We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Again a lovely stay”
Review of The Roebuck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Roebuck Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forest Row
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
155 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Again a lovely stay”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Stayed here again and was another wonderful stay. This place is full of character. Our room was lovely and warm and the bed is soo comfortable. Bathroom and carpets are a little tired but this reflects in the cost. Nothing else, food service and hospitality doesn't. Great ambience in the bar/restaurant. Food cooked to perfection with a good choice and reasonably priced. The soup was tasty and home made. The bread could have been more rustic or warmed, other than white sliced. Breakfast is to die for. Fresh fruit, juices. Cooked choice and pastries. Service was efficient. See my review of Radisson covent garden. They could learn from this place. Staff are mainly Eastern European. Very polite and attentive. They obviously enjoy their job. Thanks to Val and the young waiters at breakfast. NT properties close by, so this place suits us to a T.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angie60Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for your great comments Angela, we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    177
    71
    36
    15
See reviews for
105
246
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

The hotel allows you to leave your car for collection after departure which was very useful in my case. I couldn't fault this hotel and for what you pay this seems very good value if this is your desired location.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davros S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you for taking time post your feedback. We look forward to you next visit to the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We liked this hotel despite the building work that is currently going on. Our room was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep , the hotel is on a busy road ,the secondary glazing worked very well . Its a very pretty hotel, at the moment they are replacing some of the roof I hope the new shiny roof won't detract from its quirkiness.Breakfast was very good, plenty to choose from and served by very friendly staff. I only have one critiscism and that is please clean the light and lamp switches in the room.I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pensioner62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
thank you for taking time to send us your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed you stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We came here for an overnight stay and wasn't disappointed. The room was in the new wing and really lovely and comfortable. The staff were really helpful, food was lovely would definitely come here again and would recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for the new wing as you can drive right round to the back of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGriffins3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you The Griffins 3 for taking time to send us your feedback. I will pass your great comments on to our team ,who I’m sure will really appreciate this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We had a fantastic Wedding Day - the staff & service were fabulous, very efficient & nothing was too much trouble.
Dave, Christian, Alina & Nick were very friendly, helpful and exceptionally professional we cannot thank them enough.
We had friends and family stay at the hotel and they have commented how everything was just perfect and the food was excellent.
The day was absolutely brilliant all thanks to the staff at The Roebuck - thank you

Adele & Carl Longley

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Almazie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Adele and Carl thank you for taking time to put your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor with regards to the Wedding facilities at The Roebuck, we all wish you a long and happy marriage.
From Nick, Val, David and the team at The Roebuck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This was our 4th visit to this lovely old place and, as usual we were pleased that nothing had changed - except for the menu - added dishes. The food was it's usual excellent self and the staff could not have made us feel more welcome. No hesitation in telling our friends about a great way to spend a relaxing weekend. Thank You Roebuck

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirRobert_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkman, Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2015
Appreciated thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Four of us really enjoyed our good value cheap break here, the rooms were large and comfortable, breakfasts and dinners were excellent and well priced, all staff were brilliant, plenty of parking and a pretty outside space

Room Tip: rooms at the front overlook busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NICOLA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkman, Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2015
Appreciated thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forest Row
0.7 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
2.2 mi away
Brambletye Hotel
Brambletye Hotel
#2 of 2 in Forest Row
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
5.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
7.0 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roebuck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roebuck Hotel

Property: The Roebuck Hotel
Address: Wych Cross 1, Forest Row RH18 5JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Forest Row
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forest Row
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Roebuck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Roebuck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roebuck Hotel Forest Row, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing