We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
George Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Stayed two nights here on a KGB deal. Could not fault our room on the second floor - lovely crisp white sheets, pretty curtains and cushions and wallpaper, flats screen TV, hair dryer and excellent wifi connection. Bathroom a little dated but perfectly adequate. Nice towels, shower over the bath with plenty of shampoos, shower gels and soaps.
Don't be put off by some of these reviews - the entrance is a bit unusual, but staff answered the telephone immediately and were on hand if needed. We were greeted not by horrible smells, but the smell of fresh paint - they are obviously in the process of doing the hotel up.
Breakfast was very good - full English freshly cooked to order. Help yourself to a selection of cereals, yoghurts, fruit, tea, coffee, fruit teas.
Battle was a lovely town full of unusual independent shops - food at The Bull was excellent.
Would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

Stayed here with my family for two nights. Considering I only paid £80 for three people with breakfast I have to say it's not as bad as some reviews would suggest.
The hotel is centrally located and has free car park adjacent but limited. Our room was comfortable and had everything you would expect. Bathroom was large and newly refurbished.
Both room and bathroom were very clean. Staff helpfully and friendly especially young lady on the reception. Breakfast was busy well staffed and had a good selection of items on the full English breakfast. Overall we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tomasz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Freindly people, fair breakfast.

I found the place to be clean and the rooms adequate - posh tellys and clean comfy beds at a reasonable price.

The place needs some attention - a bit of TLC, but they seemed to be working on that whule i was there.

Its a nice place, smackin the middle of town with a nice itallian restaurant attached.

Personally, when i travel i don not have much interest in the minutiae of teh decor in the hotel - if i go somewher eits because i have business there or want to enjoy the sights - never yet found either of those in the hotel room which is where o go to sleep and maybe have breakfast.

cant see the point in paying a fortune for a room im not going to be in while im awake; if the beds are good / clean; the staff friendly and the food good, [which is the case, why would i care if the paint is a little out of date? im not the queen of england and dont want to be!

The george does wha tit says on the tin!

Room Tip: Ask for one?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edward b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Please do not stay here. I went to a wedding at Leeford Place (which, by the way, was a beautiful hotel venue. Unfortunately, all the rooms were booked out for the wedding so we had to find an alternative. This hotel seemed OK in the dark when we arrived. But the bed was so awful - it had partially collapsed. There was no one on duty during the night so we had to suffer the bed, barely able to sleep and trying not to fall out. In the morning we complained to the clerk and received no apology or any interest whatsoever in our issue. Never again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgiez_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

1. Poor quality paint job to cover a ceiling leak.
2. Tile nearly falling off in bathroom.
3. My girlfriend had to go up to our room to get a mug for breakfast because they could not be bothered to get one from the kitchen.
4. For breakfast you got 1 hash brown and baked beans served in a buttercup containing approximately 3 baked beans.
5. First come first serve (off-street) parking.
The only positive point is that it is located right in the middle of Battle Village Centre.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 809Ben1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I would NOT recommend this "Hotel". We booked one night here for my Mum's birthday based on my parents good experience of it 25 years ago. It has clearly gone downhill considerably since then, and I would hardly class The George Hotel as more than student accommodation or a Hostel.
First impressions were poor after trying to find a space in the tiny car park. We then entered the Reception and discovered that in order to attract any attention, we needed to phone a number on the reception phone to get someone to come and check us in. Well the person who arrived looked more like a handy man than a Hotel Receptionist. He spoke little English and no customer service skills. Once we had been given our keys, we had to find our own way to our rooms, as it was clear that the "Hotel Receptionist" was not even going to point us in the right direction.
After climbing to the top of the spiral staircase, who knows how many flights of stairs, we found our rooms. What a disappointment. The furniture was mismatched and second (maybe third) hand, the decor needed a major update, and the "ensuite bathroom" had a bath, toilet and sink (no shower). The bath didn't have any facilities for washing your hair, so I had to wash my hair using the bath and a glass (provided for tooth-brushing purposes). This was not an enjoyable experience. It wouldn't have been so bad if they hadn't provided a hair dryer and shampoo and conditioner! I have no idea how they imagine you would be able to wash your hair. Ridiculous.
My bathroom also had a hole in the window sill which appeared to be the result of a leaky gutter, which poured water onto the outside of the window sill, and had caused the wood to rot and break up, which meant that water came into the bathroom when it rained!
When my parents came here 25 years ago, there was a lovely Restaurant downstairs. This has now been replaced by a tacky Italian restaurant which has nothing to do with the Hotel. It did not look very appealing, so we decided to eat at The Blacksmith Restaurant (very nice food, but expensive and sadly very few customers on a Saturday night).
We decided against having breakfast, even though we had paid for it, as we were told at Reception that they serve breakfast between 7:45am and 8:30am. Also, we took a peek at the breakfast room, and concluded that it was best to avoid it. Fruit was already on display the night before, and coffee facilities consisted of a container of nasty looking instant coffee. Instead, we had a lovely breakfast at a Cafe up the road by Battle Abbey.
Overall, a big disappointment and we will not be returning to The George Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012


Please please whatever you do, DO NOT book this place as you will be left bitterly disappointed. We booked a family room for two adults and two children (aged 6 and 1yrs) at this 'hotel' expecting a lovely English Inn experience. At the time of booking a travel cot was requested. A call was made prior to checking in to make sure there would be a cot for our son but when I called to confirm this the response I was given was why did I need one when there was a double and single bed. I tried to explain why one was required but as little English was spoken it was like banging my head against a brick wall as the person on then end of the phone really did not get why one was needed - silly me, how unreasonable a request we should just all cram into two beds!

On arrival our hearts sank as this clearly couldnt be the English Inn we had booked as per the website. The entrance was via the rear through grotty doors and what they called reception was a joke. It had all the makings of a rent a room by the hour establishment - peeling wallpaper, punch holes in the walls, dirty cracked tiled floor and last but not least the awful smell of every fast food place you can think of rolled into one. Absolutely disgusting but what awaited us re:room was much much worse! We booked a family room but did not expect it to be at the top of the 'hotel' only accessed by a winding staircase as there was no lift. Therefore we had to struggle with two kids, bags and baby equipment up three flights - luckily we are all able bodied.

Upon opening the door to our room we thought we'd been given the keys to a store room as it was so small and looked like every free piece of furniture had been crammed in. It was so far from being the family room we envisaged. The bathroom was something from the 70s with public toilet accessories - toilet roll holder and soap dispenser. There was no shower which meant we would have to brave the bath! The bathroom was dirty with grotty tiles and linoleum. The window was tiny and that you couldn't even open. There was a delightful fist hole in the bathroom door!

The beds were lumpy and the divans were old. You were lucky if you got a headboard, if you did it was nailed to the wall. The tea/coffee facilities were on a little shelf that could easily be accessed by the children - an accident waiting to happen. The room was not child friendly in any shape or form. The curtains may as well not have been there as they served no purpose as they were so thin. There was one tiny window which let in some air but the room was stuffy and again the awful smell from downstairs was everywhere.

The breakfast was something else! The breakfast room was accessed via a dirty corridor again with peeling wallpaper and punch holes and to top it off when you got into the room there were slug trails by the doors. The high chair that was available was dirty and looked like it had never been cleaned. The smell that greeted you was so repulsive it made you want to leave! The eggs were cremated and the toast was inedible. The fruit that was in the fruit bowl was soft and wrinkly - been there how long!!!?

We tried to speak to someone about these issues but there was never anybody at the pitiful reception desk.

This cannot be classed as a hotel as there are no facilities for the guests to use. This is more like a hostel or student digs. Not suitable for families and we really wished we had spent a few more pounds on something better.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank ksbtdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Battle
5.9 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#8 of 11 in Hastings
306 reviews
2.8 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Battle
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in Battle
117 reviews
0.9 mi away
PowderMills Hotel & Restaurant
5.5 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: 23 High Street, Battle TN33 0EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Price Range: £43 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 300 years, The George Hotel has been at the centre of life in Battle. Starting as a coaching inn in the 17th century (the Ostler's cottage and stables can still be seen to the rear of the building), today The George is an elegant hotel, combining modern facilities with original features, principally the magnificent 17th century spiral staircase.Boasting views of Battle Abbey, the hotel is close to all the town's historic sites, including Senlac Field the site of the Battle of Hastings in 1066.Stay in one of our brand new refurbished comfortable en-suite rooms, enjoy a traditional full English breakfast, and then set off to explore the historic and picturesque town.The staff at The George Hotel look forward to offering you a warm welcome, whether your stay is for business or a relaxing break.We have private off-street parking - a real bonus in a busy town - and modern facilities to make your stay as pleasant as possible. They include Direct Dial telephone, free Wi-Fi, tea & coffee making facilities, colour TV and en-suite bathrooms in all bedrooms.We are easy to find in the heart of Battle, a 5 minute taxi ride from the train station and only a 2 minute walk from Battle Abbey, so come and visit soon.The George Hotel has a no smoking policy and a no pets policy throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and LateRooms so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Battle, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing