We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little find”

Mrs Burton's Restaurant and Tea Room
Ranked #10 of 53 Restaurants in Battle
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Whilst on a cheeky break we decided to visit Battle. We came across Mrs Burtons, we had wonderful weather so we sat outside right next to Battle Abbey. We had cream tea. The service was excellent and the scones were just delicious. Very popular and busy for October. Whilst visiting a coach full of people arrived and the service to deal with such a large party was second to none. Definite recommendation for this beautiful restaurant. Thank you for making us welcome.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2018

My wife and I visited for morning coffee, but had previously had a Sunday roast. Features include historic building near Battle Abbey. Smoke free log fire. quick service. god food.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mulokole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

3 years ago we went to Battle to visit the Abbey and came out and saw the team room, we loved how old the building is and the tea room has the best scones. When we visited Battle a couple of weeks ago we knew where we were going to have a cup of tea and they still have the best scones served with jam and clotted cream. It is lovely to have you cup of tea served in China cups. The staff are lovely and the teacroom is definitely worth the visit

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank faing84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

In Battle for a day trip, and hungry for a good breakfast. This was the first coffee/ tea room we came across, and it certainly looks the part (old fashioned in what is a very old town). We sat in the small courtyard at the back and had a full English breakfast each together with tea served in proper china cups. The food was first class, freshly cooked and using first class ingredients, especially the sausage and bacon. We returned later for coffee and Victorian Sponge cake, again excellent. A very nice experience!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank realale2049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Tiny and ancient, this tearoom, tight across from the entrance to Battle Abbey, serves a perfect ploughman’s lunch. Delicious ham, cheese, chutney, and greens. The low, beamed ceiling creates a cozy atmosphere and the pleasant staff is welcoming and helpful.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Travel643070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mrs Burton's Restaurant and Tea Room also viewed

 
Battle, East Sussex
 

Been to Mrs Burton's Restaurant and Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing