We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr & Mrs Colwell Wedding 2nd August 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cooden Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr & Mrs Colwell Wedding 2nd August 2013”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We had the best weekend of our life. Our wedding was the perfect day and we could not fault the wedding team at all. The hotel rooms were lovely and the staff were all friendly and gave fantastic service. Jenny the general manager is amazing and she made our whole wedding journey run like clockwork. She should be very proud of her team and hotel. Thank you all so much. We will be returning for many more events. See u all soon

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with everyone.

We are always aware that each Wedding is such an important day for the Bride, Groom and their families so work hard to make sure it is an unforgettable experience for all the right reasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    271
    135
    73
    42
See reviews for
285
302
62
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Three nights to include a family party for 85 in the Tavern; the throng fitted the owners declared constituency and, no denying, everyone was very happy. After Bexhill County Grammar, I escaped to Dartmouth. Bexhill must be the capital of the Costa Geriatrica. The bunglow dwellers do not use the Cooden Beach. Those who live off them do. Builders and roofers are bronzed. Solicitors, undertakers, financial advisers, estate agents and bankers are more pale. Shaved heads, slogganed tee shirts and bizarre shorts predominate, but they are content and well provided for. Party goers have discounted rooms immediately above the noise and fumes. Our room was big with a good bathroom, of which the door could not be closed. Two lights down and reported, but no remedy. Keep grinning; you get the picture?

Room Tip: Not above the party venues
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank embleton07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
A somewhat unfair view of Bexhill.

The Town in general and the Hotel in particular are really not recognisable from this description.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

A bit delayed but have to say what a great day we had for our wedding in April this year. As the bride, I stayed the night before so I could get ready. Had a nice room with a large balcony from which I could see the beach. Plenty of room for myself and my daughter to get made up on the big day. Awoke to rain but this cleared long enough in the afternoon for some beach photos, even if it was a bit windy! The staff were extremely helpful all day and the food was excellent. We had per ordered meals but the hotel still allowed some guests to change their choice on the day.
The value for money for the wedding package was very good with lots of usual extras included!
To finish the day we were in the honeymoon suite which overlooked the sea And it was a lovely view to wake to in the morning.
Jenny and her team all worked hard to make the day special
Having read some some reviews posted that are very negative, I felt this needed to be said as it is not as bad as they state. When you book into a hotel in a building as old as this with all its character you should realise that it may not be as modern as some new hotels as this would spoil the character of the hotel!
Thanks Jenny and team, have recommened you to a friend for her sons wedding!
Carol and tim Greenfield, 26th April 2013

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cg260413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for your kind comments, they are much appreciated as is your understanding of the keeping the hotel in character with the building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We both had very fresh dressed crab with new potatoes and a salad, which was quite delicious. They now have live cooking there, normally with two chefs, who were very courteous, together with the bar personnel. They have changed their tables and chairs, of which are very comfortable. Altogether an exceptional evening.
Today, we also attended a funeral reception and I must say the wine and food was excellent. Hot and cold buffet. We were in the main dining room with lovely views out to sea. Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments about the 'New Look' Cooden Tavern and the open kitchen and your meal as well as your comments about the Funeral Reception you attended.

We are delighted that all went well and thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

As regular visitors to the Sussex coast we have often passed this hotel and wondered what it would be like to stay.
We booked a sea view double for an overnight birthday treat and could not bring ourselves to pass the night there.
It seems that the hotel caters mainly for the elderly and for wedding receptions, one was taking place on our arrival. Our first impression on entering the room was that it was tired, cramped, and more than a little grubby. There was a huge tear in our net curtains and they could do with a good clean too. The balcony/patio offered a lovely view of the marquee and tables where the wedding guests would be entertained. A note in the hotel brochure informed us that the reception could continue until midnight !!
Beware, if you like quiet seaside accommodation this is NOT the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VSGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I cannot praise this venue- staff and location enough! It made our wedding even more amazing- the rooms were fantastic the location is outstanding and Jenny and the team made us feel very very special x the food was incredible and the organisation was immense thank you all

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, we are delighted that your Wedding went so well and was enjoyed by all.

We appreciate the time taken to submit a review as we work hard to make each Wedding perfect for the Bride, Groom and their families and love to hear that the event was enjoyed by those involved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I would this zero out of five, the fact that you have to give it at least one gives this hotel to much credit.

Everything is dated, this hotel clearly thinks a lot of itself. The best of two hotels in Cooden does not mean a lot. While attending a wedding in Bexhill, I wanted to book somewhere with a more to offer than a budget hotel. The price point was high and I expected a service and services to match. I could not be more wrong.

For £140 we got a miserable staff, a tiny unclean room at the end of an unclean warren of corridors with z-beds and ironing boards in the littering our trek. The bathroom was for hobbits and i could only stand up in the center. The bath and shower did not work after nine o'clock.

I would never stay here again and I will go out of my way to let people know what a disappointing hovel this is.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KingPeche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bexhill-on-Sea
8.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,589 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
833 reviews
6.2 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,171 reviews
5.4 mi away
PowderMills Country House Hotel
15.8 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cooden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cooden Beach Hotel

Property: The Cooden Beach Hotel
Address: Cooden Sea Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 4TT, England (Formerly Jarvis Cooden Beach)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Bexhill-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooden Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928 the Hotel is a building of character which has undergone several changes of ownership in its time. The beginning of 2005 was the year the current owner took over the hotel and refurbished at that time also adding a beautiful beachside terrace to enjoy refreshments overlooking the sea and stunning sunsets over the Sussex Downs. The Hotel continues with an upgrade plan throughout all areas. The Beachside Restaurant with its sea view, Traditional English Menu and Sunday Carvery also The Cooden Tavern is a Bistro style eatery to cater for all guest requirements as well as a bar and lounge. For those who would like to relax with a swim the Leisure Club with heated pool, sauna, spa, steam room and gym is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cooden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cooden Beach
The Cooden Beach Hotel Bexhill-On-Sea, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing