We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look Beyond First Appearances”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
George Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

This is a friendly and comfortable place to stay. Breakfast is excellent and cooked fresh whilst you wait.
The George however is clearly a work in progress with available money having been spent in the bedrooms and bathrooms. Leaving the public areas to last which is clearly a sensible policy - but if we hadn't prepaid it is highly likely that we would have judged what was offered by first appearances and left and that would have been our loss. The sooner money can be spent on reception and public areas especially the stairwell (which could be a real feature) the better I am certain it will pay for itself really quickly

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

We've stayed here twice now. We were looking a property in Robertsbridge nearby so booked a night in a double room at the George, on a Saturday night, for £60, which we thought very reasonable.

Upon arrival we opened the door to our room to find a vast Edwardian looking four poster bed! The bathroom was entirely decent, the outlook from the bedroom rural and charming. We overslept on both occasions (naughty, but testimony to the comfort of the bed!) and the gentleman on reception was very kind and said it was no problem to check out an hour late.

An excellent B&B in the enchanting village of Battle.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to the four poster room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LifeOnAPlate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I chose this off the back of Trip Advisor reviews. I was really disappointed with appearance of hotel and communal areas but to be honest the standard of hotels in this particular part of the country are not like the home counties, so really, what did I expect? Its all very 'local' in this area and I was frightened how 'London' I felt even though I live 20 miles from it.

Staff were helpful and the rooms were clean, slept well so cant really moan. Just basic but good value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlottiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Probably the best value hotel in the area. I stayed in 4 different rooms over a 2 month period and all were clean with all facilities. The rooms are currently being re-decorated and are excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brndncassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Situated in the middle of battle, car park at the rear of hotel , greeted by a well mannered and helpful man at reception, we Stopped here for 3 nights, very clean and bed was comfy, we didn't eat hear but prices was cheap.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 213Ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Well decorated clean & tidy. Hotel recently been refurbished by the look of it & done to a high standard. Staff very friendly & helpful. Good size tasty breakfast for not a lot of money.
Hotel is in the high street, close to all the amenities. Handy car park at the rear of the hotel. Battle itself is situated centrally & conveniently for many places of historic interest. Would recommend the hotel highly & will definitely stay again..!!

Room Tip: we chose room with four poster bed. very romantic..!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Firstly the good points - it was £40 per night and £6.50 for breakfast so as a single traveler it was economical. The Hotel has parking which is a godsend in Battle as the High Street is very busy and parking is minimal. The bad points - the receptionist/manager/breakfast cook looked like something out of an old comedy show called 'Rising Damp' he was wearing the same old torn jumper throughout my stay and was extremely unkempt. I did question whether I wanted to stay at the hotel before I checked in due to the reception area and staff.
The Hotel/B&B was at the back of what used to be a pub but has since been turned into an Italian restaurant.
The Hotel smelt musty and needed a really good clean. It had cracked windows, dirty skirting boards, grimy windows and the mirrors on the stair case hadn't been cleaned in years. My room was on the top floor which gave a good view of Battle Abbey but if you aren't very fit you needed a supply of oxygen by the time you got to it.
The decoration looked like an explosion of a paint factory and the decor was old/dated and very scruffy. No shower just a 3/4 enamel bath that was older than my gran.
The breakfast was reasonable with a good selection of cereal, teas and juices and a choice of full breakfast/scrambled eggs etc.
I did not see any female staff at all during my stay and it seemed to be run by men who did not have a clue how to clean. When staying at a B&B you expect the owners to have a good knowledge of the area but to be honest these guys didn't have a clue.
However, it was cheap and the bed was clean and very comfortable.
I stayed there for two nights and in retrospect would have booked the Bull Inn a couple of doors away that served very good food and was run by a lovely couple who made me very welcome every evening.
But as the saying goes - you get what you pay for.
If I ever visited Battle again - I would not be booking this hotel.

Room Tip: My room was top floor and had a view of Battle Abbey - the only reason why you would visit Battle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Battle
5.9 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#8 of 11 in Hastings
307 reviews
2.8 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in Battle
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Battle
444 reviews
0.9 mi away
PowderMills Hotel & Restaurant
5.5 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: 23 High Street, Battle TN33 0EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Price Range: £44 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 300 years, The George Hotel has been at the centre of life in Battle. Starting as a coaching inn in the 17th century (the Ostler's cottage and stables can still be seen to the rear of the building), today The George is an elegant hotel, combining modern facilities with original features, principally the magnificent 17th century spiral staircase.Boasting views of Battle Abbey, the hotel is close to all the town's historic sites, including Senlac Field the site of the Battle of Hastings in 1066.Stay in one of our brand new refurbished comfortable en-suite rooms, enjoy a traditional full English breakfast, and then set off to explore the historic and picturesque town.The staff at The George Hotel look forward to offering you a warm welcome, whether your stay is for business or a relaxing break.We have private off-street parking - a real bonus in a busy town - and modern facilities to make your stay as pleasant as possible. They include Direct Dial telephone, free Wi-Fi, tea & coffee making facilities, colour TV and en-suite bathrooms in all bedrooms.We are easy to find in the heart of Battle, a 5 minute taxi ride from the train station and only a 2 minute walk from Battle Abbey, so come and visit soon.The George Hotel has a no smoking policy and a no pets policy throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelsClick so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Battle, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing