We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family meal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cooden Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We ate Sunday lunch here, we were a large family party. The staff were very helpful as usual, the carvery was good and plentiful,and the staff attentive.
My husband and I stayed overnight too, our third stay. I booked fairly late, the room overlooked the car park and station, but were not disturbed by the trains at all. The room was very reasonable. It was clean and comfortable.
Next morning at breakfast, the restaurant was very full, being Bank Holiday, but the staff were amazing, still as attentive, coping well, and the food plentiful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DandyHemelHempstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and kind comments, we are delighted to learn you enjoyed your family dinner, room and breakfast.

Your comments are much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (977)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

720 - 726 of 978 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

After a few disappointing visits to the restaurant we returned today and were pleasantly surprised. Many thanks to James and Ryan for great service. The food, particularly the vegetables, was a breath of fresh air. We had a lovely table overlooking the beach and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your very kind comments and acknowledgement of our work to improve our customer experience in all areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I spent a night at the hotel as I was facilitating an event the next day. I had a wonderful room with a balcony overlooking the sea. It was more than reasonably priced, very comfortable and clean. Such a treat to be actually on the beach couldn't ask for more. It might bea bit quiet re nightlife but the location makes up for that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at he front with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireSueB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, it is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We went for lunch to the hotel restaurant which was very old fashioned and formal. The restaurant was extremely formal and we felt forced to converse in whispers throughout the meal. The set menu was very ordinary and old fashioned. The wine was very ordinary and expensive. It was certainly not a place to relax with friends.
The decor of the hotel is very dated and formal which is a pity as the hotel is set in a great position by the sea.
The service was passable and the food was warm.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KatieBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your review, we are sorry to learn that you didn't enjoy your experience in our Beachside Restaurant, it is more formal than the more modern Bistro style of The Cooden Tavern.

We do work with a local wine supplier to ensure our wines are 'up to date'.

Your comments with regard to the service and food have been passed to the Restaurant Manager and Head Chef for action.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Having being a local resident at the Cooden Beach Hotel for over ten years, I was very disappointed yesterday (Monday 14th April 2014) to be served in such a dismissive manner. After ordering two bottles of Prosecco my guests and I requested a light snack which we wanted to be served in the lounge area overlooking the sea. We were shocked to be told that we were not permitted to eat in that dining area despite seeing other customers dine there the previous day.

Our treatment was shoddy, unprofessional and disappointing. If this is what supporting our local business means , we will not be dining there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank morzz2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your review, we are sorry you had a negative experience during your visit to us.

It is a company policy not to serve hot food in the Beachside Bar, Corridor Seating area and The Lounge, however The Lounge is often booked for a private function where food is served, this may well be the cause for confusion in this instance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I booked this hotel for my wife as a surprise for her birthday.
The location of the hotel is lovely, but when you enter the hotel you start to realise the website photography was cleverly taken to give a false impression! The room we were allocated was 110 the first floor on the east side of the building. The room decor was very drab and dated (yellow walls and red carpet) the room had two windows one facing the beach and the other facing east. Both windows were overlooked by other guests and a large block of residential flats the other side of the road so we had to keep the curtains drawn as their was no net curtain. Incidentally the road is very noisy and at times very busy with passing traffic!
The beds are of poor quality and are hard, my wife and I hardly slept due to the beds and the passing foot traffic outside of the room.

We eat in the tavern bar and the food was average but I personally thought it was over priced the alcoholic drinks are expensive e.g. £7.95 for a glass of Prosecco!
Breakfast can only be described as something on a par with a greasy spoon cafe.

The gymnasium will only accommodate 6 persons again the website photography very cleverly taken to give a false impression.

In conclusion; the website gives a false impression and reads very well, this is a 2/3 star hotel with very dated decor, it needs a good refurb and a rethink about the pricing. Finally this is a dog friendly hotel there were many four legged guests but I did not see this on the website at all!

Room Tip: Dogs are welcome but it does not mention it on the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Richie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

We would like to take this opportunity to address your list of complaints.

You have indicated that you feel we have arranged for 'deceiving photography' this is far from the case, we certainly do have a good range of images which we have taken to show as much of the particular area or room as possible, we do not enhance any of our images.

The décor is a matter of personal taste and the design of the room is for a light airy feel and the carpet is not a drab offering.

The hotel is based on the beach in a quiet residential area, there are houses and some flats nearby as we are on the outskirts of the town. A noisy busy road! you have made it sound rather like the 'North Circular' but it is in fact a small B road on the outskirts of a town with a high population of elderly residents who tend not to race around.

The beds benefit from Tempur mattresses which many people find to be the ultimate in luxury sleeping, however we are not all the same and of course there will be those who are not such fans of the Tempur mattress and it seems you fall into this category.

The Tavern is a very popular place to dine with many finding the choices when include Steak Stones and Daily Blackboard Specials to be worthy of frequent returning. Your comment about Prosecco, as a sparking wine it is not ideal to serve just one glass from a standard bottle and op the remainder in the fridge where it will surely go flat, we made the decision to serve single glasses of Prosecco in small bottles, these are indeed more expensive than a single glass would have been but you are guaranteed to have a freshly sparkling glass of wine.

Breakfast is a source of pride in the hotel serving items such as Eggs Benedict, Scrambled Eggs with Smoked Salmon or freshly cooked to order Omelettes, a far cry from a 'greasy spoon' offering and thoroughly enjoyed by all except yourselves.

The hotel is pleased to be able to offer a Leisure Club with Pool, Sauna, Steam Room, Spa and small Gym with cardiovascular equipment and free weights, for a 41 bedroom hotel we feel this is a good facility for our guests, of course we would not expect to compete with a large commercial gymnasium, as to the photograph - we stood in the doorway and snapped the room.

You also didn't like the décor, we undergo a continuous programme of upgrade throughout the hotel, the AA have graded us high level 3 Star.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We spent just the one night in this lovely beach-side Independently run Hotel. The food was fabulous and the staff very friendly. Our room was fresh and well equipped and our en-suite bathroom was huge with a large bath as well! We only had time to stay 1 night as this was a business trip. Probably, the best breakfast in England!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark49London_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review of the hotel, we are delighted to learn you had such a great stay and particularly enjoyed breakfast, we do take great pride in providing a good breakfast, perfect to start your day.

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your views and offer such lovely feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bexhill-on-Sea
5.7 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
871 reviews
7.8 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,519 reviews
8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,494 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#4 of 40 in Eastbourne
900 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cooden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cooden Beach Hotel

Address: Cooden Sea Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 4TT, England (Formerly Jarvis Cooden Beach)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Bexhill-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
Price Range: £78 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooden Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928 the Hotel is a building of character which has undergone several changes of ownership in its time. The beginning of 2005 was the year the current owner took over the hotel and refurbished at that time also adding a beautiful beachside terrace to enjoy refreshments overlooking the sea and stunning sunsets over the Sussex Downs. The Hotel continues with an upgrade plan throughout all areas. The Beachside Restaurant with its sea view, Traditional English Menu and Sunday Carvery also The Cooden Tavern is a Bistro style eatery to cater for all guest requirements as well as a bar and lounge. For those who would like to relax with a swim the Leisure Club with heated pool, sauna, spa, steam room and gym is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Cooden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cooden Beach
The Cooden Beach Hotel Bexhill-On-Sea, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing