We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Filthy from the stinking bedrooms to breakfast crockery. Completely unhelpful and unapologetic staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
PowderMills Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Filthy from the stinking bedrooms to breakfast crockery. Completely unhelpful and unapologetic staff.”
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We stayed at the Powdermills after my sisters wedding, which was held in the area (thankfully not at this hotel). On arrival the hotel looks lovely and the grounds are beautiful-when you step inside it all changes.

The bedroom stank disgustingly of urine. The shower was either stone cold or burning hot. Hotel dogs run riot in the corridors. The fire alarm went off 3 times in the very early morning...

Moving onto breakfast. The tinned fruit on offer was fizzy-well past it's best. After continuous requests for tea, it finally arrived in a filthy, cracked jug. It literally looked like it hadn't been washed for months-dripping with tea stains and coffee granules stuck to it's sticky base. No milk was offered with tea and when trying to help ourselves to fruit juice there were no glasses.

Unsurprisingly, we asked to speak to someone in charge to find out what they thought about our customer experience. However, we were told "there's no one hear in charge". No apology to go with that statement, just a blank looking, unhelpful waitress.

The photos of the Powedeemills make it appear like a luxury country hotel. Even driving up to the hotel this is the impression. However, as soon as you walk in, you realise they had a blooming good photographer.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank echammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    165
    76
    36
    18
See reviews for
106
357
1
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Stayed here as a stopover for a wedding and was extremely disappointed. On the plus side it is a lovely setting, and the geese by the pond didn't attack me when I went out to get some fresh air.

Unfortunately the fresh air was needed due to the wet dog smell of the room. My night's sleep was interrupted three times by the fire alarm going off for no apparent reason, the shower fluctuated between freezing cold and boiling hot, and breakfast was a complete fiasco. Dirty bowls, glasses, floor, tea pots - lack of the basics, such as milk, the toast was burnt and the staff couldn't care less or were too worn down from complaints to care.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DroobyDraws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We arrived after a long journey at 2.45pm and were sent up to our room where we found that it had not been made up from the previous occupant. Check in is 2pm. We went back down to reception and were allocated another room which we went to only to find that it had not been made up either. So back to reception where we asked for coffee whilst we waited for the room to be serviced. No one came to advise when the room was ready, so it was down to guess work. Further more, when leaving after a two night stay we were shocked to find that the coffee, £4, had been included on our account! Clearly there is no communication between Room Service and Reception. Indeed the staff seemed wooden and indifferent. Naturally we refused to pay this and explained the reason. The manageress accepted, but there was no hint of regret. We were also asked to chose our evening meal in advance on the first night. So we wrote down our choices which included coffee. This never arrived. We paid the 10% optional service charge - which on reflection should not have, but were so taken aback by the attitude of the staff over the state of our room on arrival that we overlooked it.
The Hotel boasts having WiFi throughout, but when we found it didn't work were told that the provider had gone bankrupt. - again no apology. It was very important to have access to e mail and we had relied on this service being available. The mobile phone network is out of range so there was not this facility either - although the mobile phone network is not the fault of the hotel; it did make having WiFi imperative for us.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictorVictorVictor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Stayed here for a couple of nights on business in August 2010. Reception service was slow and unimpressive and they'd lost my reservation for which they made no apology. The grounds are very appealing, however my room was very dated, full of tired looking furniture which looked worn and/or damaged. The bathroom was reasonably nice however. The room itself was naturally dark and faced onto a carpark at ground level. To make things worse, most of the lights in the room (3 out of 5) did not switch on - presumably because the bulbs had gone and not been replaced.
Dinner was tasty but somewhat pretentious and substantially overpriced. Service was OK but they did try to clear my plate before I had finished. Breakfast was quite good and the service at breakfast was friendly and helpful. They do offer room service but for reasons unknown there is no room service menu in the room so you don't actually know what you can order.
The TV in the room is very small as well. I slept badly as the pipes in the room were noisy in the middle of the night and the walls are extremely thin so I could hear the person in the room next door snoring! There is also no in room internet facilities at all which is inconvenient.
Overall I would not recommend this hotel at all - it is very tired and needs some investment to update it as it has nice grounds and a nice setting. It is very overpriced in its current condition.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davetrip80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a family wedding, on arrival the immediate impression is how wonderful it is. The setting is truely beautiful, the reception area and indeed the receptionist I found to be very unhelpful and not very customer friendly. We booked a standard double and although the room was lovely the bed was really creaky and it woke us up everytime you turned over, there are resident dogs on the premises and both mornings we were woken up by the barking in the corridor next to our room. I did wonder if this was a ploy to get us out of bed. My daughter and grandson had booked a twin room, she found that the room had a bath with a hand shower, however, everytime she lifted it above a certain height the water stopped flowing! The following morning we went to breakfast and for the price you pay I was really very disappointed. On a table were a few boxes of cereal, yoghurts and tinned grapefruit etc. I would have at least expected fresh fruit salad. I did not wish to indulge in a full fry so requested poached eggs on toast, when it came I had a half slice of toast and one poached egg. My husband had the works and he said the quality and to sauage and bacon was second to none. The wedding food etc and staff were fantastic and for that we were grateful. However the following morning when all family and friends gathered for their breakfast it was quite obviousl that the staff were not used to so many guests. We waited ages for tea/coffee, my daughter requested toast 3 times before it finally arrived. There were no croissants, choc au pain etc, it was worse than the day before. The following night we had booked into a Premier Lodge, we paid £69 for a family room and £15.50 in total for breakfast, we had a far better nights sleep, the room was cleaner and the breakfast was absolutely fantastic, everything you could wish for. As far as the venue for a wedding is concerned it is ideal, but I think the hotel needs a revamp and a course in customer care/

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnMega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

On arriving at Powdermills it looks amazing, but, goes down hill from then on. Reception is just a cubby hole wilth the person sharing with bar duties. Our room was in the main house with wistreria outside and wasps inside. The bathroom was dark and very old (avacado suite) with the shower falling to pieces when removed from the wall. The bedroom was very hot with only one window opening and no air condiitioning. It would have been nice to supply a fan in these circumstances, and it didin't smell all that fresh. The room for dinner was again delightful - but again it's a pity the food wasn't as well. At £120 for the night I think this hotel is very overpriced. It's redeeming feature is it's fantastic grounds.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Creswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

We decided to take advantage of the Telegraph offer of "afternoon tea for two from £10.". The setting is beautiful and the standard of furnishings in the public rooms is high. Our reception was lukewarm and when we asked if we could sit outside, no suggestions were made apart from a vague gesture. Very disappointed to be told we could not choose the afternoon tea menu on this offer. The choices given were "Tea with scones, jam and cream" or "Tea with Cakes". Both of these items were under £7.00 per person. No choice of tea was given and the cakes were poor. Whilst walking through the premises we noted dirty tables not cleared and at one point a large sliver of glass on the terrrace area. Although we enjoyed our time at Powdermills, we will not be returning for afternoon tea. The previous week we went to the George in Rye - what a feast, sandwiches, choice of teas, scones, cakes (homemade) - a real afternoon treat, for the same price.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LJSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Battle
3.1 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#3 of 5 in Battle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in Battle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Brickwall Hotel
The Brickwall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sedlescombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Cooden Beach Hotel
The Cooden Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bexhill-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
22.2 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PowderMills Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PowderMills Country House Hotel

Property: PowderMills Country House Hotel
Address: Powdermill Lane, Battle TN33 0SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — PowderMills Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your PowderMills Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powdermills Country Hotel
Powdermills Country Battle
PowderMills Country House Hotel Battle, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing