We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good fresh food, brilliant hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taffels

Taffels
Ranked #7 of 18 Restaurants in Forest Row
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$19
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Mediterranean, European, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Forest Row, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good fresh food, brilliant hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Tucked away on the Hartfield Road, Forest Row is a gem of a local eaterie. Fresh, locally sourced food served within milliseconds of being cooked is the reason why locals love to eat here.
The captivating and artist decor add to the bohemian eaterie feel and round off a wonderful dining experience.
If planning an evening meal always call ahead as they are not always open in the evening.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    17
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Another happy visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We have been to Taffells a few time so I figured it was time for a new review. We went on a late Sunday morning, after a walk and had the vegetarian breakfast. It was really good, everything was fresh and tasty (quite a big plate for me). We love their bread. We'll come back again, thanks!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mmerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hormone Soup is not on the Menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

I visit Taffels when I visiting a friend who lives in the area. I visited a couple of years ago and having not eaten all day had an exceptional lunch, sat outside in the sun.

This time I visted at lunch time when it was full of women, with 1 man, who unfortunately all seemed to be having emotional issues at the same time. The energy was distinctly odd to say the least.

I sat down in a pack restaurant, as it was raining (there's a surprise) outside seating was not an option. The tables are closely packed so it is difficult to have that privacy with hearing every word of the conversations on either side. I was waiting for a girlfriend who had dropped off her stuff and gone next door for a wee while, but left me to order.

Well I could see the waitress, and I could see food coming very slowly out to the customers. I had been warned that I should order when I got there as the food is notoriously slow in coming. It would have been good to see the waitress on her game, ready to take and order rather than having to attempt to signal her, and then actually get up and ask.

I am informed that the ordering process is somewhat simpler when other waiting staff are working. Unfortunately I didn't visit on that day. I ordered my food and that of my companion and her child, having been assured that it would coming soon. The waitress returned after 15 minutes to tell me that what my companion had wanted was finished, so I ordered something else. 35 minutes later the food arrived.

One good point, my companion had not returned, so the waitress offered to keep my companions food warm - excellent service but totally non-plussed at this consideration and customer care when all else was missing.

The food was very good, and although another reviewer has complained about the prices, I was unsurprised at its expense as I am fully aware of how expensive Forest Row can be.

I would return here, but perhaps in sunnier times to sit outside away from the hormone soup of a weekly lunchtime in Forest Row.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellieurs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't be in a rush”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I liked Taffels' atmosphere and the seating area was laid back and staff were friendly. But when we visited the restaurant there were six people including us ordering lunch - not many covers by any standard but our simple lunches took over thirty minutes to arrive. We had asked for toast and it had obviously been standing around and was hard. We asked for butter and were given two pieces which just about did one of the four slices. The people next to us had the chips on their order missed off and the waitress explained to them that she hadn't seen that chips were included as a flower was covering part of the board with the specials on it.
Taffels really does work as a great meeting place, but when you are charging over £30.00 for two basic breakfasts and coffees you want quick professional service. I wondered if the place couldn't cope with six orders what happens when it gets really busy?

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Botley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An unexpected find - excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Food superb - olives & wood pigeon followed by steak and belly of pork, all washed down with a very pleasant Aussie chardonnay! Topped off with a great cup of coffee and a chocolate brownie… divine! The setting is great too - compact but never so that you feel intruded upon by others - and the service just the right mix of attentive and 'leave you alone'. Would recommend this to anyone in or passing through Forest Row… as others have said, a real gem, unexpected!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taffels also viewed

Forest Row, East Sussex
Forest Row, East Sussex
 
Forest Row, East Sussex
Forest Row, East Sussex
 

Been to Taffels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing