We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
PowderMills Country House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I think this was probably the best Travelzoo offer we have ever bought. The hotel was wonderful, a beautiful country house with lovely quirky rooms and gorgeous pictures and antiques. The staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. Our room had a beautiful view over the front gardens/lake and the bed was lovely and comfortable. The room would have been a part of the original house and had a slightly sloping floor which added to the charm! In the morning we were woken by the sounds of ducks and bird song. Dinner was included in the offer and the food was really excellent. Breakfast too was very good - a lovely full English. After we arrived we decided we wanted to walk up to Battle Abbey and the receptionist kindly printed out instructions of how to get there - it was a beautiful day and a lovely walk which takes about half an hour each way across the fields. All in all an excellent stay, We really want to go back. Well done Powdermills! . .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    167
    77
    37
    18
See reviews for
107
362
1
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Cyprus
Level Contributor
350 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Why? Because it is a lovely quirky, friendly, cosy hotel and when you find something this good, you can't help returning. The staff are very helpful and friendly, the rooms are very clean and all different (I think). On top of this the food is excellent, both for dinner and breakfast. We stayed for two nights on their winter deal and had a wonderful time walking around the grounds.
We would like to thank all the staff for another wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magwii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Nice grounds, lots of attentive staff, but that comes at a cost.

£104 plus tip for 3 lunches ( 3 courses plus coffee) drinks orange juice, pint and gin&tonic.

Food ok but not wow, bit poncey if honest. Had much better at Deans Place Alfriston and Cavendish Hotel in Eastbourne..

I know it was Mothering Sunday, but I did not consider it value for money

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PowderMillsHotel, General Manager at PowderMills Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
I am sorry to hear that you feel after your long telephone conversation with our Restaurant Manager you still felt that £104 was excessive for 3 guests. All guests on the day of booking are advised of the cost for the Sunday Lunch per person. I would like to make it clear that we do not charge any extra for Mothers day lunch the £25.95 per person.

Normal 3 course menu price -£21.95
Coffee and Petit Fours -£3.00
Chocolates for Mum -£1.80
Total £26.75 we charged £25.95 for Mothers Day Lunch.

Your bill 2 pints Peroni £9.20
1 G&T £4.60
1 Frobishers £3.00
3x Lunch £77.85
Service £9.47
TOTAL £104.12

During the telephone conversation I believe the Restaurant Manager said that he would refund one of the Peroni’s due to an error or misunderstanding, but you declined. He also questioned regarding the service as this is discretionary and can also be refunded, but again you advised that you were very happy with the service.

We have had a lot of guests contradicting your remarks regarding Mothers Day Lunch and we do take any negative comments very seriously and do everything to ensure that it is not repeated.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights and had reserved a table for dinner for both. On our first night we knew we were going to be too late and would arrive after the restaurant closed, thanks to awful delays on the M25. Annoyed that the first night if our stay would be spoiled, we rang ahead to see if they could leave us some supper of some sort, hoping a sandwich or salad could be offered. The receptionist asked to call us back, which she did within 15 minutes. She then read out some options for food, down the phone as we were still travelling towards them. We agreed what we'd have and thanked her. Then she explained that was only the first course. Then she read out the options for the main course and desert! It all sounded delicious and we were starving. She asked for our ETA. We arrived to be greeted and seated to our meal which was delicious and very well presented. The staff were friendly and attentive.
We were give a room upgrade to the Lake Suite (we'd booked a junior suite) which is sumptuous and huge. The lounge area is very comfortable and is on the edge of a large private lake so the views are beautiful.
Breakfast was spot on - we tried full English and scrambled egg with salmon.
We ate here again on the same evening and next morning and the quality and service were excellent again.
This place has a lovely feel about it. I would recommend it without any reservation.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Seasoned_traveller41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This was our second trip with a Travelzoo voucher and was just as good as the first! The food is excellent, the rooms large and lovely and clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the grounds are lovely to walk around and we (and our friends with us) would definitely go again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valste88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I went there last August, just for a little lunch with a friend and it was fantastic. Great garden, great atmosphere and great food. they have this orangerie, which is just so relaxing, and the waiters are not in your face.Its in the countryside, about 2 minutes from the centre of battle and a real little gem.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irma400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We were able to stay at The Powder Mills Hotel thanks to our first TravelZoo voucher which provided one night accommodation with an eight course taster dinner and breakfast.

When we booked we were invited to upgrade to an executive room overlooking the lake. Our room was fabulous with a wonderful view. On opening our patio door we were welcomed by the resident peacock, a muscovoy duck, a goose and some eager mallard. Our uneaten toast at breakfast provided a welcome snack for our new friends!

Our eight course taster dinner was just amazing and truly memorable. The quality was five star and the service was excellent.

We have no hesition in recommending this oasis of comfort and culinary delight.

Room Tip: A supplement for a lake view is money well spent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobLog19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Battle
3.1 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Battle
411 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Brickwall Hotel
The Brickwall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sedlescombe
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in Battle
97 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Cooden Beach Hotel
The Cooden Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bexhill-on-Sea
874 reviews
0.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#5 of 5 in Battle
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PowderMills Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PowderMills Country House Hotel

Property: PowderMills Country House Hotel
Address: Powdermill Lane, Battle TN33 0SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — PowderMills Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your PowderMills Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powdermills Country Hotel
Powdermills Country Battle
PowderMills Country House Hotel Battle, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing