We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still A Great Stay”
Review of The Roebuck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Roebuck Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forest Row
Southend-on-Sea
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Still A Great Stay”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We have viisited several times at all seasons and find the staff and service as good as ever. The food is excellent and the accomodation first class. It is quieter at the rear of the hotel. The gardens are really well cared for and a terrace at the rear of the bar is a good place to sit in the sun/shade

Room Tip: Rooms 101-105 at the rear are quieter and easier to move jour luggage in and out from the car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirRobert_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkman, Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2015
Appreciated thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    177
    73
    36
    15
See reviews for
107
248
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bucks,UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The Roebuck is in a lovely location, round the corner from Ashdown Forest perfect for a weekend break, with plenty of lovely walks and cycle rides. We had our Wedding reception there, the food was excellent and the Wedding Breakfast room was simply decorated in white and we added orchids for table decorations. The tables are rectangle and comfortably seat 8 but we had over 60 which meant some people did have to sit at the end of the tables, my advice place kids or small adults there. The £999 wedding package is excellent value and includes 3 courses and DJ. In the end it was double that but comparing to other hotels still really good value for money. There is a lovely big garden for beautiful pictures and children to play. The staff are always helpful, sometimes a little slow often because only 3 /4 available who are running between the bar and reception.
Our bedroom was clean and good size with tea and coffee facilites and nice views over the back of the hotel. Breakfast was plentiful and I can recommend the full english. All in all I would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a quiet weekend away, check if there is a wedding on as there will be additio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulesinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for taking time post your feedback. We look forward to you next occassion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My friend and I have stayed at the Roebuck many times before and it never lets us down. The Manager and staff always provide a warm and friendly welcome. Nothing is too much trouble. My room was clean and spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was a good size and spotless with the added bonus of large bath sheets. The shower was one of the best I've come across in an hotel. The bar was comfortable and the food good quality and nicely prepared and presented. There is a pleasant terrace area which proved to be a favourite with the guests. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of fresh fruit, cereal, fruit juices, pastries and hot food. I have already booked the Roebuck again for a future trip to the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Response: Thank you very much for your feedback on our warm hospitality, we continuously strive to give the best quality of our food and service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, Nick and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed here for a night while attending a function in a nearby hotel. Poor value for money (£100/night), food was average and the staff appeared to be quite inattentive. The selection of beer in the bar was very poor. The manager was very helpful though when we couldn't get a taxi, he offered to drive us to the wedding himself! Rooms were very clean and check in/out was straightforward.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickywordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkman, Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2015
Appreciated thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My wife and I met up with two friends at Sheffield Park on July 17, 2013. After a ride to East Grinstead and back on the Bluebell Steam Railway, we decided to have lunch at The Roebuck - a wise choice! We each had a 3- course meal from the set menu, plus two drinks each - and our total bill was under £70.00. The meals were good, sensible portions, and we would recommend The Roebuck to others. The only (very minor) downside - there was no waiter/waitress service offered - we had to eat in the bar and order our meals from the bartender.
Our experience with eating at 'Old English Inns' is very favourable - having visited The Woolpack at Beckington, Rothley Court in Leicestershire and several others.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkman, Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2015
Appreciated thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Disley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Our family stayed at the hotel on 29/06/2013. When we booked our room we were told that a travel cot would be in our room, however when we arrived we were told that had changed because of health and safety and that customers should bring their own, which we would have done if we had been advised. I'm not sure where the health and safety element comes from as the HSE have nothing on their website as regards to the use of travel cots in hotels, perhaps health and safety has been used as an excuse? and no apology was offered by the girl on reception. Also we didn't find any of the staff helpful apart from the manager and the cleaners; our room was exceptionally clean and tidy. thank you. On a whole found the staff to be miserable and slightly lethargic. We stayed at the hotel and attended a function, the buffet food was poor, there was plenty of it but it tasted horrible, and as such a huge amount of it was wasted. The breakfast was also very good. I have read the good reviews and they surprise me???

Room Tip: Please take your own travel cot, otherwise you will end up sleeping with your wriggly 2 year old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkman, Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2015
Appreciated thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Good hotel location just outside of the National Forest with good grounds.
Rooms have been refurbished in the last few years.
Staff are very helpful and friendly.
Restaurant has good options on the food with a daily change on the Day. Bar is well stocked and runs efficiently.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nazparmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
We here at the Roebuck are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forest Row
0.7 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
2.2 mi away
Brambletye Hotel
Brambletye Hotel
#2 of 2 in Forest Row
215 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
5.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,246 reviews
7.0 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roebuck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roebuck Hotel

Property: The Roebuck Hotel
Address: Wych Cross 1, Forest Row RH18 5JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Forest Row
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forest Row
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Roebuck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Roebuck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roebuck Hotel Forest Row, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing