We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gr8 staff. Gr8 beer. Not impressed with the bar meals.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cooden Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
Level Contributor
148 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Gr8 staff. Gr8 beer. Not impressed with the bar meals.”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We popped in on Monday lunchtime for a quick meal as the local pub was closed due to an electrical fault. The staff were friendly, polite and helpful. The selection and quality of beers available were great but we were not impressed with the bar meals. The best option was the fish and chips as the steak and Guinness pie was small and did not taste nice. The mixed veg were tasteless. We had to sit in Tavern part of the hotel, which seemed sad as the dining room overlooking the sea was empty.
The whole place looked empty. We will try elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikedixon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate the time you have taken.

We appreciate you kind comments about the staff and beer selection.

We were most sorry to learn of your disappointment with the bar meals particularly the pie as these are made fresh daily and are extremely popular.

The Beachside Restaurant was open but the lunch bookings had cancelled due to the appalling weather on the day, there would have been no problem with you dining in the Restaurant overlooking the sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    253
    124
    69
    38
See reviews for
258
276
61
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We have stayed here on several occasions and every time it has been excellent but this time it was even better, from the friendly and efficient check-in till we checked out three days later. We were a party of ten friends and family and I think I can speak for everyone we all had a great time.New years eve itself was a fabulous evening, the table looked beautiful and the food was excellent nothing had been forgotten right down to the piper to welcome in the New Year.
The weather was pretty rough but it didn't spoil our fun and we had a lovely walk into Hastings on the second day which was sunny. All in all a very happy and enjoyable time was had by all!

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in have been good, it's nice to have a sea view and for very little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay.

We are delighted that your party had a good break and enjoyed the New Year's Eve Gala Dinner.

Your kind comments are much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I first came to the Cooden Beach Hotel in 1994 when my kids were young. It has a great location right on the beach facing the English Channel a couple of miles west of Bexhill-on-Sea and about 30 minutes drive feast of Eastbourne. When the tide is low and the weather's fine, it makes for a wonderful location for the family and individuals alike.

This time, I was here on December 30th. The tide was in and the weather was foul. However, the Cooden Beach is also a lovely, cosy place to visit, even in mid-winter. I arrived about 5pm. The check-in was efficient and brisk (about 90 seconds) and the receptionist was very pleasant.

My room (121) was a double, even though I booked a single, so that was a pleasant surprise. The decor is neutral so, hopefully, should be comfortable for most. The bathroom was spacious with a bath and shower which compared favourably with the genuine single I was in four weeks previously (Room 102), which is very cosy but only has a shower.

The restaurant serves dinner at £17 for two courses and £20 for three. However, I chose to eat in the less formal Cooden Tavern which is part of the hotel building. I had gammon, chips & salad plus a 250ml glass of wine. It came to just over £14 which is enough but it's a relaxing place and the quality was good. The very pleasant and helpful attitude of the waitress also enhanced the experience.

I booked the room the night before my stay and got it for £40 including breakfast. I eventually booked it for the same price through Superbreaks who offer 9% cashback through Topcashback, so my nett outlay was around £36 which I thought was outstanding value.

I ordered the full English breakfast, which was excellent and included eggs made as you want, bacon, fried potatoes, mushrooms, tomatoes and beans, as well as toast served separately in a toast rack.

I've only ever been to this hotel in the summer prior to December 2013 but this was just as enjoyable and stress free as it always has been.

I would recommend, especially if you are visiting off season and are prepared to book late to get a good deal. For those with families, and if we have another decent summer, this is as good an option as travelling abroad.

It should be mentioned that the rooms are upstairs and the hotel doesn't have a lift/elevator.

Room Tip: They have a 1st floor family room with a wonderful sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike04021949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the hotel, we always appreciate the comments made as it helps improve our business.

It is our policy to upgrade whenever possible and we are delighted that you enjoyed your upgrade to a double room.

Thank you for your kind comments about your dining experience in both The Cooden Tavern for dinner and The Beachside Restaurant for breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHAMPTON
Level Contributor
151 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Only a brief stay here in stormy December, but everything from the friendly and efficient welcome at Reception to the final check out and good-byes indicated that this hotel was quite a find. We took advantage of a "special offer" upgrade to a more spacious room, which had a wide expanse of window...well insulated against the gale outside...with a sea view and a standard of comfort and cleanliness which we could not fault. The only small failings were the lack of a room-safe (though there are security facilities at Reception) and the need for "Mind Your Head" signs on a couple of low beams over stairwells. If you are over 6 feet tall you will find out where these are needed without me telling you. The pool/spa area trusts guests to look after it themselves, as it is unattended by staff, and the rules about its use were obviously well observed and the whole area was clean and uncluttered. The hotel has enough tourist-leaflet literature available to keep any visitor well briefed on the area, and already had the 2014 Bexhill Guide in stock! There always seemed to be enough friendly staff around to attend to guests' needs.....the breakfast staff were efficient and attentive, and the range of food on offer was quite extensive enough to meet most tastes. The dining room had great sea views and no piped music, so the whole atmosphere was very pleasant. When you match the room cost against the range and quality of facilities offered, the Cooden Beach is extremely good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank obsSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, it is much appreciated. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed the upgraded special offer - it's rather nice to watch the sea on a wild day from the comfort of your room.

We will look into the signage and thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Had a lovely overnight stay at this hotel which was very reasonably priced for a double room with sea view (which was fantastic) and a four post bed. Staff were very friendly. Hotel clean. We ate in the bar restaurant and highly recommend the steak on the stone - food and drink very reasonably priced. Plenty of parking spaces. Overall a very good hotel.

Room Tip: For £10 extra it is well worth upgrading to sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndsey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the hotel and your kind comments, it is much appreciated. We are delighted you had such a good stay and enjoyed one of our new Steak Stones meals while you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My family have stayed at the hotel 2 or 3 times recently when visiting from London. Each time, myself and my wife have joined them for dinner.

The hotel itself is great. Staff are friendly, the bar and the terrace are a great place to have a drink and relax. Rooms are dated, but clean and comfy. Breakfast is, by all accounts, very good.

But dinner in the restaurant has been consistently disappointing, and our most recent visit (this week) was no exception.

Last time, our fish in cream sauce tasted like a "boil in the bag" meal. I'm pretty sure it was, to be honest, unless the sauce came from a packet of powder This time, our risotto was clearly either reheated from lunchtime or microwaved from frozen. It was a solid lump, the consistency of stiff mashed potato, that someone had tried to dress up with a bit of (bottled) balsamic vinegar drizzle and some fried mushrooms. The fish and chips for which the hotel is apparently famed were, on the other hand, lovely, as were the crayfish cocktail starters.

The whole menu is in major need of some serious thought. Ditch the stuff that you clearly can't cook, and concentrate on the stuff that you can.

We'll be back again, I'm sure. But not for dinner.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frida Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for your review and kind comments about the hotel and staff.

You mention the hotel is dated, we are in fact undergoing constant measures of upgrading while endeavouring to keep to the character of the building, if ultra modern is your preference you will find us a little more homely.

You also mentioned your disappointment with your restaurant experience, our fish is from a local supplier as you would expect with our proximity to Hastings and the fishing fleet and market, we do not serve 'boil in the bag items'. Following your comments about the risotto is it not longer being served, you will be interested to learn it was not in fact served with balsamic vinegar but a Shallot and Onion Coulis.

During November this year we served in excess of 4,700 meals throughout the hotel (this figure does not include breakfast) and less than a handful of people made us aware of any problems they experienced, we therefore feel you were most unfortunate in this instance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I highly recommend this hotel, went on a Sunday and got a late booking direct with the hotel. The room cost me £40 for B&B for a single guest, I was the upgraded to a double room at no extra charge. Fantastic staff and the most filling breakfast Id ever had in a hotel, and very nice too. Of course I went out of season and the Sunday is their cheapest rate, but £40 and right on the beach, what more could you ask for, plus a late bar! Also had a swimming pool and sauna.;

Room Tip: Didn't have a seaview room, but worth the extra,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your kind comments.

Our Sunday Night offer is certainly worth taking advantage of and the Reception Team will always upgrade when and where possible.

It is our belief that Breakfast should set you up for the day, we take pride in our cook to order breakfast. It is good to hear this has been enjoyed.

We appreciate the time you have taken to post this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bexhill-on-Sea
5.4 mi away
PowderMills Country House Hotel
8.4 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
8.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
16.0 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cooden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cooden Beach Hotel

Property: The Cooden Beach Hotel
Address: Cooden Sea Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 4TT, England (Formerly Jarvis Cooden Beach)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Bexhill-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooden Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928 the Hotel is a building of character which has undergone several changes of ownership in its time. The beginning of 2005 was the year the current owner took over the hotel and refurbished at that time also adding a beautiful beachside terrace to enjoy refreshments overlooking the sea and stunning sunsets over the Sussex Downs. The Hotel continues with an upgrade plan throughout all areas. The Beachside Restaurant with its sea view, Traditional English Menu and Sunday Carvery also The Cooden Tavern is a Bistro style eatery to cater for all guest requirements as well as a bar and lounge. For those who would like to relax with a swim the Leisure Club with heated pool, sauna, spa, steam room and gym is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cooden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cooden Beach
The Cooden Beach Hotel Bexhill-On-Sea, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing