We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel should be condemned”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
George Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Reviewed 31 March 2012

My husband was taking a long walk from Pevensey to Rye and Battle was about half way so I met him, together with other friends, in Battle. We stayed at The George. It was obviously once a lovely traditional town centre hotel and has become very badly run down. It's very central and convenient and there was parking for customers out the back - so credit where it's due! It now has an italian restaurant on the ground floor, with nasty blue plastic signage which made it all look very tacky. We followed signs to reception, a dingy little table and a sign suggesting we phone if we want service. The lady came and checked us in and was actually very charming and trying very hard to make up for the whole shabby dump. We followed her up the steep, purple carpeted and uneven spiral staircase, to yale-opening doors with pain peeling off, to rooms 12, 13, 14 and 15. Each room contained a "selection" of beds ; singles and doubles, as many as could be crammed in. The rooms were big and bright with sash windows on to the high street. The place is full of potential. The beds were ancient, and bore no relation to the headboards, nailed randomly to the walls. One bed was about to collapse. The bed linen was clean at least. There has been an attempt to improve things but it's all been done badly and on the cheap. It was £80 for 2 of us including breakfast. One room had a bath - the others only showers and had been refurbed badly and cheaply. The toilet seat was not properly attached and the extractor fan was exceptionally noisy. The girl who checked us in also served (and we think cooked) breakfast. She was run off her feet. She spoke barely any english and was trying very hard to make us happy but sadly breakfast was a disaster too. The buffet was ok but the hot breakfast was overdone eggs, plastic white toast and disgusting undercooked bacon. It's a real shame because this hotel deserves to be restored to its former glory and that will be expensive. Meanwhile I congratulate the lady who did all the work for keeping smiling - she is wasted there.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nashes_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 211 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2012

Battle is such a lovley town and the surrounding areas are stunning so you would think the standards of the local hotel would match but sadly it doesnt. The Room looks like it had been resently refurbished although the standards were not of a good quality,although a substancial size room the bed did not match and the quality was less than substancial and the bathroom hasnt been touched since 1970's what with scum marks around the bath and the smell of pee. Breakfast wasn't up to much either with small portions and all the food tasting of old oil that proberly has'nt been changed in months im sure. All in all i would not stay here again i'd book into the Powdermill hotel only 5 more min's down the road.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaCa37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
Thank deninnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Battle
5.9 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#8 of 11 in Hastings
309 reviews
2.8 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in Battle
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
PowderMills Hotel & Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Battle
451 reviews
5.5 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: 23 High Street, Battle TN33 0EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Price Range: £43 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 300 years, The George Hotel has been at the centre of life in Battle. Starting as a coaching inn in the 17th century (the Ostler's cottage and stables can still be seen to the rear of the building), today The George is an elegant hotel, combining modern facilities with original features, principally the magnificent 17th century spiral staircase.Boasting views of Battle Abbey, the hotel is close to all the town's historic sites, including Senlac Field the site of the Battle of Hastings in 1066.Stay in one of our brand new refurbished comfortable en-suite rooms, enjoy a traditional full English breakfast, and then set off to explore the historic and picturesque town.The staff at The George Hotel look forward to offering you a warm welcome, whether your stay is for business or a relaxing break.We have private off-street parking - a real bonus in a busy town - and modern facilities to make your stay as pleasant as possible. They include Direct Dial telephone, free Wi-Fi, tea & coffee making facilities, colour TV and en-suite bathrooms in all bedrooms.We are easy to find in the heart of Battle, a 5 minute taxi ride from the train station and only a 2 minute walk from Battle Abbey, so come and visit soon.The George Hotel has a no smoking policy and a no pets policy throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Battle, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing