We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer weekend dining experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cooden Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

It's a busy hotel especially if you want a table overlooking the beach biscuit there are also tables to the side which still have sun and beach atmosphere. The food was excellent and good value for money, and despite it being lunchtime on a Sunday it was produced promptly and freshly cooked.

Not always easy to get in the hotel car park so someone might have a little walk.

Not grand cuisine but fun in the summer.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cicero57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (960)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

676 - 682 of 960 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had lunch here one week day, one day when visiting family in the area. We were very delayed (our fault) and the service was a little unenthusiastic, but the fish and chips were great - the best chips I've had for YEARS!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eladora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your review, glad to hear you enjoyed our signature Fish & Chips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We visited with friends purely because we wanted to be by the sea for a drink and snack. Fantastic location with lots of good quality outside tables and umbrellas right on the beach. Lots of families and their children playing on the beach whilst Mum Dad enjoyed a drink. Limited outside terrace menu but what came out was good quality, albeit quite fully priced. £11 for fish and chips.... Watch out for the seagulls who are very brave whilst you're eating and dive to clear tables of food as soon as people leave and before the staff get there! Tiny bar but one real ale was served (Harveys). Very friendly and helpful staff. REstaurant in hotel itself looked a bit dated, but I suspect the food menu was more extensive through there ; we didn't go in

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank YachtSuzannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to learn you enjoyed your stop at Cooden Beach, the Hotel Terrace is ideally positioned for keeping an eye on children playing on the beach while 'Mum and Dad' enjoy a drink on the terrace.

We hope you will remember the spot and return to enjoy the beach and views once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We sat outside and had lunch looking onto the beach and sea in the shade under an umbrella. We had prawn sandwiches on granary bread, shared a bowl of chips with a glass of wine and a lager ... bliss! The staff did a sterling job balancing food on plates as it was a breezy day. There is parking outside the hotel with another car park and street parking nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank 732kent2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your your review, delighted to see you had a good lunch and enjoyed the beachside terrace - even in the breeze!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Cooden Beach Hotel is a truly amazing location to hold your wedding day. There is only one way to describe our wedding day on July 31st 2014 and that is PERFECT. This is down to the fantastic location and organisation of the Hotel and its staff, nothing is too much trouble. They ask you what you want and they deliver to make your wedding day individual personal and special to you. All our guests were overwhelmed by the extremely high standards of the Hotel and its staff, the amazing food and the attention to detail to make the day flow seamlessly from the ceremony to the sit down meal then on into the evening party. If you have a dream wedding in your mind Jenny the Hotel Manager and Wedding coordinator will help you to make your dream wedding day come true. They gave us and our guests a day that we will never forget. A TRULY EXCELLENT HOTEL IN EVERYWAY. LINDA AND TONY

Room Tip: seaview rooms are large with excellent views over the beach and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted that your wedding went well and enjoyed by all who attended.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

It was my 60th birthday, so we went away for 4 days. Nice hotel but no good if you cannot climb stairs, went up one flight along corridor up another flight round a corner and we ended up on 2nd floor but felt like attic. Room was set out nice, it was a long room but narrow. Best bit was the large bathroom. Very nice view out to sea and hotel is nearly on the beach so not to bad a stay.
Food pricey ploughmans £9.50 and a cider and glass wine came to £9.50. Breakfast was very good cannot fault that at all. Staff friendly and very pleasant. Think they need to sort out the computer system as I paid in full when I booked, I was asked to pay again on arrival and again when we left, did get a bit fed up with explaining already paid.
Swimming pool very small.

Room Tip: No lifts lots stairs, make sure you get a ground floor room if OAP or with young children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

Please accept our apologies for the confusion with your payment, further staff training has been carried out to ensure this is not repeated.

We do appreciate that stairs are not idea for some people but we do have staff available to provide assistance with bags/suitcases to make this a little easier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We chose this hotel to be close to The De La Warr Pavilion in Bexhill.
A few years ago it was taken over by a new owner, since which time many improvements have been made. The weekend we were there was incredibly hot and we found the bedding too thick for comfort. The restaurant like so many had the same menu for both lunch and dinner - so short sighted, however there was an alternative place to eat in the bar. Having said that it was very busy both days with parties of people. The staff were very welcoming and without exception very helpful.

Room Tip: Room 705 overlooks the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brandy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your review and very kind comments about the staff, it is much appreciated.

The very warm summer days have been a trial for many of us with sleep difficult, bedding has been a 'not required' night time accessory, our night staff would have been happy to provide you with a duvet cover to use instead of the duvet had you requested.

We hope this didn't spoil your time in Bexhill as the days were lovely. We note your comments about the menu being the same for lunch and dinner but as you found we do have two dining area's with different menu's.

We appreciate the time you have taken to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bexhill-on-Sea
5.7 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
861 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,653 reviews
7.8 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#4 of 40 in Eastbourne
870 reviews
6.2 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
17.2 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cooden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cooden Beach Hotel

Address: Cooden Sea Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 4TT, England (Formerly Jarvis Cooden Beach)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Bexhill-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
Price Range: £118 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooden Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928 the Hotel is a building of character which has undergone several changes of ownership in its time. The beginning of 2005 was the year the current owner took over the hotel and refurbished at that time also adding a beautiful beachside terrace to enjoy refreshments overlooking the sea and stunning sunsets over the Sussex Downs. The Hotel continues with an upgrade plan throughout all areas. The Beachside Restaurant with its sea view, Traditional English Menu and Sunday Carvery also The Cooden Tavern is a Bistro style eatery to cater for all guest requirements as well as a bar and lounge. For those who would like to relax with a swim the Leisure Club with heated pool, sauna, spa, steam room and gym is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cooden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cooden Beach
The Cooden Beach Hotel Bexhill-On-Sea, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing