We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a great place for an evening out.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cooden Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cooden Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
East Sussex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not a great place for an evening out.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We went to the Cooden Beach Hotel last night for a meal to celebrate my birthday,8 adults and 2 children. We booked for the restaurant,which is in reality the function room, consequently the room is partly carpeted and partly laminated floor. We were sat at trestle tables, as was another large party, on the laminated area. It felt like we were in a canteen, although the tables were beautifully laid there was absolutely no atmosphere, candles on tables were pointless as the lighting was too bright.

There is a set menu of 2 courses for £18 or 3 courses for £22, but several of the main courses carry a supplementary charge of £3 or more. Several of us had steak, supplementary charge of £5. The menu stated steak, chips, cherry tomatoes and a flat mushroom and that was exactly what you got. No little bit of salad to make it look nice, not even a few peas for colour. There was nothing suitable for a small child, no kids menu was offered. A full sized fish and chips arrived, luckily my son had the same so he found that there were a lot of bones in the fish so it was totally unsuitable for a small child.

The deserts were very nice but 2 of the party wanted plain vanilla ice cream. The menu did say that there was a selection of ice cream but it took so long to arrive I think it must have required a quick trip to Sainsbury's.

The bill came to £270 including drinks and as we were all drinking soft drinks except for a couple of small beers, the coke must be damn expensive there.

All in all, we will not be paying a return visit anytime soon.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank JennyHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of The Beachside Restaurant at The Cooden Beach Hotel, we take our guest comments very seriously and work hard to iron out any problems which may have occurred, a serious issue such as this did warrant a full investigation the outcome of this I will outline for you.

The Beachside Restaurant has undergone a programme of redecoration and this did mean that the actual Restaurant was not in use on the night of your visit, we are most fortunate to have a function room suitable for use as a dining room and this was used. The function room does have dance floor as it regularly used for functions which include dancing. The tables used in the function room do have the capacity to be folded down as the numbers required for different functions fluctuates which does mean we need to store a large number of tables and this is only possible if they have the ability to collapse.

Thank you for your kind comments about the beautifully laid table, we do take pride in the small details of setting our tables.

Investigation of your order and bill found that the total was in fact £218.75 not the £270 quoted and along with the soft drinks the 3 Vodka's and energy drink did increase the overall cost of drinks. You mentioned that the set menu had items which included supplements applicable, it is quite usual to find a set menu with more expensive items supplemented and this does include steak, you ordered a total of 4 steak's and were charged a supplement of £5 for one of these and the remaining 3 and other items you selected with a supplementary charge were charged at £3.50 which would indicate that 3 of the steaks were undercharged by £1.50 each.

Our Manager did approach your table after you received your food to enquire if everything was to our satisfaction, your response was that everything was good!

With regard to the child's half portion of Fish & Chips, if our Manager had been alerted to the fact you were unhappy with it we would have quickly set about getting you a new meal, as nothing was mentioned until after the plates had been cleared all we could do was to take it off the bill and you will note that no child meal was charged.

On our menu along with the selection of Ice Creams one of our other desserts had Vanilla Ice Cream wrapped in Sorbet - we mistakenly brought that out to the table once aware of this we corrected the error, a trip to Sainsbury's was not required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    241
    119
    68
    38
See reviews for
247
268
58
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Last Friday my daughter was married at this hotel followed by the reception. What a day we had. Absolutely fabulous, the staff, the wedding ceremony, the grounds for the photographs, the food cannot be faulted and I can be very critical at times. Well done the Cooden Beach Hotel and Jenny the wedding co-ordinater and her team were outstanding on the day and throughout the eighteen months planning period they have been so accommodating to my daughter Jennie and her new husband Neil. It was the best wedding I have ever been to and so many guests have contacted me since Friday to sing their praises for the hotel. What more can I say.
Richard and Christine Diplock

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardChristin... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel following the occasion of your daughter's wedding.

We never forget that everyone's wedding day is an immensely important day in their lives and we treat each wedding with the respect it deserves. Attention to detail is vital and our experienced wedding team know that the day will live in the memories of all who attend for a long time, they therefore undertake this responsibility with great seriousness and dedication.

To receive an endorsement such as yours makes the team feel their efforts are appreciated.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review, we appreciate the time you have taken to share your positive experience with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is a nice hotel with terrific friendly helpful staff. Our dinner and breakfast were superb - could not be faulted. Will certainly eat there again, though normally stay else where having friends in the area.

Room Tip: Nice to have a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandG1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel, we are delighted you had a great experience and enjoyed your dinner and breakfast with us.

We appreciate the time you have taken to post your review and look forward to welcoming you again when you visit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I've stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions and would always try to stay there again if on business but due to its popularity it is often fully booked!

Most of the rooms are very spacious and have free wifi available.

The Beach Terrace bar is a fabulous spot to enjoy an evening "sundowner" giving easy access on to the beach.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at front of hotel to enjoy the spectacular view and avoid the Seahouse if you need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and for making us your hotel of choice. As you have discovered it is a popular choice for many but hopefully we have availability for your more often than not.

We certainly agree that the Beachside Terrace is a perfect spot to relax at the end of the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

If you are looking for the best fillet in Town, in a lovely setting then the Cooden Beach Hotel is right on the beach... there are 2 bars.. the bottom bar provides hot food all day..and the very special Steak On Stones.. this is a real treat, with a large fillet steak from local butchers coming out of sizzling hot stones.. accompanied with dips, salad a French fries.. the joy of this meal is that you cook your own steak ... just how you like it... the hot stone is so hot that it cooks the meat while you cut pieces of. This is great for anyone who loves a fine fillet steak, and you are totally in control of how well it is done..unlike other restaurants' where your steak arrives over or underdone.. its brilliant.. a real treat and good fun.. would recommend it to anyone.. and the quality of the steak is also fantastic.. it simply melts.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tiberius1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of The Cooden Tavern.

We have been delighted with the recent addition of the Steak Stones which have been a huge hit with many of our guests who have enjoyed the ability to 'cook' their steaks to their liking on the hot lava rock.

The local butcher provides us with excellent quality steaks which means our guests are the certain winners here.

The time you have taken to post your review is appreciated and for this we thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We are so lucky to have this wonderful hotel close to where we live; it is in such an idyllic position overlooking the sea and Beachy Head. We haven't been to the Carvery for a while and we were not disappointed. The food was delicious. We had our Belgian waiter looking after us, who is so attentive and so willing to make sure everything is to ones liking. Would fully recommend this hotel. The owner always comes round to each table to welcome you, which is really special these days.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel and the Sunday Carvery in particular.

We do pride ourselves on our Carvery lunch, we consider this great value at £20 for 3 courses the choice of starters and desserts being served to your table by our attentive staff and the main course from the Carvery where our Chef's carve the roast of your choice and of course our waiting staff are on hand to give assistance if required, thus giving the personal touch.

We are aware that you always have a choice and appreciate that you chose to book our Carvery lunch and share your enjoyment by posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill, East sussex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Last May I gave a poor review of the restaurant. Visited again reluctantly with friends, and was pleasantly surprised. Much better! Service was good, food hot and tasty, plates hot. Prices reasonable, 3 courses in eve, for £20. We picked a quiet night, but still the ambience of the restaurant was nice. Well done, Cooden Beach Hotel, you've obviously been listening to peoples complaints, we shall be dining with you again.

Room Tip: didn't stay here, only dined here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshine1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for posting a 'revisited' review, we always take peoples complaints seriously and work continuously to improve all aspects of the hotel and the service we provide at all times.

Thank you for taking the time to review and highlight the improvements you have found, we appreciate this very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bexhill-on-Sea
5.0 mi away
PowderMills Country House Hotel
8.8 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
5.9 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
16.0 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cooden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cooden Beach Hotel

Property: The Cooden Beach Hotel
Address: Cooden Sea Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 4TT, England (Formerly Jarvis Cooden Beach)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Bexhill-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooden Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928 the Hotel is a building of character which has undergone several changes of ownership in its time. The beginning of 2005 was the year the current owner took over the hotel and refurbished at that time also adding a beautiful beachside terrace to enjoy refreshments overlooking the sea and stunning sunsets over the Sussex Downs. The Hotel continues with an upgrade plan throughout all areas. The Beachside Restaurant with its sea view, Traditional English Menu and Sunday Carvery also The Cooden Tavern is a Bistro style eatery to cater for all guest requirements as well as a bar and lounge. For those who would like to relax with a swim the Leisure Club with heated pool, sauna, spa, steam room and gym is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Cooden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cooden Beach
The Cooden Beach Hotel Bexhill-On-Sea, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing