We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
George Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Arrived in tiny car park. Greeted by over flowing bins! NICE! Put up in room 13. Got back after fab wedding, water coming through ceiling! Moved to drab room 14. Still awaiting promised compensation!!

Room Tip: Don't bother!! Our young son was worried to stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ilovedecenthotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

On arrival we were greeted by nobody. Had to make a call at the desk. A casually dressed man handed us our keys and told us we were in room 19, the attic room. 53 slightly wonky stairs later we arrived to our basic room .. but however we had an amazing view of the Abbey ! Didn't see hardly a soul the two nights we were there, but as we are quite ignorant anyway that suited us just fine ...would go back purely because we were in the centre of everything and didn't have to endure all the small talk you normally get in b&b's and guest houses...snobs and chatty interactive people stay away !...Tricia and Dave :-)

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank candle666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 weeks whilst working locally. (Monday to Friday both weeks)
The hotel itself is ok. Rooms are big and clean.
The breakfast is really good and by far is best feature. Plenty of cereals, fruit, tea and coffee to help yourself to. The cooked breakfast was big enough to and something to look forward to.
Other than that that's where the hotel side ends.
They messed our bookings up twice in the two weeks so where as we would sleep on the Friday day to go to work in the night ... They were knocking on our room at 10 am (after only 2 hours sleep) to check out even tho we were supposed to be checking out in the evening.
Would stay here if I had to but wouldn't recommend to anyone

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank joelthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I don't know how this can call itself a Hotel. In a hotel you expect a bar, a restaurant, a lounge. This has nothing. We stayed in room 14 it was okay, cleanish, but tatty. Very basic. The whole place could do with new fixtures and fittings. And a good lick of paint. It was all men in our party and we all said we would have been very disappointed if we had turned up with our wives. In the morning we had to be somewhere at 9.30 am so we all got up early ready for breakfast at 8 am. Or so we thought. The breakfast room was locked, and no one about. So we had to use the phone in reception to wake the staff up. Then we had to wait for boiler to heat up water for tea, the coffee to go through machine. No milk, no cutlery. Awful start to day. I would avoid this place.

Room Tip: Don't, go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

stayed one night had booked superior room but olga phoned to say double booked so gave us the four poster room which was super theres a surprise in store with the four poster and i loved the room stunning staircase although flashing lights spoilt it room was good quality for the price breakfast plenty of choice and cooked pleasant staff if was in area again would stay again

Room Tip: car park at rear was a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HAPPY48ENGLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night cos we had a wedding reception nearby! The room was clean and big. The staircase was amazing! We were greeted by friendly staff and the car park is handy in that area cos parking is limited! The location is great you are right in the high street!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lcampbell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

After reading some reviews after i had booked the room,i have to say i was a little worried,
Yet when we arrived the staff were helpful and polite.
We stayed in room 13 it had a double bed and 2 singles,it was clean and presentable,the bathroom was small but clean the shower worked fine.
It could do with repainting and the furniture replacing as its getting tired now.
I would also take out single bed to make more room.
We enjoyed our stay and i would stay again if i needed to.

Room Tip: Parking is at the rear of the hotel so could be hit or miss with space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Battle
5.9 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#8 of 11 in Hastings
303 reviews
1.8 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Battle
431 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in Battle
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
PowderMills Hotel & Restaurant
5.4 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: 23 High Street, Battle TN33 0EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Battle
Price Range: £41 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 300 years, The George Hotel has been at the centre of life in Battle. Starting as a coaching inn in the 17th century (the Ostler's cottage and stables can still be seen to the rear of the building), today The George is an elegant hotel, combining modern facilities with original features, principally the magnificent 17th century spiral staircase.Boasting views of Battle Abbey, the hotel is close to all the town's historic sites, including Senlac Field the site of the Battle of Hastings in 1066.Stay in one of our brand new refurbished comfortable en-suite rooms, enjoy a traditional full English breakfast, and then set off to explore the historic and picturesque town.The staff at The George Hotel look forward to offering you a warm welcome, whether your stay is for business or a relaxing break.We have private off-street parking - a real bonus in a busy town - and modern facilities to make your stay as pleasant as possible. They include Direct Dial telephone, free Wi-Fi, tea & coffee making facilities, colour TV and en-suite bathrooms in all bedrooms.We are easy to find in the heart of Battle, a 5 minute taxi ride from the train station and only a 2 minute walk from Battle Abbey, so come and visit soon.The George Hotel has a no smoking policy and a no pets policy throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Battle, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing