We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Short Break”
Review of The Roebuck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Roebuck Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forest Row
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pleasant Short Break”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The Roebuck Hotel is a very pleasant place to stay in East Sussex with many places of interest to visit near by. The rooms are comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful. The menu is varied, with many 'old favourites', and the breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Susan

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip advisor.
It is lovely to read that you enjoyed your mini holiday with us, and really hope to see you back again soon!
Maybe next time you can stay for longer and enjoy more of the hotel and Ashdown Forest!

Please book directly with us in future to receive the best available rates.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    177
    73
    36
    15
See reviews for
107
248
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
thanet
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We enjoyed a two night stay in this lovely, cosy, and above all FRIENDLY, hotel to attend a family wedding. To put it simply, it could not have been better. The staff were friendly, but not familiar, efficient, but not pushy. Public areas felt like a home from home - comfortable and not overwhelming. Old fashioned country style decor - leather sofas, woodpanelling etc. Bit shabby in places but not enough to detract from the charm of the place. The breakfasts and bar meals were good and wholesome, the wedding breakfast was served with style. Everything went off smoothly and I can find nothing to fault!

Room Tip: Hotel is on the A22 but we didn't experience any traffic noise in our room (302). Might be a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thanetians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Thanetians

Thank you for your kind review of your stay.

I will certainly pass on your praise to the team, and I am so glad to read that we made you feel like home.

We hope to welcome you back again soon, if you do decide to visit us again please book directly for the best available rates.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Had a lovely Sunday lunch with family & friends, the carvery was very nice & fresh with 3 meats to choose from. The staff seemed friendly enough, we arrived before lunch so sat & had a drink on the terrace. Fairly reasonable.

Room Tip: Didn't stay, only visited for Sunday lunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee123359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Dee

Thank you for your lovely review of our Sunday carvery.
I am glad that you got to take advantage of the views from the terrace before your lunch.
I will pass on your kind words to the team,

We hope to see you again soon,

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

When booking hotels in this area you expect high prices and indifferent service such is the demand for rooms. Most hotels in Lewes and Brighton were full or outlandishly expensive!!!
This is certainly not the case with The Roebuck. As soon as I spoke to Nick, the General Manager when booking, I knew this would be a good experience; he was friendly, helpful and amusing. He also warned us that two weddings were taking place during our two night stay; you have to expect this unless you want to pay double or triple the price at a smaller hotel and it is great to be warned in advance. On arriving, the front car park was full but to my surprise the rear car park would hold around 150 cars and there were masses of spaces; there is a rear entry to the hotel but Nick invited us to park at the main front door to unload. The room was fine, with all amenities including a hairdryer, toiletries, large bath towels, coffee and tea, biscuits, ironing board and iron and an excellent simple to use flat screen (what else) TV. The Free Wifi was okay but occasionally went off - just create an account and login - no password needed.
The shower was brilliant - quite the best I've experienced in the UK at vastly more expensive hotels. The room (307) overlooked some well kept grounds and there was no noise from the road.
The first wedding's music ended around 11 pm and the second night about 11:30, and so a good night's sleep followed and it was not a problem. The 1st night's wedding guests included a number of young Flight Attendants who provided an impromptu 'in flight safety briefing' in the large reception lounge - brilliantly funny.
The breakfast is waitress service and cooked to order. From 'ordering to eating' took only a few minutes despite a very busy post-wedding crowd in the restaurant. The selection of fresh fruits (two types of grapes, orange segments and melon) was very welcomed. There were various cereals and 3 fruit juices to choose from plus fresh croissants and a range of pastries and breads making the entire breakfast a real bargain for an additional £7 approx. Our waitress was superb - ever smiling, helpful and hard working - and Polish, I think. What would we do without these enthusiastic Eastern European staff? Nick keeps a close eye on his team and runs a very friendly efficient hotel at a bargain price - we will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the hotel are probably better as there is a fairly busy road to the front but m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wingco44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Winco44

Thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely comments about our hotel.

I do agree that other hotels in the area can be expensive, however we like to provide quality service with a smile for a cheaper price!

Thank you for your kind words about the team, I will certainly pass on your praise!

I am so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon in the near future. I urge you to book directly for the best available rates and choice of rooms.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed at The Roebuck for two nights for my brother's wedding. Upon checking in we were greeted by the very welcoming and smiley Magenta, who gave us our room keys. When booking, I had been advised that I had the last twin room, but that this would be made into a double for us. Unfortunately the room was set up as a twin, but it was no hardship to push the beds together (which made a very generous and comfortable double!).
As a vegan guest of the wedding I was very well catered for at breakfast and during the wedding breakfast. I called ahead to ask whether there would be anything suitable for me at breakfast and was very pleased to find a selection of fresh fruits at the buffet, plus soya milk for cereal and coffee. Our waitress Alina then informed me that the chef was preparing a cooked breakfast too, it was wonderful to be so looked after! During the wedding breakfast I also enjoyed a lovely three course meal (soup, a vegetable and nut stirfry with rice, sorbet). I'm so grateful that they went to this extra effort.
In terms of the room, it was a good size and very comfortable. The only cons were one slightly dirty towel and the corners of the rooms could benefit from a lick of paint, but again this did not impact on our stay at all and the room made a very comfortable base for the weekend. The shower (over bath) was amazing, really powerful and endless hot water. TV, iron, kettle etc - all great. Really comfy bed, as I mentioned. Nice view over the garden. Very clean thanks to the chambermaids. 'The Cloud' wifi was available with good connection throughout most of the hotel, which is free to use if you have an account set up.
The venue itself was also ideal for the wedding, nice bar and restaurant, attentive staff, great gardens for photos (including swing!) and a nice patio area with benches leading off the bar. Ample parking etc. My understanding is that the staff were very accommodating and supportive to the happy couple. It may not be a luxury stately home venue but as a guest it felt very comfortable, welcoming, grand/attractive enough to be a great setting for a wedding and I really had a great time there.

Room Tip: I was in 311, which was first floor, looked over the garden, end of the corridor and very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Polly

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and your stay.

I will certainly pass on your lovely words about the team, I am sure they will be thrilled that they made your trip feel more like home!

We were happy to cater for your dietary requirements, we find it very easy to accommodate for people with all sorts of different needs!

We hope that you visit us again, for a leisure stay where you can enjoy good food, good service and outstanding views of the Ashdown Forest. If you do decide to return, please contact us directly for room preference and our best available rates!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Beautiful hotel, fantastic food and polite, efficient and great staff. My friend hosted his wedding here and it was a brilliant day, the hotel & grounds were the perfect setting! The food was delicious! Would absolutely pay this place a visit again!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissHayleyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Hayley

We are grateful for such a warming review!

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your time at the wedding, and got to relish the hotel's fine food and friendly service.

We hope to welcome you back to The Roebuck in the near future, please book with us directly to receive our best available rates and gain preference on rooms!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Traditional unpretentious old coaching Inn with panelled rooms and big comfortable leather sofas, extensive lawns and gardens at rear. Our 2 night stay and the layout of the rooms felt as if we were in someone's home. The staff were unobtrusive, but always on hand and extremely efficient, helpful and friendly. The quality of the food was very good considering the price. The speed and efficiency of the staff when serving the wedding breakfast was outstanding. Food arrived hot and the veg were not overcooked. Would definitely recommend.
It was a great location for a Summer wedding, but it also looked as if it would be a great cosy Winter location too with it's huge open fires and comfortable lounges.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Satellina

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

It is so warming to read that you enjoyed the wedding, and that the food, service and staff all made it more special and homely for you.

I agree that we are blessed with the garden and terrace for the summer months, and come winter we have a cosy and warm hotel to relax in.

We hope to see you again soon, and please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly for the best prices, and best rooms available.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forest Row
0.7 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
2.2 mi away
Brambletye Hotel
Brambletye Hotel
#2 of 2 in Forest Row
215 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
5.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,246 reviews
7.0 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roebuck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roebuck Hotel

Property: The Roebuck Hotel
Address: Wych Cross 1, Forest Row RH18 5JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Forest Row
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forest Row
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Roebuck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Roebuck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roebuck Hotel Forest Row, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing