We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 out of 10!”
Review of The Roebuck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Roebuck Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forest Row
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My friend and I have stayed at the Roebuck a few times and it just gets better and better. All the staff are welcoming, friendly and very helpful. The food is good value and excellent quality. The bar and lounge areas are cosy and comfortable. There is a very pleasant patio and garden area. The bedroom was clean, the bed very comfy and the shower was one of the best I've come across in an hotel. I really appreciated the large bath sheets as very few hotels seem to supply these. Hot drinks and biscuits were also most welcomed. Hair dryer, iron and ironing board also useful additions to the room. Breakfast was lovely with a great selection of fresh fruit, pastries, fruit juice and cereal and the cooked food was of high quality and cooked to order.I will certainly continue to stay at the Roebuck in the future.A firm favourite!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Sarah

Thank you for your kind words reviewing your recent stay.

We are all delighted that you are continuously enjoying your time with us, and that it just keeps getting better!
I will certainly pass your praise on to the staff.

On behalf of the team, we all welcome you back again in the near future, and urge you to please book directly for the best available rates and preferences.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

I recently stayed at the Roebuck Hotel for a night after visiting Hever Castle. What a pleasant surprise!! This hotel was nestled in a quiet wooded area, but not too far from attractions and things to do. The room was a good size and the bed was very comfortable.

The staff were very friendly in both the hotel area, as well as the dining and bar area. My husband had the steak and ale pie which was amazing! After dinner, we played a game of billiards and had a nice selection of beers.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had large luggage since we were traveling from the US. I would reccommend asking for a lower lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkman, Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2015

Appreciated thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hotel is in a very convenient location, in the heart of The Ashdown Forest and exactly what you expect from a hotel of it's calibre. Check in was efficient and personal. Didn't expect room to be ready but appreciated the early check in. The cleanliness of lobby and area was perfectly fresh and immaculate. The staff were efficient nothing was too much trouble. All very helpful. Room was clean with crisp fresh linen, bathroom was good , I have stayed in many hotels but this has to be one of my favourites!
Breakfast was delicious and the staff attentive, as with the bar staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Florentina U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkman, Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2015

Appreciated thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Can't fault the service we recieve here, time and time again. That's why it's our first choice for all our staff when they are at Head Office on business. Always a warm 'welcome back' reception, clean rooms, quiet but with good main route access. The food here has continued to get better and better. Our female staff always feel safe here and individual needs are considered and accommodated wherever possible. On this stay i enjoyed the a 'welsh rarebit' starter, followed by a perfectly cooked rump steak. Both were excellent - this whole place be it for drinks, food, accommodation or indeed all 3 at once is excellent value. A bonus is that they are 'dog friendly' and when the surrounding area is simply a must to explore on foot then this is huge bonus if you have a tail wagging family member! Thanks to The Roebuck from us all at Cats Protection, you are our favorite home from home.

Room Tip: Ask for the upper floor if you are a female travelling alone - but all rooms of a good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tanz_and_Rog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkman, Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2015

Appreciated thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have been eating at the Roebuck with friends about twice a month for a year or so. Last night the service from the waiting staff was, as usual, excellent, However, when we wished to order a coffee at around 9.45 I was told rather crustily that coffee was not available, 9.45 for goodness sake, and its a hotel, The at around10.40 the same member of staff asked us rather rudely if we were residents (after the amount of times we have been there he really should recognise us) when we answered no he rather rudely told us the doors were being locked very soon. Maybe its time to try somewhere different for our twice monthly meals with these particular friends.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank NickButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkman, Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2015

Appreciated thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel while on a business trip to the area in April 2014. The accommodation was comfortable and quiet giving a good nights sleep. The food in the restaurant was of good quality both for the evening meal and for breakfast. Staff were friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen777_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review.

As a team we are delighted to read that you can relax with us when away on business.
I will convey your kind words to the team, and I prompt you to book with us directly - for business or pleasure; We can always guarantee the best available rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had our Wedding breakfast and evening reception at the Roebuck on 7th June. We loved this hotel as the price was within our budget which is important. The gardens are beautiful and luckily the sun was shining despite bad weather reports. The staff were amazing from when we first put our deposit down to leaving the day after the wedding. They responded to all my queries in record timing which makes planning a wedding a lot easier. The staff were friendly and helpful the whole time and the Wedding day went without a hitch. They catered to the way we wanted our day to be. We were allowed in on the Friday to set the venue up and they packed all our stuff up at the end of the reception allowing us to collect everything the next morning. The food was hot and well presented and all the guests commented on how nice it was. We also paid extra for an evening buffet which our guests scoffed down as quick as it came out!! Breakfast was included with our room which was nice as it didn't give us another thing to worry about. The rooms are perfectly adequate for this type of hotel, we had the space we needed and the room was lovely and quiet. Nick and Val really are the driving force behind The Roebuck. I will continue to recommend The Roebuck to friends and family..... not just for events but even just to have a meal. Thank you for helping may our day so special. xx

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikiB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you kindly for your review on Trip Advisor following your stay.

It is a pleasure it is to read that the day was memorable and that all guests and family thoroughly enjoyed the celebrations.

I will certainly pass on your kind words to the team, and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel when I can assure you of our very best attention.

I wish you both all the best for your future,

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forest Row
1.6 mi away
Brambletye Hotel
Brambletye Hotel
#2 of 2 in Forest Row
230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
7.0 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Best Western The Birch Hotel
Best Western The Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haywards Heath
419 reviews
5.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,347 reviews
8.9 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roebuck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roebuck Hotel

Address: Wych Cross 1, Forest Row RH18 5JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Forest Row
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forest Row
Price Range: £56 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Roebuck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Roebuck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roebuck Hotel Forest Row, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing