We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your own country estate for the day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
PowderMills Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Your own country estate for the day”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Granted we got a great deal of B&B and evening meal through Travelzoo, but we were fairly hopping with delight with our stay. In essence, habituated as we are to City breaks, this stay on a country estate was magic. Main building is Regency, with a number of tasteful extensions and additions. Wisteria clad frontage, a small lake as you enter the drive, and wonder of wonders, up garden steps by the outdoor pool (unheated and obviously not in use at this time of year), we discovered a large lake, so large we couldn't see its full extent. Delightful gazebos and seating areas dotted around the extensive grounds - a peacock, ducks, an old English Goose (who appeared to be in love with the peacock), an outside area with wellington boots to borrow for a tramp around the lake, together with some Barbour jackets. In short, we felt as though we had somehow chanced upon an estate that was ours, and we'd somehow forgotten we'd inherited it..... A small library, a bar, delightful poolside areas. Only area we noticed verging on slightly neglected were the rattan chairs and cushions around the pool area, but given the pool's nowhere near open that was no problem at all (except it didn't match the standards of everywhere else). Loved our 3 course meal - good choice, well presented in an airy and light dining area replete with skylight and a massive garden urn with flowers. We noticed the relaxed atmosphere at breakfast which spoke to all the guests having relaxed and having had a thoroughly good time.

Our room was furnished Regency style with decent brown furniture clearly chosen to match the period setting of the main house. Everything in the bedroom, and in the bathroom, was to a high standard in style and cleanliness. Large bath, with shower over. Real bonus was the WiFi worked rapidly.

We will go back as many times as we can fit in and afford. Walked into Battle on the 1066 Path after breakfast looking at primroses and bluebells. Delightful.

Am perplexed to have read some negative reviews about this establishment. We encountered total attention and professionalism from all the staff. Someone commented they didn't like the chintzy, swagged curtains and that overall it felt outdated. Hmmmm. This is a Regency main house. How else do you present it except with a Regency accent? IKEA flatpack and curtains won't work.

Room Tip: We were in room 123 on first floor of main building. No view to speak of, but quiet and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    166
    77
    37
    18
See reviews for
107
360
1
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Recently stayed here for a couple of nights and found the hotel very shabby and worn. The men’s downstairs toilet was nothing short of dirty and disgusting, the bar facilities are virtually non existent and the breakfast standard was poor, the cooked breakfast was barely cooked and some of it was served cold after a long wait, having paid £140 per night I would not recommend this hotel and did not regard it as value for money.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Our daughter bought us B&B plus an eight course taster dinner via Travelzoo as an Xmas present. We paid the extra supplement for a superior room - Room 41- good decision.
In short delightful. Arrived, checked in and then I popped down for two drinks too enjoy on our patio overlooking the lake and enjoy the late afternoon sun.

I will be brief, food great ( high standard but I must have two highlights - I can't remember having better scallops, assiette of rhubarb great) I should not have chosen the cheese board, good but just a little too much food for me - eyes bigger than stomach!!!

Staff excellent, attentive and with great humour putting one at ease. Could not fault the whole experience - even the peacock spread it tail as a welcome.
Please tip that reflects the full cost of the experience, the staff deserve it.
trip advisor please enable a reviewer to change their rating. Here all received an excellent rating but there was no spa or fitness centre and I could not adjust my rating to reflect this

Room Tip: Room 41 excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jock B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Over the last month or so, we have celebrated our wedding anniversary and also had a 'jazz' lunch. Both were excellent with superb food and perfect service. The chefs are doing a really good job with tasty and inventive food. We would also like to mention the friendly and efficient service from the waiters to the reception staff. So, once again, to all of you who make the Powdermills experience so memorable, very many thanks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Booked through Groupon . £90 DB&B for two . Was given maybe the worst room in the Hotel no 10 . The windows looked out onto a small brick wall and a grassy bank . A shame as the Hotel has many light and airy rooms with garden views . I did not ask to change as it was only for one night . This room is up stairs (no lift) and the furthest away from the dining room . The room was spacious and the beds were comfortable . However there was a curious central heating thermostat on the wall which seemed to do nothing . I was later told it controlled the radiators . The radiators remained cold for the entire stay . Not good enough . Lucky the weather was not cold .The TV was an old flat screen with poor information and very few channels . The hair dryer was on a hose behind the TV ! Far from ideal . The sash windows had no sash so a piece of wood (supplied) was needed to block the window open . Massive lamps took all the space up on the puny bedside tables . No air con for this room . Some cobwebs wafting from the walls . No hotel book to give information on TV channels or Breakfast times or Hotel facilities .

Room Tip: Avoid room 8 , 10 , 12 . request garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barmest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, Manager at PowderMills Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Barmest,

Thank you for your trip advisor review.

I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience with us at PowderMills Hotel.

Our Travel zoo vouchers were published online in December, we sold 643 vouchers in that week. Some guests rang immediately to book their preferred dates and of course were allocated the better rooms which have nicer views. There was an option to upgrade to an Executive suite for £20.00 which was suggested to guests who booked last minute, (you booked the date in March and stayed two weeks after, we would have had limited availability as the voucher had been open for 3 months already.)

PowderMills Hotel is a listed building, unfortunately we are not able to incorporate a lift into it. However, we do offer assistance with luggage. Your room was located up one flight of stairs, our staff would have happily helped you to your room.

I will investigate your heating queries. The thermostat on the wall does control the heating temperature of the room, if the radiators did not heat up I can only assume the temperature dial was not on on the radiator.

Each room has a TV, all are only a few years old and have built in free view and radio. We do not have Sky at the Hotel due to the location, it is difficult for us to obtain a good signal. As like any modern day Hotel, we find free view is substantial enough for our guests and have not had complaints before. With such beautiful grounds, we would encourage our guests to enjoy this rather than TV.

The windows are in the process of being repaired, however we did not want our guests to be uncomfortable and not able to hold the windows open so we have provided a block of wood for their convenience. None of our rooms have air conditioning as all of them have large windows with sufficient air supply.

I have checked the room and I apologise that there was not a Hotel Book in there. We supply a Guest Book with Hotel information, check in/check out times and Hotel facilities in each room, I am sorry that yours was not there.

Again, I thank you for your review and I hope if you return in future you can stay in one of our many, luxury rooms that overlook the beautiful grounds we are so proud of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed here many years back so a re-visit had good memories to live up. Unfortunately the experience has not kept pace with the increase in size. Accommodation - although comfortable - has not kept up with the increased capacity and you could expire from thirst before finding someone to serve you in the minute and bland bar area. The main menu may have been wonderful, but we went for the set-priced dinner which was flavourless and over-cooked at best, with a panna cotta dessert so over-gelatined that - if dropped - would have bounced and hit the ceiling. What a disappointment.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIKE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This was a Travelzoo offer ..... we do a lot of them & this one was one of the best ! Great location just outside of Battle [which is worth a visit] close to 2 National Trust places & set in lovely grounds ...... make sure you find the lake at the back of the hotel .... easy to miss. The hotel is still privately owned & the owner is around with her 2 dogs ....... by the way this is a dog friendly hotel, so probably not the place if you have an 'issue' or allergy to dogs ! The room we had was spacious with a good power shower [rooms either have bath or walk in shower..... so check first if you have a preference. The food was excellent as were the staff, who were friendly & very efficient. if the offer comes around next year we will definitely book again

Room Tip: ask first to see if your room has a bath OR walk in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmiddleditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Battle
3.1 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#3 of 5 in Battle
407 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Brickwall Hotel
The Brickwall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sedlescombe
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in Battle
96 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Cooden Beach Hotel
The Cooden Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bexhill-on-Sea
870 reviews
0.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#5 of 5 in Battle
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PowderMills Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PowderMills Country House Hotel

Property: PowderMills Country House Hotel
Address: Powdermill Lane, Battle TN33 0SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — PowderMills Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your PowderMills Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powdermills Country Hotel
Powdermills Country Battle
PowderMills Country House Hotel Battle, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing