We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a short stay”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
George Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Reviewed 9 June 2014

After reading some reviews after i had booked the room,i have to say i was a little worried,
Yet when we arrived the staff were helpful and polite.
We stayed in room 13 it had a double bed and 2 singles,it was clean and presentable,the bathroom was small but clean the shower worked fine.
It could do with repainting and the furniture replacing as its getting tired now.
I would also take out single bed to make more room.
We enjoyed our stay and i would stay again if i needed to.

Room Tip: Parking is at the rear of the hotel so could be hit or miss with space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Well , as had a Hospital appointment near by Myself and My Fiance thought it would be a good idea to stay close over night , now going by the reputation this place had when i was a kid we are talking like 1993 ish it was close to 3 to 4 star and had a very high class reputation as well as a good Dinner menu and full A' La Ca rte Menu .

Now we arrive ( I might add with the expectations of years gone by) to walk in and find it looks like something out of a horror movie where there is nobody about at all , then we call the phone which is left at reception and then this geezer walks down the stairs wearing Jeans and a tshirt !! . I mean what the hell ? where is the front of house standard of at least looking smart ?.

So we go to our room , room 4 . the sign says 'mind the step' well we open the door and My Fiance then nearly falls down the other stairs which are behind the door !, if i had not grabbed her she would have split her head open on the glass mirror behind her !.

Anyway we then get ready for bed , and turn the lights off , and underneath us all of a sudden we hear this loud drum and bass music which to be honest was a joke . who do you complain to ? , there's nobody about to do just that !!.

Breakfast the next morning was even weirder , the guy who checked us in is taking the orders and cooking the food ! this guy must be multi talented ha ha ha.


Anyway , I think its safe to say we wont be back .

and its safe to say the manager and cook and waiter , really needs to get some staff and a can of paint and re decorate the whole place !!.

he more than likley is the chamber maid aswell !!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I would say this hotel is pretty much what one would expect for its price range. Pros were: clean bathroom, comfortable bed and everything worked. (Believe me, that is not always the case.) Cons were: shower is a weak trickle and never got hot. Window is very old and extremely heavy, so very hard to open and close. TV is very tiny. The man at receptionist was friendly and helpful. Note that reception is not manned, you have to phone. Phoning from reception itself always worked, but phoning from my room did not answer. Overall pretty average, but I have definitely stayed in worse. Decent for the price.

Room Tip: My review pertains to room 8, at the back, first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The best way to stay at the George hotel is to STAY AWAY. Stayed in room 13 and water was tripping from the roof waked up wet. Complained to staf but they did nothing. It was very dirty as well. Never coming back!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 432Rune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Dangerous! Room 13 family room, opening the window 2/3 floor fell out of its fixing sending a 3x4 pain of glass complete with frame onto my partners head, combined with curtains and me, saved it from falling on our son 5yrs who was in the bed asleep right below it!#@!

The soap/shampoo dispenser in the shower came off and broke on the floor which I had to put right myself......with son in shower!#@!

As we left the room water started dripping from the ceiling from the room above!#@!

Complaining at reception the male had not a clue what to do, said sorry with a glum blank expression then looked at us in silence.... as though that was enough??
So we asked him to go and see for himself. ..came back and did the same thing?#@!

We asked to speak to the mgr but was given a number, rang the number only for it to not connect, getting through 3rd try spoke to a rude women who said the fixing in the shower is ok as its only plastic, the window and leak she will have to "investigate" as she cant prove it happend as she is not there??? (the worker who we sent to see it was standing in front of me?) Asked for a refund only to get a reluctant 50% back only "AS A GOOD WILL" to be continued? ??

The carparc is tiny and had no signage, as a result.. a note on the widow of our car saying "this space is for the restaurant only, please do not park here in future"... (WE WONT DONT WORRY!)

Good points! The fire extinguishers were used to prop open the doors on the way down? So safe in the knowledge it has exits and a large window open to escape? !@#!

Rubbish!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at the George Hotel in Battle. We struggled to find somewhere at short notice with a family room so were pleasantly surprised with a nice quiet room with very comfy beds. The bedroom and bathroom were very clean and well decorated, however the water pressure in the shower was low and unsatisfying (hence the lower score). Also it was good to have free wifi however the signal was unreliable for the one night that we stayed there. The choice for breakfast was varied and nice and there was lots of it. The staff were friendly. Overall we would stay there again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Had a nice stay at the George Hotel in room 1. However on arrival was greeted by a male receptionist friendly enough but over stepped the mark with a comment regarding our room " As the kinky room" making us feel bit sleazy, about the hotel and room. The hot tub was quite dirty and we had to clean it before use, there was also 2no cracked floor tiles which were dangerous. Apart from that the room was quite comfy. Location was excellent and breakfast was good value. A nice retreat for a night away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason_934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Battle
5.9 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#8 of 11 in Hastings
309 reviews
2.8 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in Battle
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
PowderMills Hotel & Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Battle
451 reviews
5.5 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: 23 High Street, Battle TN33 0EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Price Range: £43 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 300 years, The George Hotel has been at the centre of life in Battle. Starting as a coaching inn in the 17th century (the Ostler's cottage and stables can still be seen to the rear of the building), today The George is an elegant hotel, combining modern facilities with original features, principally the magnificent 17th century spiral staircase.Boasting views of Battle Abbey, the hotel is close to all the town's historic sites, including Senlac Field the site of the Battle of Hastings in 1066.Stay in one of our brand new refurbished comfortable en-suite rooms, enjoy a traditional full English breakfast, and then set off to explore the historic and picturesque town.The staff at The George Hotel look forward to offering you a warm welcome, whether your stay is for business or a relaxing break.We have private off-street parking - a real bonus in a busy town - and modern facilities to make your stay as pleasant as possible. They include Direct Dial telephone, free Wi-Fi, tea & coffee making facilities, colour TV and en-suite bathrooms in all bedrooms.We are easy to find in the heart of Battle, a 5 minute taxi ride from the train station and only a 2 minute walk from Battle Abbey, so come and visit soon.The George Hotel has a no smoking policy and a no pets policy throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Battle, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing