We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good weekend but could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
PowderMills Country House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“good weekend but could have been better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We arrived at the hotel after 2pm after a long drive. Our first impression was what a lovely setting. The hotel overall was lovely too. What we were not impressed with was that we could not get any food until at least 3.30pm which was only afternoon tea and our restaurant booking was not until 8.30pm. We then got back in the car looking for somewhere to eat. We ended up driving to Bexhill where food was served all day. Also when we arrived back at the hotel we were taken to our room no 5. I have to say that it was the smallest double room we have ever stayed in. We could only open the bathroom door a little without it hitting the bed. It looked like it used to be a cupboard. It was very hot and claustrophobic as the window only opened a little. When we got up on sunday morning we could not even make a cup of tea as the kettle only boiled for so long and then cut out.

There was also a wedding going on and it definately dominated the hotel during the afternoon and even trying to get a drink at the bar was impossible.

We paid £120 for the night and for what we got it seemed too overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, Manager at PowderMills Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Sharon G,

Thank you for your review on PowderMills Hotel following your recent experience.

I am pleased you think PowderMills Hotel is in a lovely setting, and that the Hotel is lovely. We do take pride in the atmosphere and environment which we portray; therefore it is always a delight to hear that our Guests enjoy the picturesque grounds as much as we do.

I can only apologise for your disappointment in not being able to order food on your arrival. We serve Lunch between 12:00pm and 1:45pm on a daily basis, then Afternoon Tea between 3:30pm and 5:30pm from which you can order sandwiches, cakes or scones separately, or our larger High Tea’s which include Sandwiches, a selection of cakes and scones.

I have investigated your comments with regards to your accommodation. The lady with whom you spoke to on Reception is our Senior Receptionist; she has informed me that when she spoke to you on the telephone to make your reservation that she did explain that we only had a Smaller Double Room available or a Standard Twin. You were given the option of either room, and our Senior Receptionist recommended the Twin Room as it was bigger than the Small Double Room, however you declined the Twin as you wanted a double room; your confirmation stated the accommodation type as Small Double.

After reading your comment about the kettle, I immediately checked myself. Unfortunately, I did not encounter the same problem, I filled the kettle up to boil and it boiled fine and clicked off.

We do welcome constructive feedback; if you would like to discuss any of your comments further please do not hesitate to contact me,

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    160
    73
    36
    18
See reviews for
105
349
1
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Spontaneous visit on a Sunday afternoon. I was driving around East Sussex with my elderly mum and my wife, looking for somewhere to have a cream tea. Saw the sign to Powdermills Hotel and followed the road to this beautiful country hotel. It was busy but the staff were charming and helpful. They found a comfortable place for my disabled mum, wife and myself to have 'high tea"
It was terrific - great quality and great value for money. Substantial sandwiches made with lovely bread. Warm, home made Scones with plenty of cream and jam. Extra cakes and unlimited tea & delicious coffee. Fantastic value for money. Better than the Grand in Eastbourne and less than half the price. We will return. For the high tea and also for a longer break.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RabbiRizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We arrived on Friday after a 3.5 hour drive. The receptionist was pleasant. We get to our room and go out onto the balcony. Half parking lot and have pond....fine. But the balcony tiles have been pulled up and not replaced. We are walking on some black tarr with glue marks. The lighting on the balcony is not working so we take a standing lamp.
The bathtub is so high so to get into the shower you have to sit on the ledge and swing your legs forward.
On Sunday morning there is about ten round tables with a wedding party from the night before. No explanation or apologies from staff..... Just sit anywhere....dirty dishes, plates etc. we wouldn't mind but very expensive for a weekend!
Would never recommend or go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 347England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, General Manager at PowderMills Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear 347England,

Thank you for your comments, which we were already aware of as you had spoken to our Receptionist on check out. When you declined to discuss any of the issues with myself and made it clear that you did not want to any sort of refund or compensation.

The balcony tiles have been removed and what is on the floor is roofing felt which we will be replacing with new felt and not concrete tiles. I can assure you that there is no tar or glue on the surface, although I agree that there are some marks where the tiles have been. Unfortunately we did not realise your balcony light bulb had gone until you mentioned it in the morning on checkout. Maintenance dealt with this straight away. It was a shame that you did not inform reception of this at the time during your two night stay, as this would have been easily rectified.

We also would have been very happy to change your room to the same standard or an upgrade, but without knowing your dissatisfaction until the morning of your checkout, this was impossible.

I can only apologise about what happened on the Sunday morning at breakfast, we were very busy. I have investigated this situation with the Restaurant Manager, who informed me that they did have a situation on the Sunday morning with tables for breakfast. He has advised me that he greeted all guests as they came down to the Restaurant apologised for the situation with the table layout and did say when asked “ you may sit wherever you like”. As guests finished their breakfast and left tables there were plates and dishes on the tables, but they were being cleared as guests departed and re-laid. As you stayed two nights I presume your breakfast on the Saturday morning was acceptable.

I am sorry that we did not have the opportunity to put things right for you during your stay or on check out.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

First impressions were that it was delightfully situated with super garden for ourselves and the dog to have a morning walk. We had a ground floor room overlooking the car park, it was rather gloomy and cool but adequately furnished, shame not much choice TV channels. On the Friday night we were not able to dine in the bar area,only only in the restaurant, which we did not want to do, same on Saturday night. Discovered this is the hotel policy, very strange and they certainly lost our custom as we could take our dog into the bar area. Not at all impressed with that. First morning we had cold water and when we told reception they discovered that as the power had gone off the previous day,the timer for water had not been reset. That did not bode well for our break, husband does not like cold showers!We had ordered a morning paper but no luck there, with two being delivered the following morning. Gave up after that. The heating wasn't on and the first evening we were very cold. We did report this to reception and a portable heater was provided. The breakfast was very good and excellent service. The staff were very friendly and helpful and dealt with the niggles that we had the first morning. In all an enjoyable stay with the bonus of being dog friendly. Just did not like the fact that we had to dine in restaurant on certain nights,cold towels, and noise from the above room.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room in courtyard was cool, didn't sleep well as we could hear every noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sidmouthsmythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The restaurant here is one I've visited for many 'special occasion' family lunches over the years. This year for a special, special occasion we had an overnight stay and evening meal.
The food as always was excellent in quality and taste with great service, The beef I had was tender and the deconstructed creme brulee was great. In the past the selection of bread offered at the beginning of the meal is a highpoint, it wasn't as good this time, but that's the only negative.
The room was small (it was advertised as such, standard rooms are bigger) but clean, comfortable and, although looking out over the front, was quiet enough - I'm a light sleeper and slept well.
The hotel is much bigger than I thought with plenty of indoor, covered and open air places to sit and chill. The walk around the lake above the hotel is great too, loads of wildlife and peacocks too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have stayed at this hotel a few times over the last 15 years and each visit has been excellent. The food and service is first class, the rooms are always clean and comfortable. The grounds are lovely to walk around if it's not raining. The outdoor swimming pool could do with being heated, but this is the only criticism. Highly recommended for a relaxing break. Ideal for visiting Battle.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed at the Powdermills as part of a Travelzoo offer for our Pearl wedding anniversary. We were upgraded to room 40 which is at the back of the hotel and there are patio doors leading onto wooden decking and then grass.The view is over a huge lake. I must be honest and say we asked to be moved, as the room was stifling in the hot weather and there is no air conditioning. We moved to room 42 with a different layout which was much cooler. The view was stunning and we saw lots of wildlife which was wonderful. Geese and goslings, field mouse, squirrel, dragonflies, huge carp and the peacock!!!

The Orangery restaurant is amazing.Top cuisine (and we are very fussy about food)!! The waiters were superb and we could not fault the service.
The restaurant has an AA Rosette and it is easy to understand why.
Ask for a window table if possible.

We found all the hotel staff to be most helpful and the owner Julie, (who lives on site), keeps an eye on what is going on!!

The hotel is rather quirky, with modern type bedrooms, but lots of sitting rooms downstairs full of older style furniture, pictures and ornaments, giving an historical feel!!

The room was kept spotless and linen changed during our stay.
The complimentary shampoos etc were good quality.
My husband requested room service for breakfast and it cost £2.50 but was worth it.We also paid for a daily paper which was brought to the room.

During our visit some friends came for lunch and the ladies father fell and broke his hip.The owner and staff were so understanding and concerned, we were most impressed.

We had a couple of feedbacks, which we discussed with the manager.
It seems that if a function is going on, there is often no food available for regular guests until the evening, so do check if you want lunch!! We got caught out by not being informed beforehand. Regarding the intense heat we were told that no fans are available, but the manager assured us that they are, so do ask if you are melting!!.
Furthermore there was a problem with food smells in the rooms 40, 41 and 42. at certain times of day.We discussed all this with the manager and changes are being made.

We felt very valued guests and would highly recommend this hotel for any kind of stay or just to use the restaurant.The setting is to die for and we didn't want to leave. A big thank you to all the staff and Julie.
Indeed only today I recommended to a friend who had driven past and seen the sheep and the long driveway to the house!!
We will return! You have been warned LOL!!!!

Room Tip: Not room 40 at present as it is affected by restaurant cooking smells, but the manager hopes to rect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank munchyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Battle
3.1 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Battle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in Battle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Brickwall Hotel
The Brickwall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sedlescombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Cooden Beach Hotel
The Cooden Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bexhill-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
22.2 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PowderMills Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PowderMills Country House Hotel

Property: PowderMills Country House Hotel
Address: Powdermill Lane, Battle TN33 0SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — PowderMills Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your PowderMills Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powdermills Country Hotel
Powdermills Country Battle
PowderMills Country House Hotel Battle, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing