, vegetarians, coeliacs and assorted allergies. There were plenty of attentive staff. They were happy to light the candles and bring out my homemade cake. We hope to return soon or at least see the grounds in daylight.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank TheDanielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We spent the best part of 10 hours at the Powder Mills Hotel for a dear friends wedding reception. The building, grounds and interior were well maintained and cared for.
The service was attentive and the meals a visually appealing and very tasty.

The various reception rooms, dining rooms, lounges and bar areas were well appointed and comfortable.

They make the very best of what they have and do it very well..!!

Well done to everyone..!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeOutAndAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We held our daughter's wedding here on the 30th November 2013. The whole day was a fantastic success. The hotel grounds are beautiful and she was lucky to have a bright sunny day.

The hotel itself is charming with log fires and an old country house feel. The ceremony was held in the music room which was a lovely setting. The wedding breakfast was held in the orangery restaurant which looked amazing when fully dressed. The food and service were both excellent.

We held the evening reception in the cloisters and again this was an excellent venue and the food at the evening buffet was also very good.

Many of us stayed in the hotel that night and everyone seemed happy with their rooms. Breakfast was excellent and obviously cooked to order.

All the staff throughout the whole day were really friendly whilst still being professional. Special mention should go to the wedding planner, Stella, who liaised many times with our daughter throughout the build up and on the day to ensure that she got the day she and her fiance had dreamed of. We should also mention David, the toastmaster, who made sure that everything ran smoothly throughout the day. Everyone was in the right place at the right time but this was always done in a fun and professional way and enhanced the day.

All in all Powdermills proved a great wedding venue and we would definitely recommend it. Our daughter and her new husband said it lived up to all their expectations, as it did ours.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LittleBigHorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Battle
3.1 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Battle
450 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in Battle
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Cooden Beach Hotel
The Cooden Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bexhill-on-Sea
984 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Brickwall Hotel
The Brickwall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sedlescombe
282 reviews
0.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#5 of 5 in Battle
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PowderMills Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PowderMills Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Powdermill Lane, Battle TN33 0SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Price Range: £94 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — PowderMills Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your PowderMills Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powdermills Country Hotel
Powdermills Country Battle
PowderMills Hotel & Restaurant Battle, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing