We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Daughter's Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cooden Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2013

My daughter had her wedding ceremony and reception at the Cooden Beach. I would recommend the hotel for such an occasion. Jenny and Jackie were absoulutely amazing in all the organizing for such a special day. Everything was done to perfection.
I can honestly say this was the best day of MY life and i know my daughter and all the guests would agree how perfect everything was. Catering for 125 guests cannot be easy but all the food was wonderful.

So a big thankyou to all the staff at The Cooden Beach.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frances m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your great experience.

Here at The Cooden Beach Hotel we take great care to ensure all our Weddings are of the highest standard as we are so very aware that this is such an important time for those involved in each Wedding.

Our Wedding Team and Kitchen Staff always appreciate your feedback and kind comments are always welcome - its so nice to have confirmation that all the hard work has paid off.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (993)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

810 - 816 of 993 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed for one night in May 2013.
The welcome was warm and our room was comfortable, we had a sea view and nice, big, clean bathroom. There was definitely room for a step-in shower in the bathroom - but one had not been put in, so it was a step-in the bath affair.
We had afternoon tea on the terrace which overlooks the sea and the beach. It was delicicious - tea, sandwiches, cakes and a scone with cream - but at £16.00 per head, was not cheap. The hotel was clean and comfortable.

The one big problem with this hotel is the appalling muzak played everywhere - the reception area, the bar and the reception rooms. It was truly awful. As we were the only people in the bar in the evening, we asked the barman to turn it off - which he did very happily - it drives the staff slightly mad as well - what is the point of this dreadful, tuneless, tinny Muzak, we wondered..... Who is it for?

Everything else was pleasant enough....

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CatherineSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on the hotel. We have taken on board your comments about the music and it will be raised at the next Managers Meeting.

Afternoon Tea is usually an expensive indulgence, we believe we make this traditional English extravagance an affordable luxury.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I popped in for a light lunch and ordered a Ploughman's. I chose the " hand carved ham" option with wholemeal bread. However, the ham was not hand carved and obviously came out of a packet and the bread was not wholemeal but a "take and bake" ciabatta type small square roll not quite cooked! The whole plate was swimming in an overbearing vinegar based dressing which was not needed as it came with Branston Pickle, Piccalilli and two pickled onions! How much more vinegar based acid do they think I need. The whole meal was disgusting! I've given the experience one star for the lovely terrace sitting area next to the beach and for the bar staff for their professional attitude on a extremely busy day! Minus points awarded to whoever is in charge of quality control.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ArtemisHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we are very sorry to learn you were not happy with your Ploughman's Lunch.

We would like to assure you that Ham is carved by hand and Rolls baked on site daily. If anyone is dissatisfied in any with anything at all we would always be more than happy to have the opportunity to rectify the situation as it is always our desire for everyone to leave having a very positive experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here June 2012 for a friends wedding. The hotel is really nice and it's located on the sea front. Our room was big and clean, we had a little sea view as the room we stayed in was on the corner. The restaurant at the hotel was nice and the food was very good. The breakfast was just as good too! The only bad thing i can think of about our stay was that our room was on the main corridor where people would come in and out from the stairs, so it can be a bit noisy. Overall we had a nice stay and we would return again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed at the hotel on a saturday night with our dog. We chose the hotel because they are dog friendly and we received a very warm welcome and they were happy for the dog to sleep in our room. The hotel is well maintained and has old fashioned standards and is well run with uniformed staff who were all friendly and polite. There is a formal hotel bar, restaurant and lounge and an informal bar that does bar food.

The double room was the only available when I booked and up on the second floor but was well decorated and reasonable size with a nice bathroom and all the amenities one would expect including tea and coffee facilities. I would have liked more water pressure in the shower but it was OK. There was a good cooked breakfast with a number of choices and a good buffet.

The location is very good, the hotel is literally on the beach and great for the dog because he can be off-lead as soon as you leave the hotel. Many of the rooms have sea views.

We did not use the gym or indoor pool; the gym was small but well equipped with a running machine, stair master and a new Concept II rowing machine as well as a small mat area with a good selection of dumb bells. The gym was air conditioned and cool enough for exercise.

We would be happy to return with the dog for another short break.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ps888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thank you for your kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for a short break by the sea and you couldn't really get any closer!
We had room 113 which had an ajoining room for our son. There were not enough plugs for him to use his x box so the reception kindly provided an adaptor lead.
Room was spacious and clean with a nice view of the sea. We used the pool and lesure centre which was well kept and very clean.
We ate in the ajoining pub which was quite expensive for average food! Fpund the drinks quite expensive too but all in all a very pleasant place to spend a few hours.
Breakfast was ok but nothing special.
All in all a not too expensive place to stay by the beach and a couple of hours drive from our house.
Very nice public areas and good service.

Room Tip: room 113 is great for families!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thinwhiteduke0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, reviews and comments are always appreciated and in fact used as a tool for improvement.

Room 11 is a lovely family room and certainly enjoys excellent sea views. I am pleased to learn we were able to assist your son with his Xbox requirements.

We have taken on board your comments about The Cooden Tavern and hope you will find improvement on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Visited the Cooden beach hotel for Sunday lunch today with my parents. Being a young family the initial impression on arrival was we were out of place, the majority of other guests were probably of a pensionable age. Having the only very young children there, we were very concious of the noise they were making in an otherwise very quite (audio level, was busy) restaurant. That aside, the food and service was really good and the attentiveness of the waiter was spot on. Not too much to be intrusive, but not too scarce to be leave you waiting, a rare skill and sadly missing in a lot of restaurants. Would I take my children there again at their current age (under 5), probably not. Would I go there without the children, yes without a doubt, great food, great service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank 994SteveG994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Thank you for your review, we are very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your carvery lunch and thank you for your kind comments about our staff.

We are sorry to learn that you felt uncomfortable with your young children, we always welcome children at the hotel and have a number of high chairs available for them. You may be interested to learn that we are at present working on a new organic food children's menu which we hope to have in place in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bexhill-on-Sea
5.4 mi away
PowderMills Hotel & Restaurant
5.7 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
897 reviews
4.2 mi away
Priory Court Hotel
Priory Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pevensey
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
23.5 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
7.1 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cooden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cooden Beach Hotel

Address: Cooden Sea Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 4TT, England (Formerly Jarvis Cooden Beach)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Bexhill-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
Price Range: £88 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooden Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928 the Hotel is a building of character which has undergone several changes of ownership in its time. The beginning of 2005 was the year the current owner took over the hotel and refurbished at that time also adding a beautiful beachside terrace to enjoy refreshments overlooking the sea and stunning sunsets over the Sussex Downs. The Hotel continues with an upgrade plan throughout all areas. The Beachside Restaurant with its sea view, Traditional English Menu and Sunday Carvery also The Cooden Tavern is a Bistro style eatery to cater for all guest requirements as well as a bar and lounge. For those who would like to relax with a swim the Leisure Club with heated pool, sauna, spa, steam room and gym is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cooden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cooden Beach
The Cooden Beach Hotel Bexhill-On-Sea, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing