We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but food not up to standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cooden Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My family have stayed at the hotel 2 or 3 times recently when visiting from London. Each time, myself and my wife have joined them for dinner.

The hotel itself is great. Staff are friendly, the bar and the terrace are a great place to have a drink and relax. Rooms are dated, but clean and comfy. Breakfast is, by all accounts, very good.

But dinner in the restaurant has been consistently disappointing, and our most recent visit (this week) was no exception.

Last time, our fish in cream sauce tasted like a "boil in the bag" meal. I'm pretty sure it was, to be honest, unless the sauce came from a packet of powder This time, our risotto was clearly either reheated from lunchtime or microwaved from frozen. It was a solid lump, the consistency of stiff mashed potato, that someone had tried to dress up with a bit of (bottled) balsamic vinegar drizzle and some fried mushrooms. The fish and chips for which the hotel is apparently famed were, on the other hand, lovely, as were the crayfish cocktail starters.

The whole menu is in major need of some serious thought. Ditch the stuff that you clearly can't cook, and concentrate on the stuff that you can.

We'll be back again, I'm sure. But not for dinner.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frida Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for your review and kind comments about the hotel and staff.

You mention the hotel is dated, we are in fact undergoing constant measures of upgrading while endeavouring to keep to the character of the building, if ultra modern is your preference you will find us a little more homely.

You also mentioned your disappointment with your restaurant experience, our fish is from a local supplier as you would expect with our proximity to Hastings and the fishing fleet and market, we do not serve 'boil in the bag items'. Following your comments about the risotto is it not longer being served, you will be interested to learn it was not in fact served with balsamic vinegar but a Shallot and Onion Coulis.

During November this year we served in excess of 4,700 meals throughout the hotel (this figure does not include breakfast) and less than a handful of people made us aware of any problems they experienced, we therefore feel you were most unfortunate in this instance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (960)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

731 - 737 of 960 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

I highly recommend this hotel, went on a Sunday and got a late booking direct with the hotel. The room cost me £40 for B&B for a single guest, I was the upgraded to a double room at no extra charge. Fantastic staff and the most filling breakfast Id ever had in a hotel, and very nice too. Of course I went out of season and the Sunday is their cheapest rate, but £40 and right on the beach, what more could you ask for, plus a late bar! Also had a swimming pool and sauna.;

Room Tip: Didn't have a seaview room, but worth the extra,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for your kind comments.

Our Sunday Night offer is certainly worth taking advantage of and the Reception Team will always upgrade when and where possible.

It is our belief that Breakfast should set you up for the day, we take pride in our cook to order breakfast. It is good to hear this has been enjoyed.

We appreciate the time you have taken to post this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed here because the B & B we had booked had plumbing problems.
Overall our stay was fine apart from the tepid water for a shower at 08.30.
There was a disco that finished at 01.00 but that did not trouble us because we arrived late.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time for review the hotel, we are pleased we were here in your case of need following a problem with your planned B&B.

Our Maintenance Manager has been made aware that a problem arose with water temperature and is looking into this with an aim to rectify for our guests, Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

It is highly unusual for a function to end at 1 am, this doesn't happen more than a couple of times a year and that includes New Year's Eve! Functions usually finish at midnight. It is good to know that you were not disturbed by this unusual timing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Overcooked and over priced.
The roast joints looked good but the pork and turkey tasted the same, the veg looked good but again not very tasty, the cauliflower cheese was sour. However the main problem was that the food was warm- lukewarm. The roast potatoes were dried out and lukewarm.
The Salmon moose starter and Ginger cheesecake were very nice (? Not cooked on site). Washed down by a small glass of house white at £4.00 ! - our party of 4 were all in agreement - a disappointment.
I will be having my Sunday Roast elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank teresa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We always hope that we can learn from those who have taken the time to review.

We were really most sorry to learn of your experience with our Carvery, this was a most surprising review as we usually in receipt of high praise for our Carvery. The chef's have been informed of your comments and are working on a solution to the warm food. We did receive other comments on the day in connection with the meats and cauliflower cheese which did oppose your personal view, we can only conclude that we are all different with different taste.

We are most sorry however you did not enjoy your meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We had a lovely stay at The Cooden Beach Hotel. We upgraded to a room that overlooked the sea. We went to a wedding at the hotel, which was absolutely beautiful. Our room was fine, not luxurious but functional and clean. We had a nice bathroom. And a beautiful breakfast. All staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barb491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for your most kind comments, we are delighted you enjoyed the wedding you attended at the Hotel.

We pride ourselves on a good Breakfast, after all it sets you up for the day and are proud to serve award winning local sausages, its always good to hear that Breakfast was enjoyed.

We appreciate the time you have taken to review the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

A friendly and very helpful welcome on arrival. The staff in all areas of the hotel are friendly and helpful. The service throughout our stay was very good. The room was large and very comfortable. The refurbished bathrooms are well appointed. The rooms and all public areas are spotlessly clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area. It is convenient for getting out and about and the train station is only 100 yards away. Despite its closeness there is no noise from the trains in the hotel. We are already planning a return visit in the spring.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adelphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for your kind comments, they are much appreciated.

A worry for a lot of people is the closeness of the trains so we appreciate you pointing out that we don't suffer from rail noise issues.

We look forward to welcoming you once more on your return next spring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed for a night in the annex rooms at the back of the hotel and there was no wifi or mobile phone reception in the room, Also the shower mixer did not work so the shower was unusable as scalding water (the hot water in the tap is also far too hot). Room clean and functional but would not like to stay longer. The food in the restaurant was reasonable and the waitress service excellent. Reception staff need to be more welcoming

Room Tip: Room 707 has a view of the car park and we were woken early by the bin lorry. Also opposite the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justonemoreholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for your review, we appreciate the time you have taken to provide this feedback.

We note that you had a problem with our WIFI this was working well on Monday at lunch time so must have gone down after that - we will get our IT man on to this.

This corner of Bexhill is a mobile black spot which is rather frustrating for all, particularly residents!

We appreciate your feedback on the shower and staff as we are able to act on this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bexhill-on-Sea
5.7 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
861 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,645 reviews
7.8 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#4 of 40 in Eastbourne
868 reviews
6.2 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
17.2 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cooden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cooden Beach Hotel

Address: Cooden Sea Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 4TT, England (Formerly Jarvis Cooden Beach)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Bexhill-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
Price Range: £117 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooden Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928 the Hotel is a building of character which has undergone several changes of ownership in its time. The beginning of 2005 was the year the current owner took over the hotel and refurbished at that time also adding a beautiful beachside terrace to enjoy refreshments overlooking the sea and stunning sunsets over the Sussex Downs. The Hotel continues with an upgrade plan throughout all areas. The Beachside Restaurant with its sea view, Traditional English Menu and Sunday Carvery also The Cooden Tavern is a Bistro style eatery to cater for all guest requirements as well as a bar and lounge. For those who would like to relax with a swim the Leisure Club with heated pool, sauna, spa, steam room and gym is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cooden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cooden Beach
The Cooden Beach Hotel Bexhill-On-Sea, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing