We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreary”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Roebuck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Roebuck Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forest Row
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dreary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed at the Roebuck for a few nights after a brief stay at Ashdown park for a few nights. Cant compare the two, but the Roebuck, whilst not dirty, not drab, not unpleasant, was just a little bit dreary. The reception staff were funny, so long as you can see the ufnny side of grumpiness! There's something to be said about putting the cusotmer first. Still, it's not a complaint - the rooms were pretty clean and tidy, if a little basic, and the public areas (bar and restuarant) were the same. Would certainly stay there again without complaint. Didnt eat at the restaurant, but had breakftas on our second day and thought it was fine - service too was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AfricaToWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Africa to Worcester, Thank you for taking time post your feedback. Sorry for being a "little bit dreary"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    174
    71
    36
    15
See reviews for
101
243
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Roebuck for one night with mixed results.

On arrival the manager was extremely rude. Before I had even said "hi we've booked a room for tonight", he demanded "name?" without looking up and gave us forms. Despite no one else being there, he acted as if we were interrupting his day and that our arrival was of inconvenience.

Our room was tired, with scuffle and scrapes. The tv made a strange buzzing sound when you turned it on. The WiFi was weak, slow and at times non existent.

I talked to the manager about the WiFi connection to which he bluntly replied "nobody else has complained"

However, the bed was comfortable, the bath was big enough for a romantic dip and there were plenty hot drinks and biscuits to be enjoyed.

Another member of staff checked us out of the hotel and she was a delight.

Very average hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Mary S,Thank you for your comments, I would be delighted if you would contact my direct at the hotel to discuss your comments as we did not met. Nick Dodd GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here a number of times on business and choose to come back above other hotels in the area.

Value for money is extremely relevant though, as the place is showing some signs of wear (ie mismatching door handles and signage) its also a little dated.

However all the negatives are quickly offset by exceptionally clean rooms, comfy beds and very friendly staff.

The food is great value and "good pub grub" and one of the reasons I keep coming back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Willagej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Willagej, Thank you for your comments and taking time to post them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Booked last minute for a 2 night break. Very comfortable, clean, but slightly tired room, as I expected for the great price. Staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Great choice and tasty breakfast. There was a varied evening menu and also a few specials. We ate in the bar area and were very satisfied. Location great for ashdown forest walks and also for driving to surrounding villages or down to the coast. Would definately stopover here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Linda Thank you for taking time to send us your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed you Easter break at The Roebuck, we look forward to seeing you for the next Easter or sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here over the bank holiday weekend with my partner and his parents. We had a very relaxing time and felt the staff were very friendly and welcoming.

They had not expected to be so busy and so the staff were rushed off their feet - meaning service could be a little slow - although they were very polite and apologetic for this.

The rooms are a little tired but very clean and the shower is so powerful and warm!

We ate here one evening and it was good food - the specials particularly so! Breakfast was ok - pastries could have been a little fresher.

Would recommend this as a place to stay but bear in mind it isn't five star luxury! Had a lovely relaxing stay and would come again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Faye Thank you for taking time post your feedback. We look forward to you next visit to the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

i didnt expect alot when i saw pictures just a basic standard but when we arrived there, i was shocked...the room is super b clean and modern...food in the restaurant was nice with good prices aswell.one guy was very nice and helpful behind the bar and restaurant area(dont know his name but he was i think romanian)...nothing else to say...definately recommended to people...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fedo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkman, Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2015
Appreciated thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We booked this last minute over Easter and we were not disappointed. Nice room, comfortable beds, great shower and nice big soft towels. The rooms nay not be new and look a little bit used but they are very cosy. The staff are very friendly and the breakfast is one if the best I have had in any hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neighboursKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkman, Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2015
Appreciated thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forest Row
0.7 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
2.2 mi away
Brambletye Hotel
Brambletye Hotel
#2 of 2 in Forest Row
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
5.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
7.0 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roebuck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roebuck Hotel

Property: The Roebuck Hotel
Address: Wych Cross 1, Forest Row RH18 5JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Forest Row
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forest Row
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Roebuck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Roebuck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roebuck Hotel Forest Row, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing