We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection. The nicest B&B we've ever stayed at!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of English Rose B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
English Rose B&B
Ranked #10 of 22 Bexhill-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfection. The nicest B&B we've ever stayed at!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

English Rose deserves the highest praise - it was just lovely! Malcolm and Tracey were the perfect mix of friendly and welcoming with discreet and professional. The accommodation was beautiful; our petite room had a gorgeous balcony overlooking the garden and a ceiling fan which just about saved our lives in the heat. It was immaculately decorated and spotlessly clean - we stayed in Rye and Hastings on the previously two nights and whilst our accommodation was good, English Rose just put both in the shade. Bottled water and a little cooler, as well as a nice range of toiletries in the well-fitted bathroom were extra nice touches.

The location is great with lots of street parking close by, near enough to the beach, restaurants and bars but far enough for peace and quiet.

The breakfast didn't disappoint with plenty of choice and well-cooked food - the boiled eggs were perfectly to my taste. Fresh coffee and lots of juice as well as a nice selection of cereal, were also great.

The price for the was great value, considering the quality, location, service and inclusion of breakfast.

You simply must give it a try, we really loved it and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Bexhill!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DelighfulTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
33
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed overnight for a wedding in the area and we were very impressed. Tracey & Malcolm were the perfect hosts at this spotlessly clean B&B, which is close to the station, restaurants and bars. Decorated to high standard, we even had a room with a generous balcony, overlooking the garden. Breakfast was excellent. Tracey & Malcolm helped us find a local restaurant and made us feel so welcome. Faultless and would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for the balcony room, it's great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We used the English Rose for an overnight stay having attended an evening concert at the impressive De La Warr Pavilion. It has a four star tourist board rating - and certainly lived up to this in all respects. I suspect it only lacks the fifth star as our en-suite room ( though superbly laid out/equipped/clean ) was a tad small as was the double bed. Everything else though was excellent throughout. Our room had a lovely little balcony where one could sit looking out on the very well presented back garden - an impressive feature for a B & B ! Malcom amd Tracey are very friendly, accommodating and welcoming and obviously work exceptionally hard to maintain this B&B's top-drawer standards and reputation.

Room Tip: The balcony is linked to room 1 I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baggieboy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Spent two nights here over a weekend, Malcolm and Tracy were so friendly, place was so clean and tidy, room was amazing, breakfasts were even better, I can think of no flaws, except the photos don't do it justice.

Room Tip: All the rooms have adjoining en-suites apart from my single room, which was 3m along the hallway, wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

A modest looking B & B literally just up the road from the train station. Malcolm and Tracey who own and run this perfectly maintained home from home made us feel so welcome yesterday. Our room on the top floor had fluffy white towels, soft carpets and squishy cream leather armchairs to relax into after our 8 hour drive from Northern England. Little extras in the bathroom delighted me – emery boards, cottonwool buds, eye makeup remover pads just some of those thoughtful touches that make this B&B special. Breakfast this morning was a vast choice of various teas and coffees, a wide range of egg dishes, toast and the full English breakfast. My pot of tea kept being refilled – very very important! So very glad we chose this place to stay. We have loved it. If there were any criticisms it would be just that our room was too warm and we had to turn down the central heating and that the storage space was far too small if you were thinking of staying for more than a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Our top floor room was at the front but still very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynden C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Stayed just one night, but the quality and cleanliness of our room was outstanding. The bed was very comfortable, with a thick mattress topper, and feather pillows. The room offered complementary bottled water, fruit and had a small fridge in addition to the usual features expected. We were warmly welcomed and offered fresh filter coffee on arrival which was really appreciated. Breakfast was lovely, opting for the full english, but there is a generous choice on the menu. Proprietors Malcolm and Tracey have definitely got it right, and would recommend English Rose to anyone visiting Bexhill.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessie2423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Cant fault the English Rose we will be back, we will recommend to all our family and friends, great location, very clean, Malcolm and Tracy are great people just like to say thanks and we will see you in the summer.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Roy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bexhill-on-Sea
2.1 mi away
The Cooden Beach Hotel
The Cooden Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bexhill-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Hastings Hotel
3.9 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coast B&B
Coast B&B
#1 of 22 in Bexhill-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Lodge
Park Lodge
#14 of 22 in Bexhill-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seaspray Rooms
Seaspray Rooms
#5 of 22 in Bexhill-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to English Rose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Rose B&B

Property: English Rose B&B
Address: 16 Magdalen Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN40 1SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Bexhill-on-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bexhill-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — English Rose B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The English Rose B&B is a small family run Bed and Breakfast situated near St Marys Magdalene's Church and only a short walk from Bexhill's unspoilt Victorian town why not come and visit and spend the day on its unspoilt beaches, hire a deck chair and soak up the atmosphere. Bexhill-on-Sea offers some great night life, from fine dining in one of our plush restaurants to good old sea side fish and chips or evening cocktails so just book with the English Rose B&B take in a show at the De La Warr Pavilion and see the sites. Bexhill was at the centre of British Motor racing when the 8th Earl De La Warr hosted the first motor race on the 19th May 1902 it is still remembered today with special events organized by the Bexhill 100 association. Now people visit Bexhill for its tranquil settings and its slower pace of life, its unspoilt beaches and local amenities such as Cooden beach golf club or catch up on some history at is museums and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your English Rose B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
English Rose B&B Bexhill-On-Sea, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing