We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel excellent and for a wedding venue......................amazing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cooden Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My partner and I have just returned from Cooden Beach Hotel after attending a truly wonderful wedding which in itself was a fantastic day/evening. The ceremony and function room was intimate spaceous and beautifully decorated. We felt that the hotel and everything and the staff could not do enough for the guests. The accomodation especially room 111 exceeded expectations its was clean tidy and very comfortable with a balcony too, I have stayed at The Grand and would rather another night at Cooden (honestly). As for the food especially the breakfast you will not be dissapointed. The hotel is in a great location and you are truly spoiled with being so close to the beach, shame about the fierce tide and strong winds but that did not ruin the time spent there.........nothing could have. So, all in all if you want to go by the opinion of a couple who says what we truly feel then consider this hotel whether it be a weekend break or having the wedding day you have always dreamed of......pick up the phone and get booking!!

Room Tip: It has to be 111 but all other guests were pleased with their rooms..................the whole weddi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salvagehuntersme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience at The Cooden Beach Hotel.

We are delighted you enjoyed the hotel and a Wedding with us, we have a highly experienced Wedding team who take great pride in ensuring each Wedding is a special experience for the people involved and they appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (993)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

798 - 804 of 993 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed for one night only. I had booked a sea view double for £160 and expected something special. The room (207) was very small and we complained. We were moved to a "family room" (205) with a double and single bed and no real sea view. We were however given a credit for £40.

The rooms are very modest (think Travel Lodge) but it did have a good bathroom with excellent water pressure for the shower. It was clean but uninspiring (and over-priced) and there were minor maintenance issues - curtain hooks missing, tarnished mirror in bathroom, no plating on sink plug. . It was also positioned over the room where a wedding party was taking place, so no sleep until midnight when the music stopped. We could also hear the water refilling in a water tank above our heads!

There was a large wedding party and I got the impression that this is how the hotel functioned i.e. wedding parties a speciality. There was certainly lots of confetti everywhere!

The position is excellent and there is a newer extension where all of the rooms looked like they would be sea facing.

On the plus side the breakfast was good and the breakfast room pleasant. Efficient East European staff.

Room Tip: Try one of the newer sea view rooms, certainly don't accept 205 or 207
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robert_hsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thnk you for taking the time to submit your review, we take reviews very seriously and use the comments as tools to improve our standards where ever possible.

The maintenence issues raised have been passed to the Maintenance Manager for his attention.

Our rack rate for a Sea View room is £160 which falls mid way between the highest and lowest for similar hotels in the Bexhill, Eastbourne and Hastings areas.

The Cooden Beach Hotel is a popular venue for Weddings and Conferences but we are primarily an hotel and take our hotel services very seriously.

Within our waiting staff we do have 1 Turkish lady, the remainder being British, thank you for your feedback and we will pass your kind comments on to her.

The Sea House (new section) has 4 sea view rooms and 4 car park facing rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed here, did not match the fantastic position.
Room not good.
Stair carpet was in need of vacuuming, dirt and confetti on tread when we arrived. Still there 5 days later!
Beautiful site shame about upkeep.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Merdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit your Review, we are very sorry to learn you were not happy with your room, as an older building of character the rooms are all different and diverse in size and shape but all of equal standard in furnishing and decor.

As a popular Wedding venue confetti is in regular use, unfortunately on a windy day it can blow indoors. We have a team of Front of House cleaners who vacuum daily and often several times a day, we have drawn attention to our clearning team with regard to this oversight on the stair tread and hope this will not re occur in the future.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed for 3 nights to enjoy the hotel and the area.
Our room was a double at £140 per night. It was rather small and I did not expect to find a shortage of headroom in the shower due to the sloping roof in the en-suite. I complained and received a small refund, but they said they were not able to change my room as the following day was booked up with a business bookings. Hot water took some time to arrive along the pipes, sometimes not becoming hot at all. I felt the price was too high for what I received.

The restaurant was OK, quiet on the night we went. The waiter went out of his way to obtain gluten free bread for me. We enjoyed our meals. Breakfasts were adequate, but below the standard a hotel like this should aspire towards.

The pool is rather small for a swim. Half of it it is too shallow for swimming - aimed at children.

There did not seem to be a visible manager. No-one in overall charge. No one ensuring the staff were on task and the guests were happy. The reception staff had a public disagreement with one of the repair staff.

The focus here is on the revenue from business meetings and weddings, etc. As a holidaymaker, I felt we were not the first priority.

There are quite a few valid criticisms in other reviews, but I did not sense any response to them in the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevor12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit the a review.

As an older building of character the rooms are all different and diverse in size alhough they are furnished and decorated to the same standard, the same can be said for the bathrooms and it is unfortunate that the bathroom in your allocated room was unsiutable for your requirements and for this we extend our apologies.

We are very aware that many people suffer from food intolerances and allergies and always do our best to cater for these requirements, with advance notice we can work with guests to ease any concerns they may have in this area. Our breakfasts are cooked to order and we are proud to be serving local award winning sausages with our breakfasts.

There is always a Duty Manager in the building, the Duty Manager on the day of your visit may have been the Manager of another department but the restaurant will have had at least a Supervisor on duty.

Although the hotel is a popular venue for weddings and conferences we never forget that we are an hotel and therefore strive to please our hotel guests during their stay and are very sorry to learn you find this not to be the case, we will implement further training in this area of our customer service staff training.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Came here to visit a friend and stayed here because it was the only hotel in the area. The location is amazing, right on the beach, I am not sure there is any other hotel that has this benefit along this stretch of coast. The reception staff were welcoming, and check in was pleasant. The room was spacious but I felt I stepped back in time straight to the 1980s! Décor is dated. Room was not too far away just at the top of a staircase. Was surprised the hotel had no lift and no porter, and bar staff were called upon to carry my bag to my room, a very unusual arrangement. The hotel had 2 different restaurants, breakfast was in the smaller restaurant, the room seemed very tiny for a restaurant of this size. Breakfast was adequate, not quite the standard of breakfast in other hotels, very dated with value tinned fruit, in abundance. Again a dated service of ordering everything, and being inundated with questions first thing in the morning. Don’t start me on the toast, for the two mornings I was there, it came in 2 colours, anaemic or cremated! I would have preferred to have carved my own bread from a fresh loaf which almost every other hotel does. The evening meal, on the first night I ate in the small restaurant, which had increased in size for the evening meal, just a shame the clientel hadn’t because there may have been a bit of atmosphere, as I am convinced there would have been more life in a morgue. I felt like a Goldfish in a bowl with the Manager and waitress just watching me, waiting to pounce on my plate, both looking miserable and bored. The food was expensive for what it was, and it was average. The second night I was there, I decided to try the larger pub restaurant. This was lovely, the staff in there, couldn’t do enough for you, the service was quick, not imposing and as for the food, this appears to be better than the restaurant and at half the price! It was a very relaxed atmosphere and the food tasted better than what I had the night before in the other restaurant.I will return to the hotel because there is nowhere else, but if I do I would eat in the pub/restaurant bit as it is better, just a shame they do not do breakfast in there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the Cooden Beach Hotel, feedback is an important tool in the on going life of the hotel for improvement.

The bulding unfortunately doesn't lend itself to a lift but our bar staff double as porters and are more than happy to assist with luggage up and down the stairs and in fact provide any other assistance our guests may require.

Breakfast is served from the Beachside Restaurant with views of the beach, we provide a continental buffet selection for guests to help themselves to :- Fresh Fruit Platter, tinned (but NOT value range) grapefruit segments, mandarin segments, figs and prunes, freshly baked croissants and danish pastries, a choice of 4 different fruit juices, selection of yoghurts, kellogs cereal selection individually boxed and a choice of brown, white or fruit bread to be toasted. In addition to this we offer a fully cooked to order breakfast which includes a Full English which includes local award winning Sussex special pork sausages or scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, eggs benedict, 2 egg omettes with a choice of fillings, grilled kippers or poached haddock with poached eggs or porridge - we like to think this is a little more than adequate.

We were sorry to learn you found the Beachside Restaurant to be lacking in atmosphere, it is our more formal Restaurant, we are delighted that you enjoyed the Cooden Tavern.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We booked this hotel for two nights. Although its right on the beach with lovely views there is nothing else around.
We booked the executive room, this was a nice room but it was clearly a disabled room with a wet room. I was disappointed by this as I do like to have a bath.
The room was clean and have a lovely balcony with a nice view. We struggled to pick up the wifi or even our own mobile network. The bed was comfortable and the room had an ironing board and iron which is always helpful.
One day while we was there it was pouring down with rain and the staff were very helpful and gave us a lovely big umbrella which was a great help.
The spa area was lovely and we used it every day. There was a nice small gym also that looked quite nice but we didn't use that.
We found the food in the pub and restaurant ok but nothing special and a bit over priced. The breakfast was lovely and we really enjoyed this.
Over all a nice clean hotel but I wouldn't return. It was a very busy hotel so it is quite popular.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petal1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, we always appreciate feedback from our guests.

Whilst we appreciate the hotel is in a quiet area of Cooden we are located next to the train station which has regular services to Hastings, Eastbourne and Brighton.

This is a bit of a 'mobile black spot', however our free wifi should have been working well, any problems with this and our I.T. expert can usually rectify this in a very shot time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Went for lunch in their beach side restaurant. Lovely location overlooking the beach.

My starter order of avocado with crayfish tails arrived as chili prawns which wasn't a problem as they were very nice.

For the main, I chose their 'signature dish' of 'Posh Fish & Chips' which was described as locally sourced cod fish in tempura batter with chips and mushy peas.

The batter was more like mashed up cardboard and after hacking through the impenetrable coating, there was a tiny portion of thin, tail end fillet of fish (Coley?). It was dry, grey and had to be scrapped off the batter. This was clearly frozen fish and not the 'locally sourced' product as described - unless the frozen food section of Tesco counts as local sourcing.

The mushy peas had a crust on the top and were not at all appetising.

The response from the kitchen was less than satisfactory. The message back from the chef was that a bit of batter had fallen off the fish and the oil had dried that bit out - never mind that the whole thing was dried out and disgusting. He also stated that the fish was fresh which it clearly was not.

To serve something like that as a 'signature dish' says something about the establishment. Any local 'chippie' would have provided much better for less than half the price.

No adjustment to bill and we will certainly not be returning.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, feedback is always appreciated.

We are very sorry to learn that the Posh Fish & Chips were not up to standard, should you have sent them back a fresh meal would have been made for you.

We have fresh fish delivered to the hotel daily by a local fish monger who purchases directly from Hastings Fish Market daily, we do not have frozen fish or coley but serve fresh Cod or Haddock.

We would always appreciate the opportunity to provide a new meal rather than have a dissatisfied guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bexhill-on-Sea
5.4 mi away
PowderMills Hotel & Restaurant
5.7 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
897 reviews
4.2 mi away
Priory Court Hotel
Priory Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pevensey
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
23.5 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
7.1 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cooden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cooden Beach Hotel

Address: Cooden Sea Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 4TT, England (Formerly Jarvis Cooden Beach)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Bexhill-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
Price Range: £88 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooden Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928 the Hotel is a building of character which has undergone several changes of ownership in its time. The beginning of 2005 was the year the current owner took over the hotel and refurbished at that time also adding a beautiful beachside terrace to enjoy refreshments overlooking the sea and stunning sunsets over the Sussex Downs. The Hotel continues with an upgrade plan throughout all areas. The Beachside Restaurant with its sea view, Traditional English Menu and Sunday Carvery also The Cooden Tavern is a Bistro style eatery to cater for all guest requirements as well as a bar and lounge. For those who would like to relax with a swim the Leisure Club with heated pool, sauna, spa, steam room and gym is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cooden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cooden Beach
The Cooden Beach Hotel Bexhill-On-Sea, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing