We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So interesting.”
Review of Bateman's

Bateman's
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Burwash
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“So interesting.”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The day we chose to visit was cloudy, drizzly, and not very warm. But this visit sent our spirits soaring! Car park is near the house, but there is a slope down to the house and at the end of the visit you will need to go up again. Restaurant was adequate but long queues formed at lunchtime. Loos clean both by the car park and near to the house. Now for the house. Fantastic! It wasn't just what we saw, it was the volunteers in each room who told stories that made it come alive. Kipling wanted this house to look how it would have been so the furnishings and the way everything is arranged is both authentic to the house and to Kipling's life. We loved John's 'ensuite' (not to be missed) and the fantastic 'wallpaper' in the dining room. The wartime display upstairs is very moving. However the lighting there is quite dim and I couldn't read it properly. We loved every minute of this visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    166
    27
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A step in the past”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Bateman's is the last home of the famous English writer R. Kipling. Today the house is owned by the National Trust and is in a perfect condition. The house is a real museum with lots of things that belonged to Kipling and his family. At the entrance you are given a plan of the house with shorts description of the rooms. But in every room there is a National Trust: member, who will gladly tell you lots of interesting things about the things in it. Taking photos is allowed. What I like most, you can touch things and even have a rest in an armchair in the sitting room. Near the house you can see Kipling's Rolls Royce car - a rare exhibit.
The house is surrounded by pretty gardens with a small picturesque pond and plenty of benches to have a rest. Facilities also include a restraunt, a gift shop and toilets.
Admission fee (£9-10 depending on donations) is relatively cheap for such attraction. This place is definitely worth visiting.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Елена М
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest
Level Contributor
202 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“An insight into the life of a literary icon”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

A charming 17th century property lodged into the side of a hill and surrounded by a number of garden "rooms" with an orchard and a long fruit arch. The house has been superbly curated containing a vast collection of artefacts that link one to Kipling in a touching and rather poignant way. His Nobel Prize, his beautifully maintained Rolls Royce and the smell and atmosphere of a building that the man could have just left that very day.

The tea shop/restaurant served excellent teas and delicious gluten free home made cake - perfect!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank treecutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Great weather the day I visited. national Trust provide the opportunity for a great day out. Table and chairs are dotted around the gardens with games and books to read. The house was interesting with plenty to see. Staff were available in all rooms to give the history and answer questions about Rudyard Kipling his life and family.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank akapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Batemans House & Mill”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Well worth a visit if you are in the area, plenty well displayed information in the house, demonstrations of the mill working, unfortunately there was a problem when we visited it,

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bateman's also viewed

 

Been to Bateman's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing