We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of English Rose B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
English Rose B&B
Ranked #9 of 22 Bexhill-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Stutensee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is a lovely B&B close to the town centre but the room to the garden is very quiet. The room was spotless clean and for the tasty breakfast there is a menu to chose from. The hosts a very friendly and helpful. The only thing to remark is that the bathroom is very small.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank RainerKStutensee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
33
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

I would like to thank the staff for making me very welcome during my stay. This is without a doubt the cleanest, friendliest and most comfortable B&B I have ever stayed at. From the day I arrived to the day I left the staff couldn't do enough for you. The choice at breakfast was also very impressive.
I would not think twice about booking a stay here again.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

My wife and i stayed for 3 nights at The English Rose while attending a wedding at a local beach hotel. The other reviews of this lovely B&B say it all. It is absolutely spotless in every aspect, from the moment you set foot into the impressive hallway, climb the stairs on carpet so deep you loose your feet in the depth of pile, enter your room that is decoratored to a professional level, make yourself comfortable on the additional seating in the room which for us was a pair of 'stressless chairs'. There is nothing negative to say about this B&B apart from there dosn't appear to be any off street parking so finding a parking place, although not a problem for us, could be an issue during the high season. The owners were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay and were very obliging with regard to our early morning departure for a trip to Dover and an early ferry crossing, making us up superb bacon rolls for the journey. Many thanks and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

An excellent bed and breakfast, spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and with comfortable beds and beautiful showers. The owners are extremely helpful and friendly and it is two minutes walk from the station. All round this would now always be my first choice if I needed to stay in the area. Full marks!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scots121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just an overnight stayed to attend a meting next day, but was more than delighted with our choice.
The room was not big but more than adequate for our needs.
Excellent breakfast. Nice couple .
I've got to say I've never stayed in a place in England so clean not a speak of dust.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fiveprimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

A very pleasant one night stay in a great spot. A lovely room with all you might need (including a ceiling fan). Lovely hospitality and a great breakfast. Everything clearly explained on arrival and in the room information books too. Deserves the many great reviews on here.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

English Rose deserves the highest praise - it was just lovely! Malcolm and Tracey were the perfect mix of friendly and welcoming with discreet and professional. The accommodation was beautiful; our petite room had a gorgeous balcony overlooking the garden and a ceiling fan which just about saved our lives in the heat. It was immaculately decorated and spotlessly clean - we stayed in Rye and Hastings on the previously two nights and whilst our accommodation was good, English Rose just put both in the shade. Bottled water and a little cooler, as well as a nice range of toiletries in the well-fitted bathroom were extra nice touches.

The location is great with lots of street parking close by, near enough to the beach, restaurants and bars but far enough for peace and quiet.

The breakfast didn't disappoint with plenty of choice and well-cooked food - the boiled eggs were perfectly to my taste. Fresh coffee and lots of juice as well as a nice selection of cereal, were also great.

The price for the was great value, considering the quality, location, service and inclusion of breakfast.

You simply must give it a try, we really loved it and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Bexhill!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DelighfulTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bexhill-on-Sea
2.1 mi away
The Cooden Beach Hotel
The Cooden Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bexhill-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Hastings Hotel
3.9 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
9.9 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#21 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coast B&B
Coast B&B
#1 of 22 in Bexhill-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to English Rose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Rose B&B

Property: English Rose B&B
Address: 16 Magdalen Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN40 1SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Bexhill-on-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bexhill-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — English Rose B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The English Rose B&B is a small family run Bed and Breakfast situated near St Marys Magdalene's Church and only a short walk from Bexhill's unspoilt Victorian town why not come and visit and spend the day on its unspoilt beaches, hire a deck chair and soak up the atmosphere. Bexhill-on-Sea offers some great night life, from fine dining in one of our plush restaurants to good old sea side fish and chips or evening cocktails so just book with the English Rose B&B take in a show at the De La Warr Pavilion and see the sites. Bexhill was at the centre of British Motor racing when the 8th Earl De La Warr hosted the first motor race on the 19th May 1902 it is still remembered today with special events organized by the Bexhill 100 association. Now people visit Bexhill for its tranquil settings and its slower pace of life, its unspoilt beaches and local amenities such as Cooden beach golf club or catch up on some history at is museums and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your English Rose B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
English Rose B&B Bexhill-On-Sea, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing