We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Powdermills hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
PowderMills Country House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Powdermills hotel”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Just returned from Powdermills hotel on a travelzoo voucher.Hotel room and staff very good, in the restaurant they did try to hurry us , we did have to say slow down.We had the tasting menu which was fantastic but you do have to have a good appetite. A minor point check your bill as they made 2 errors on our total.We hope to return.

Room Tip: Room 40 very good overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tombo41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    168
    79
    37
    18
See reviews for
108
362
1
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Well! Always try to exceed expectations,and this Hotel did....friendly staff,beautiful room with a superb view,despite the foulest weather imaginable.
The dinner was excellent,and here's a first....at breakfast ,the waiter allowed us to mix and match the items on the menu....smoked salmon,scrambled egg and bacon...you may not like it but it was like being at home,eating exactly what you fancied!
Criticisms? too minor to mention...but...a certain member of staff had had a personality bypass operation ( all the rest made up for him!),a fridge in our executive room would have completed a great stay.Definitely going back when the pension fund builds up again...and please include VAT on the room rate quotes....quite annoying actually...but overall,well done Powdermill!

Room Tip: Room 41,executive room overlooking the lake with an outside space for a G and T weather allowing,whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerrywcars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The hotel is in a rural location a short distance from Battle (not walking distance for pubs / restaurants though). There are extensive grounds and a pool which are probably great in summer. Welcome was friendly and efficient. Room was large, clean and comfortable. Bathroom was fine although the shower lacked water pressure. Breakfast was very good. We had dinner as part of our package which was also very enjoyable and the wine prices were reasonable. We would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brighton9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We were two couples and stayed at Powder Mills on a Wednesday night. Had a fantastic three course meal and service was excellent. Waiter "Jet" from Cambodia was a great asset. Delightful old building with lots of interesting rooms. Bedroom was larger than we had expected and we had two showers in the room. Very friendly staff. Just been awarded 2 Rosettes by the AA. Well deserved.

Room Tip: Room 16 has 2 showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

As you drive through the gates and cross the bridge over the carp lake you know this is going to be a good one.
All the staff were very pleasant and we were shown up to our room that was large enough to accommodate a comfy sofa and two showers!
The restaurant was an impressive room and the food and the local wine excellent.
We went on a Groupon deal and I have to say that it represented probably the best value for money we have ever had from an on-line offer.

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad room in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stepelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Booked PowderMills as a winter special deal direct from their website (v. good value!). We had a delicious, three course meal (compliments to the chef) and very satisfying breakfast the following morning. Despite the miserable weather, we donned our wellies (they have spares if you arrive without yours) and walked across the 1066 battle fields into Battle the next morning (very squelchy this time of year!!). All in all we highly recommend this gem, and shall return in warmer weather to better appreciate the lovely setting. Oh, and we shall bring our dog with us next time.

Room Tip: We were in Room 37, didn't have any views to speak of, ask for lake view or front of hotel view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Senorita26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Booked a special deal with this hotel for my Wife's 40th Birthday.

The grounds are fantastic, with woods & the lake to walk around. Our room was amazing. Located at the front of the hotel, on the left corner. On leaving I just had to ask if we'd been upgraded to a mini suite but was told that it is one of their standard double rooms. WOW! King size bed & a 2 seater sofa. Only one slight moan - The shower tray filled up really quickly & took quite a long time to drain away.

As part of the Travelzoo deal, we also had a three course dinner with a glass of prosecco & a cooked English breakfast, although we opted for the continental. :-)

Well worth the full rate but made my Special Lady's birthday even more with the deal.

Friendly, helpful staff. They couldn't do enough us.

P.S. Try one of their afternoon tea's or cream tea's while you're there!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Duck_Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Battle
3.1 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Battle
418 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Brickwall Hotel
The Brickwall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sedlescombe
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in Battle
100 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Cooden Beach Hotel
The Cooden Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bexhill-on-Sea
894 reviews
0.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#5 of 5 in Battle
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PowderMills Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PowderMills Country House Hotel

Property: PowderMills Country House Hotel
Address: Powdermill Lane, Battle TN33 0SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — PowderMills Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your PowderMills Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powdermills Country Hotel
Powdermills Country Battle
PowderMills Country House Hotel Battle, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing