We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful haven in the country - perfect!”

Review of The Piggery

Piggery and quayside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Piggery and quayside
The Piggery viewed from the stream The Piggery
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Piggery and quayside
The Piggery viewed from the stream
The Piggery
Quayside and seating
The Piggery sitting room
Sitting room
Sitting room
Bedroom
View from paddock
Moss Cottage
View from stables of the piggery
Riding on the forest
Stream bordering the garden
Path to the quayside
Gravel courtyard and garden lighting to Piggery
The Piggery in summer
Seclusion
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hartfield, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Evangelin...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Peaceful haven in the country - perfect!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We were looking for a peaceful weekend getaway from London to celebrate my birthday, with our 9 month-old daughter. We searched several places but none seemed to cater to all of our requirements. Travelling with a baby makes things that much more tricky! We wanted somewhere secluded but also well-equipped with all the amenities to prepare baby meals etc. When we found the Piggery the photos on Tripadvisor were so idyllic I was a bit skeptical. But then the reviews were all glowing, so we decided to take the plunge. Boy were we glad we did! What an absolute find! The Piggery is everything as shown in the photos and more. It is quite possible to spend several days in the place without even wanting to travel beyond the grounds of the house. Yes, really! The grounds are spacious, well-maintained and extremely pretty. There are tables and chairs for outside dining purposes as well as a barbecue and the necessary fuel. The Piggery is located close to Pooh Sticks Bridge and Ashdown Forest. It's a walkers paradise. We had the little one with us and no appropriate sling so we only ventured as far as Pooh Sticks Bridge which she thoroughly enjoyed. There is a cosy little pub, The Hatch, not far from the Piggery. I enjoyed a lovely birthday meal there. I could go on and on about the many interesting sights in the area but I expect I should speak a little more about the Piggery itself. There is very little to fault in this well-designed space. The cosy ground floor living/front room is the perfect place to relax. It leads to a fully-equipped bathroom and kitchen. Although we didn't go for the breakfast option, tea and coffee as well as breakfast cereal, milk and fruit was provided. This was a real bonus. There was also a mini bar and wine to purchase so you wouldn't have to worry about running out of supplies! We didn't worry about taking our own bath robes as we had read that these were also supplied. This too was a useful bonus. (There is a washing machine and iron for those staying longer.) The upstairs bedroom was cosy and spacious with the loveliest view of the stream below. The only comment I could make was that the steep staircase was a little precarious when carrying a baby! Apart from that one little detail, this little cottage is perfection in the countryside. Mention must also be made of the wonderful hosts. Jenny and Paul were incredibly hospitable and helpful. We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Pretty much everything!
Liked least: Staircase with the baby.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winniethe...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I don't believe in god which means I don't believe in heaven, except that I do, for it exists just behind Moss Cottage on the Ashdown Forest. For three and a half weeks I have enjoyed the peace and quiet of The Piggery. I have awoken to the sounds of the stream as it makes its way past and to the sounds of the birds welcoming the day. I enjoyed my stay so much that I didn't want to leave. It was idyllic in every way. My many visitors to The Piggery were also struck by its setting, its comfort and charm and it is tempting for me not to write a review ~ I know others have felt like this ~ in order to keep this place quiet from the world. However, it should be shared and enjoyed because it is indeed food for the soul. An enormous thank you to Jenny and Paul, for it is you two who are the cherries on the cake (read gate here J and P!) I hope I have made two new friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, there's nothing not to like
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris p
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heaven is next to a little stream in Ashdown Forest”
Reviewed 3 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Dear God, please take us back to the Piggery, in our dreams at least if not in reality. for 24 blessed hours we remembered how to breath, sleep and do very little...
Thank you Jenny and Paul for creating such a peaceful and beautiful haven in this mad world. Oh and Lucy too of course.
Just what we needed.
Lou and Chris.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth C
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous”
Reviewed 10 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The photographs do not do this place justice! Beautiful setting, incredibly friendly hosts (Jenny) and left feeling very spoilt!

The newly decked area behind the piggery, over the brook is very pretty and the accommodation itself was great - loved the little touches from the dressing gowns to a fabulous breakfast selection in the fridge.

An absolute pleasure and we couldn't recommend it enough. We would have loved to spent an extra night but sadly needed to get back.

Beth

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Exceeded expectations
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 21 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Northen_M...
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfectly cosy”
Reviewed 28 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

A great location next to the ford and a short walk from a lovely pub. Jenny is charming host who stocked the fridge with a great range of fabulous food for breakfast. Our chocolate lab thoroughly enjoyed his stay at the Piggery as did we. Great for a romantic or relaxing few days away, just down the road from Pooh Bridge so you can play Pooh sticks!.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log fire, location, cosy atmosphere, breakfast
Liked least: The quality of the bed sheets
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
princess0...
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Our favourite B&B”
Reviewed 14 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
4
people found this review helpful

We found Moss Cottage by chance browsing on the Internet, and within five minutes we'd booked a weekend there. As soon as we arrived, we knew we'd made a brilliant choice. The setting is idyllic, and the surroundings in the Ashdown Forest offer plenty of wonderful walks right in the heart of Winnie the Pooh country.
I booked by phone, and from the start found Jenny as easy to chat to as an old friend. She and Paul couldn't have made us more welcome. The Piggery is set apart from the main house, overlooking a stream. It has its own kitchen, and we opted to have our breakfast there. We found the fridge and cupboards stocked to overflowing, including veggie goodies for me.
The Piggery is very cosy, with a wood-burner that provides warmth and atmosphere in the evenings. There's satellite TV, wifi, and the shelves are stocked with DVDs and books, and maps of the local area.
For some people, the steep stairs up to the bedroom might be a drawback, especially if you get caught short during the night and need to use the bathroom downstairs.
If you like old cars, this is paradise. Paul was busy restoring an old mini in one of the out buildings, and in the garage was a beautiful 1935 Morris Eight. Paul and Jenny took us out for a ride in it - one of the highlights of our weekend. We ended up in the Hatch, the lovely local pub.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing