We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as Always”
Review of The Roebuck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Roebuck Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forest Row
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This was our 8th visit and as usual the Roebuck did not let us down. The staff made us especially welcome as both my partner and me had resorted to walking sticks (back problems) and a brief 'phone call to Nick, the manager assured us of a room at the rear of the hotel so unloading the car would be less troublesome. The new menu was as impressive as the old and we both recommend the "Mini-Grill" - by no means mini and delicious. Looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Rooms 101-104 are handy for unloading the car and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SirRobert_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkman, Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2015

Appreciated thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

Part of the Old English Inns group. They have some very good offers from time to time - worth looking out for. We like this hotel and have stayed there twice. The staff are very polite and helpful. The Manager is a cheerful man who seems to be enjoying his job with pride in the hotel. The bedding has been dazzling white each stay. It may not be top notch but a friendly, homely hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roytea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Roytea, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to you next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

None of us stayed overnight, but we all chose this place for its convenient location and good parking facilities as much as anything else.

Besides being a group of 20 which brings its own challenges, the serving staff here could still have done a little better, as at the time there were hardly any other tables occupied.

In spite of all pre-ordering our meals, there were still a number of errors and omissions in a lot of them. Not sure who was to blame but when brought to the waitresses' attention, there were yet more mix-ups before they got everything right. Although there were 3 waiting on our group, they all looked very flustered at our complaints and apologies were hard to extract.

Unfortunately the bread served with our starters also all had some mould on each of the pieces, which was immediately sent back and refreshed. So as you can see, things got off to a bit of a rocky start!

It seems ridiculous to say, but the truth is that, for the most part, the food was excellent all round - all 3 courses in fact - and good value too. Drinks were reasonable and the quirky layout and traditional bar atmosphere was very much that of a relaxed country lodge.

Perhaps I'm in a forgiving mood and maybe large groups are just not quite their forte? But for a group of no more than 4 - 6 people, in spite of the few dining glitches, I'd still recommend this place and would certainly go again. Go figure?

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viviko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

janineb123, Thank you for taking time to send us your feedback. I will pass your great comments on to our team ,who I’m sure will really appreciate this

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My friend and I have stayed at the Roebuck several times and it never disappoints. The staff are friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are spacious and clean and the beds are very comfortable. The showers are brilliant! Lovely to have big bath towels. The bar area is cosy and the food is tasty and good value. There is a lovely ouside patio area. Always a firm favourite!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Sarah, Thank you for taking time post your feedback. We look forward to you next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The Roebuck is part of the Old English Inns Group and as such offers exceptional value for money. Very clean, comfortable rooms and a warm welcombe from the staff. We have stayed at the Roebuck on a few occasions and never been dissapointed. Very reasonably priced food . Also only a relatively short ride fron Gatwick airport , much more pleasant than staying in an faceless airport hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Peter A, Thank you for taking time post your feedback. We look forward to you next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Roebuck in forest row is a beautiful Tudor style building with bundles of character. It took 10 minutes to get someone's attention on arrival but it was early evening so we overlooked that. The food was presented well, arrived fairly quickly and was really lovely. The 2 course menu was £7.95 so very good value too. The full English breakfast was fantastic as was the variety of alternatives offered. We felt the staff were warm & friendly. Our room was clean, very comfortable but a little dated. Overall, I would recommend the roebuck and would definitely go back. My partner and I got engaged here so it will always be a bit special to us x

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cherise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Cherise J Thank you for taking time post your feedback. We look forward to you next visit to the area with the new addition to your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

lucky enough to get an offer price for b&b at this pretty location. Loved the old feel to the place and the fact there were lots of seperate areas to sit in the bar/restaurant. Room was comfortable, warm and very clean and the bed linen was clean and crisp. bathroom all clean with shower over bath. location was fine as depeding on weather could have gone to Lewes, the Forest, Brighton or one of the local attractions.East Grinstead is nearby. Lots of alpacas in the area! Reception was easy as was the parking. Breakfast as all Old English hotels was delicious - smoked Loch Fyne Salmon and great eggs benedict with decent slice of ham. Meals very reasonably priced with vegetarian options. A comfortable and economical break for us but also not bad at full price too. Staff all very friendly. A nice relaxing break.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaela266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Kaela 266 Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to you next visit to the area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forest Row
2.2 mi away
Brambletye Hotel
Brambletye Hotel
#2 of 2 in Forest Row
227 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
7.2 mi away
Best Western The Birch Hotel
Best Western The Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haywards Heath
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,331 reviews
7.0 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,471 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roebuck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roebuck Hotel

Address: Wych Cross 1, Forest Row RH18 5JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Forest Row
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forest Row
Price Range: £56 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Roebuck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Roebuck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roebuck Hotel Forest Row, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing