We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shelter from the storm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cooden Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
SOUTHAMPTON
Level Contributor
151 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Shelter from the storm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Only a brief stay here in stormy December, but everything from the friendly and efficient welcome at Reception to the final check out and good-byes indicated that this hotel was quite a find. We took advantage of a "special offer" upgrade to a more spacious room, which had a wide expanse of window...well insulated against the gale outside...with a sea view and a standard of comfort and cleanliness which we could not fault. The only small failings were the lack of a room-safe (though there are security facilities at Reception) and the need for "Mind Your Head" signs on a couple of low beams over stairwells. If you are over 6 feet tall you will find out where these are needed without me telling you. The pool/spa area trusts guests to look after it themselves, as it is unattended by staff, and the rules about its use were obviously well observed and the whole area was clean and uncluttered. The hotel has enough tourist-leaflet literature available to keep any visitor well briefed on the area, and already had the 2014 Bexhill Guide in stock! There always seemed to be enough friendly staff around to attend to guests' needs.....the breakfast staff were efficient and attentive, and the range of food on offer was quite extensive enough to meet most tastes. The dining room had great sea views and no piped music, so the whole atmosphere was very pleasant. When you match the room cost against the range and quality of facilities offered, the Cooden Beach is extremely good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank obsSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, it is much appreciated. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed the upgraded special offer - it's rather nice to watch the sea on a wild day from the comfort of your room.

We will look into the signage and thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    244
    123
    67
    38
See reviews for
253
270
58
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Had a lovely overnight stay at this hotel which was very reasonably priced for a double room with sea view (which was fantastic) and a four post bed. Staff were very friendly. Hotel clean. We ate in the bar restaurant and highly recommend the steak on the stone - food and drink very reasonably priced. Plenty of parking spaces. Overall a very good hotel.

Room Tip: For £10 extra it is well worth upgrading to sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndsey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the hotel and your kind comments, it is much appreciated. We are delighted you had such a good stay and enjoyed one of our new Steak Stones meals while you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

My family have stayed at the hotel 2 or 3 times recently when visiting from London. Each time, myself and my wife have joined them for dinner.

The hotel itself is great. Staff are friendly, the bar and the terrace are a great place to have a drink and relax. Rooms are dated, but clean and comfy. Breakfast is, by all accounts, very good.

But dinner in the restaurant has been consistently disappointing, and our most recent visit (this week) was no exception.

Last time, our fish in cream sauce tasted like a "boil in the bag" meal. I'm pretty sure it was, to be honest, unless the sauce came from a packet of powder This time, our risotto was clearly either reheated from lunchtime or microwaved from frozen. It was a solid lump, the consistency of stiff mashed potato, that someone had tried to dress up with a bit of (bottled) balsamic vinegar drizzle and some fried mushrooms. The fish and chips for which the hotel is apparently famed were, on the other hand, lovely, as were the crayfish cocktail starters.

The whole menu is in major need of some serious thought. Ditch the stuff that you clearly can't cook, and concentrate on the stuff that you can.

We'll be back again, I'm sure. But not for dinner.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frida Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for your review and kind comments about the hotel and staff.

You mention the hotel is dated, we are in fact undergoing constant measures of upgrading while endeavouring to keep to the character of the building, if ultra modern is your preference you will find us a little more homely.

You also mentioned your disappointment with your restaurant experience, our fish is from a local supplier as you would expect with our proximity to Hastings and the fishing fleet and market, we do not serve 'boil in the bag items'. Following your comments about the risotto is it not longer being served, you will be interested to learn it was not in fact served with balsamic vinegar but a Shallot and Onion Coulis.

During November this year we served in excess of 4,700 meals throughout the hotel (this figure does not include breakfast) and less than a handful of people made us aware of any problems they experienced, we therefore feel you were most unfortunate in this instance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I highly recommend this hotel, went on a Sunday and got a late booking direct with the hotel. The room cost me £40 for B&B for a single guest, I was the upgraded to a double room at no extra charge. Fantastic staff and the most filling breakfast Id ever had in a hotel, and very nice too. Of course I went out of season and the Sunday is their cheapest rate, but £40 and right on the beach, what more could you ask for, plus a late bar! Also had a swimming pool and sauna.;

Room Tip: Didn't have a seaview room, but worth the extra,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your kind comments.

Our Sunday Night offer is certainly worth taking advantage of and the Reception Team will always upgrade when and where possible.

It is our belief that Breakfast should set you up for the day, we take pride in our cook to order breakfast. It is good to hear this has been enjoyed.

We appreciate the time you have taken to post this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed here because the B & B we had booked had plumbing problems.
Overall our stay was fine apart from the tepid water for a shower at 08.30.
There was a disco that finished at 01.00 but that did not trouble us because we arrived late.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time for review the hotel, we are pleased we were here in your case of need following a problem with your planned B&B.

Our Maintenance Manager has been made aware that a problem arose with water temperature and is looking into this with an aim to rectify for our guests, Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

It is highly unusual for a function to end at 1 am, this doesn't happen more than a couple of times a year and that includes New Year's Eve! Functions usually finish at midnight. It is good to know that you were not disturbed by this unusual timing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Overcooked and over priced.
The roast joints looked good but the pork and turkey tasted the same, the veg looked good but again not very tasty, the cauliflower cheese was sour. However the main problem was that the food was warm- lukewarm. The roast potatoes were dried out and lukewarm.
The Salmon moose starter and Ginger cheesecake were very nice (? Not cooked on site). Washed down by a small glass of house white at £4.00 ! - our party of 4 were all in agreement - a disappointment.
I will be having my Sunday Roast elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teresa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We always hope that we can learn from those who have taken the time to review.

We were really most sorry to learn of your experience with our Carvery, this was a most surprising review as we usually in receipt of high praise for our Carvery. The chef's have been informed of your comments and are working on a solution to the warm food. We did receive other comments on the day in connection with the meats and cauliflower cheese which did oppose your personal view, we can only conclude that we are all different with different taste.

We are most sorry however you did not enjoy your meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We had a lovely stay at The Cooden Beach Hotel. We upgraded to a room that overlooked the sea. We went to a wedding at the hotel, which was absolutely beautiful. Our room was fine, not luxurious but functional and clean. We had a nice bathroom. And a beautiful breakfast. All staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for your most kind comments, we are delighted you enjoyed the wedding you attended at the Hotel.

We pride ourselves on a good Breakfast, after all it sets you up for the day and are proud to serve award winning local sausages, its always good to hear that Breakfast was enjoyed.

We appreciate the time you have taken to review the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bexhill-on-Sea
5.4 mi away
PowderMills Country House Hotel
8.4 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
8.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
16.0 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cooden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cooden Beach Hotel

Property: The Cooden Beach Hotel
Address: Cooden Sea Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 4TT, England (Formerly Jarvis Cooden Beach)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Bexhill-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooden Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928 the Hotel is a building of character which has undergone several changes of ownership in its time. The beginning of 2005 was the year the current owner took over the hotel and refurbished at that time also adding a beautiful beachside terrace to enjoy refreshments overlooking the sea and stunning sunsets over the Sussex Downs. The Hotel continues with an upgrade plan throughout all areas. The Beachside Restaurant with its sea view, Traditional English Menu and Sunday Carvery also The Cooden Tavern is a Bistro style eatery to cater for all guest requirements as well as a bar and lounge. For those who would like to relax with a swim the Leisure Club with heated pool, sauna, spa, steam room and gym is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cooden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cooden Beach
The Cooden Beach Hotel Bexhill-On-Sea, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing