We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moules et Frites et Belgian Beers”
Review of Bistro 45

Bistro 45
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$26
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Bistro 45 is nestled on the esplanade with a fantastic view of the channel and is under new management. The menu is a mix from land and sea. We specialize in mussels and Belgian beers. The starters range from seared scallops to homemade soups and pate, the main courses include Fillet steak, Fresh Moules cooked in 45 different sauces and vegetarians need not feel left out with crepes stuffed with 7 different vegetables and to follow a delicious creme brulee or a melting chocolate cake with hot chocolate sauce may be just the thing to finish off your meal. The food is accompanied by an extensive menu of continental beers and for the wine lovers there is a list of fine wines
Reviewed 14 October 2017

This is a great little restaurant with a unique feel. 40+ types of mussel recipes to choose from. I had the Pastis and my wife the Red Thai. We had the shared mixed platter to start. All were really good. Beer selection was great too. Kwak is the one to try. Price-wise it was pitched just right IMO. We were first in, just before 6:00 pm, so had a chance to have a natter with the patron, who was friendly. We rarely if ever go to Bexhill (on this occasion it was to go to a gig at the De La Warr Pavilion) but would definitely eat her again. We may even make a special trip.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HarryOrgans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark b, Owner at Bistro 45, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

thank you very much for your support and positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon Harry. Check out our Christmas menu on line.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2017

Have been going to this restaurant for last 10 years one of my favourite in bexhill
Under new management have got to say very disappointing one of my scallops sent back not cooked sea bass main sent back not cooked only starter delivered within 90 minutes new owner did not introduce himself £176 lighter in the wallet and a very underwhelming evening one loyal customer lost
S mead bexhill

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maxsam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark b, Owner at Bistro 45, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

I am so sorry to hear we have not lived up to your expectations. I would like if you could give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves in your esteem. I am not sure what went wrong on your visit . Your feedback is very important to us. Please come back and let us make it up to you.

Kind regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

We were so pleased to find standards are as good and in some ways even better under new ownership. Well done Mark and Gary. Superb mussels with perfectly cooked bass,bream, scallops also delicious steaks and homemade pies and deserts.
We will be over again very soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johngee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark b, Owner at Bistro 45, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

John thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate the feedback. Hope to see you again soon. Check out our Christmas menu on line.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Seafood is their speciality and was superb...the choice of Belgian beers great. I loved the 8.5% delerium tremors! The waiter was a bit like Basil Fawlty...made the evening fun!!

Thank t0nydell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Tiny place, but very friendly, amazing Belgian beers, and fantastic food. I had the whitebait, and I have not eaten any as fresh as those in a long time!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jfroussel1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark b, Owner at Bistro 45, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for your kind words. We are always pleased to hear our guests have enjoyed our food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro 45 also viewed

Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 

Been to Bistro 45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing