We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location but some hidden disasters”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cooden Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location but some hidden disasters”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a friends wedding , absolutely beautiful setting right on the beach, however once greeted by very friendly staff and was pointed to our room, was disappointed to find we was in an outer building facing a train station with callouts frequently, a fast road and a carpark, not quite the setting I was expecting, had lots of problems with the door cards and could not get the cold water to work !! the room was of a satisfactory standard and breakfast was some wait to be served but very nice once finally received it.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view !! not all rooms have the beautiful setting one would expect with this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxylady67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, we are sorry to learn you were disappointed with your experience.

As with all hotels we have a front and a rear so rooms will have a split between outlooks. The hotel does benefit from a car park at the rear and a nearby train station (trains do stop before midnight) and a number of rooms do have this outlook.

I would question the 'fast road' as it is little more than a country lane where 2 cars pass slowly with care and the hotel is situated on a junction.

The rooms in the Sea House are modern rooms and therefore perhaps not to everyone's taste, we were sorry to learn of problems with the key cards and our maintenance Manager has looked into this.

Breakfast is cooked to order and we think it is worth a short wait for a freshly prepared breakfast.

We do appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel and we can use your review to improve where possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    255
    126
    70
    40
See reviews for
265
279
62
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We booked a family room for myself my husband and two children. We had a double bed, single bed and camp bed. All beds were extremely comfortable. The room looked a little dated, but we could forgive this as the comfort, prompt help from staff and general atmosphere made up for it.
The sea view is lovely and the room was very quiet, other than a bit of noise from people outside.
Breakfast was excellent! We felt it was one of the best hotels we have visited for the selection and quality of food. Bar service was also very good.
The only thing I would have liked was a small fridge in the room. Other than that, it was a very good stay. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janine417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, we are delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on our breakfast and award winning sausages and are pleased to learn you enjoyed the breakfast.

A plan for the bedrooms to be upgraded in the not too distant future in on the table and your suggestion has been noted.

Many thanks for taking the time to share your views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Our daughter arranged her wedding at this hotel. It could not have been better. The hotel is a "one off", not part of a group, the building is not state of the art but satisfactory in every respect. The food was well presented and well cooked. The staff could not have been more accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. We intend to return in the future, not part of a wedding party!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, we are delighted that your daughters wedding went well and was enjoyed by all. Many thanks for taking the time to submit a review, it is always appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding. Food was excellent, staff very attentive, and the hotel was very comfortable. Would love to return.
Location right on the beach.
Food was very tasty, and presented nicely, no long waits for your food to appear.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loulou024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Cooden Beach Hotel and hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Although we stayed in the adjoining property it was very comfotable and we had 2 good sized rooms for single use. There is good Car Parking within the grounds. We enjoyed lovely breakfasts freshly cooked. Staff were very attentive polite and helpful. Evening Meals were good . Very convenient for trains. We hope to return there.

Room Tip: As we were in an adjoining property we cannot comment on the hotel rooms . We accessed our property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linton151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, we are pleased to learn you enjoyd your stay at the Cooden Beach Hotel and hope to welcome you once again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My partner and I have just returned from Cooden Beach Hotel after attending a truly wonderful wedding which in itself was a fantastic day/evening. The ceremony and function room was intimate spaceous and beautifully decorated. We felt that the hotel and everything and the staff could not do enough for the guests. The accomodation especially room 111 exceeded expectations its was clean tidy and very comfortable with a balcony too, I have stayed at The Grand and would rather another night at Cooden (honestly). As for the food especially the breakfast you will not be dissapointed. The hotel is in a great location and you are truly spoiled with being so close to the beach, shame about the fierce tide and strong winds but that did not ruin the time spent there.........nothing could have. So, all in all if you want to go by the opinion of a couple who says what we truly feel then consider this hotel whether it be a weekend break or having the wedding day you have always dreamed of......pick up the phone and get booking!!

Room Tip: It has to be 111 but all other guests were pleased with their rooms..................the whole weddi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salvagehuntersme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience at The Cooden Beach Hotel.

We are delighted you enjoyed the hotel and a Wedding with us, we have a highly experienced Wedding team who take great pride in ensuring each Wedding is a special experience for the people involved and they appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed for one night only. I had booked a sea view double for £160 and expected something special. The room (207) was very small and we complained. We were moved to a "family room" (205) with a double and single bed and no real sea view. We were however given a credit for £40.

The rooms are very modest (think Travel Lodge) but it did have a good bathroom with excellent water pressure for the shower. It was clean but uninspiring (and over-priced) and there were minor maintenance issues - curtain hooks missing, tarnished mirror in bathroom, no plating on sink plug. . It was also positioned over the room where a wedding party was taking place, so no sleep until midnight when the music stopped. We could also hear the water refilling in a water tank above our heads!

There was a large wedding party and I got the impression that this is how the hotel functioned i.e. wedding parties a speciality. There was certainly lots of confetti everywhere!

The position is excellent and there is a newer extension where all of the rooms looked like they would be sea facing.

On the plus side the breakfast was good and the breakfast room pleasant. Efficient East European staff.

Room Tip: Try one of the newer sea view rooms, certainly don't accept 205 or 207
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robert_hsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thnk you for taking the time to submit your review, we take reviews very seriously and use the comments as tools to improve our standards where ever possible.

The maintenence issues raised have been passed to the Maintenance Manager for his attention.

Our rack rate for a Sea View room is £160 which falls mid way between the highest and lowest for similar hotels in the Bexhill, Eastbourne and Hastings areas.

The Cooden Beach Hotel is a popular venue for Weddings and Conferences but we are primarily an hotel and take our hotel services very seriously.

Within our waiting staff we do have 1 Turkish lady, the remainder being British, thank you for your feedback and we will pass your kind comments on to her.

The Sea House (new section) has 4 sea view rooms and 4 car park facing rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bexhill-on-Sea
5.4 mi away
PowderMills Country House Hotel
5.7 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
8.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
7.1 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
8.4 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cooden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cooden Beach Hotel

Property: The Cooden Beach Hotel
Address: Cooden Sea Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 4TT, England (Formerly Jarvis Cooden Beach)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Bexhill-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooden Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928 the Hotel is a building of character which has undergone several changes of ownership in its time. The beginning of 2005 was the year the current owner took over the hotel and refurbished at that time also adding a beautiful beachside terrace to enjoy refreshments overlooking the sea and stunning sunsets over the Sussex Downs. The Hotel continues with an upgrade plan throughout all areas. The Beachside Restaurant with its sea view, Traditional English Menu and Sunday Carvery also The Cooden Tavern is a Bistro style eatery to cater for all guest requirements as well as a bar and lounge. For those who would like to relax with a swim the Leisure Club with heated pool, sauna, spa, steam room and gym is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cooden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cooden Beach
The Cooden Beach Hotel Bexhill-On-Sea, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing