We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“An idyllic place we didn't want to leave.”

Review of The Piggery

Piggery and quayside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Piggery and quayside
The Piggery viewed from the stream The Piggery
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
38 reviews
Piggery and quayside
The Piggery viewed from the stream
The Piggery
Quayside and seating
The Piggery sitting room
Sitting room
Sitting room
Bedroom
View from paddock
Moss Cottage
View from stables of the piggery
Riding on the forest
Stream bordering the garden
Path to the quayside
Gravel courtyard and garden lighting to Piggery
The Piggery in summer
Seclusion
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hartfield, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1beebee
Lincoln
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An idyllic place we didn't want to leave.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Paul and Jenny were wonderful hosts and we couldn't fault them. We arrived to find the Piggery kitchen equipped with lots of little extras, such as sugar, which made life simple from the start. Jenny also offered to get us items for the fridge, such as milk and eggs. The Piggery is delightful - sadly, we didn't need to use the woodburner, but it was a lovely ornament! The lounge is cosy for two and there was an excellent selection of DVDS to play. Jenny also loaned me a recent film I was keen to see, which she had just bought for herself. The surroundings are idyllic, with birds singing, a stream flowing behind the cottage and a deck to sit out on. Everything was so peaceful and this is the perfect place to get away from it all, ideally situated for walks in the forest and trips out for gardens, castles and the like. The pub is within walking distance and serves really good food. There again, people were so friendly and both nights we went, although very busy, they squeezed us in. As others have noted, the stairs are steep, so not suitable for some, but if you have mobility we would highly recommend the Piggery for a holiday.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The view from the bedroom window
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lpjones66...
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tranquil Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Don't be put off by the name!
Its a lovely little stand alone wooden building. Very warm and cosy, back up heating plus a great log burner.
Only stayed for one night, but ample kitchen space, bathroom ect for longer stay, comfortable bed and sheets, stairs to bedroom quite steep.
We weren't able to enjoy the garden due to weather but would love to return in the Summer.
Our hosts were friendly and helpful, could have talked cars all day!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anrimarti...
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A true gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a weekend in November. This is without a doubt the most romantic, idyllic, and cosy cottage we have ever rented. We opted for the fridge to be stocked for breakfast so we could wake up and cook at leisure. What a spread Jenny provided! Everything from bacon and sausages, eggs, etc to smoked salmon, yoghurt, fresh berries - all organic too!
The cottage overlooks a stream in Jenny and Paul's beautiful garden. There is a pretty deck - completely private behind the cottage for guests to use. The setting is truly picturesque.
Jenny and Paul are fantastic hosts and strike that fine balance between being hospitable and welcoming, without being intrusive at all. The cottage feels completely private and secluded.
We will most definitely return here often! A wonderful place!!

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul O
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location, everything thought of”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 2 nights and had a fantastic time. A genuine welcome, and everything had been thought of. More than basic supplies (milk, tea, cereal, and more) provided at no charge, makes all the difference. Log fire set up and ready to go. Very comfortable throughout, and woke up to look out over the stream that runs next to the property. Separate decked area looked beautiful, we didn't have the weather to enjoy it. Definitely planning to visit again!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hthain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little bit of paradise.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Organised this weekend as a surprise for my husbands 40th. He is one who loves the nostalgia of woodfires and beams. You can imagine his absolute joy at this little gem I stumbled upon. The cottage is a perfect place to rest and recouperate. Beautifully situated and decorated. The hosts Paul and Jenny were very friendly and attentive. They did everything to make our brief visit as relaxed as possible. The finer details like milk, tea, coffee, fruit etc ready on your arrival only served to enhance the experience. They had thought of everything. We thoroughly enjoyed the ambience of the place. Enjoying a glass of wine or two out on the decking by the stream and cosying up in front of the roaring fire watching tv. Cottage is also ideally situated for leisurely walks and enjoying the great outdoors. We were very sad to be leaving so soon but will definitely be returning. Perfect for all to detox from the strains of life! Thank you.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evangelin...
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful haven in the country - perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We were looking for a peaceful weekend getaway from London to celebrate my birthday, with our 9 month-old daughter. We searched several places but none seemed to cater to all of our requirements. Travelling with a baby makes things that much more tricky! We wanted somewhere secluded but also well-equipped with all the amenities to prepare baby meals etc. When we found the Piggery the photos on Tripadvisor were so idyllic I was a bit skeptical. But then the reviews were all glowing, so we decided to take the plunge. Boy were we glad we did! What an absolute find! The Piggery is everything as shown in the photos and more. It is quite possible to spend several days in the place without even wanting to travel beyond the grounds of the house. Yes, really! The grounds are spacious, well-maintained and extremely pretty. There are tables and chairs for outside dining purposes as well as a barbecue and the necessary fuel. The Piggery is located close to Pooh Sticks Bridge and Ashdown Forest. It's a walkers paradise. We had the little one with us and no appropriate sling so we only ventured as far as Pooh Sticks Bridge which she thoroughly enjoyed. There is a cosy little pub, The Hatch, not far from the Piggery. I enjoyed a lovely birthday meal there. I could go on and on about the many interesting sights in the area but I expect I should speak a little more about the Piggery itself. There is very little to fault in this well-designed space. The cosy ground floor living/front room is the perfect place to relax. It leads to a fully-equipped bathroom and kitchen. Although we didn't go for the breakfast option, tea and coffee as well as breakfast cereal, milk and fruit was provided. This was a real bonus. There was also a mini bar and wine to purchase so you wouldn't have to worry about running out of supplies! We didn't worry about taking our own bath robes as we had read that these were also supplied. This too was a useful bonus. (There is a washing machine and iron for those staying longer.) The upstairs bedroom was cosy and spacious with the loveliest view of the stream below. The only comment I could make was that the steep staircase was a little precarious when carrying a baby! Apart from that one little detail, this little cottage is perfection in the countryside. Mention must also be made of the wonderful hosts. Jenny and Paul were incredibly hospitable and helpful. We will definitely be back!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Pretty much everything!
Liked least: Staircase with the baby.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winniethe...
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I don't believe in god which means I don't believe in heaven, except that I do, for it exists just behind Moss Cottage on the Ashdown Forest. For three and a half weeks I have enjoyed the peace and quiet of The Piggery. I have awoken to the sounds of the stream as it makes its way past and to the sounds of the birds welcoming the day. I enjoyed my stay so much that I didn't want to leave. It was idyllic in every way. My many visitors to The Piggery were also struck by its setting, its comfort and charm and it is tempting for me not to write a review ~ I know others have felt like this ~ in order to keep this place quiet from the world. However, it should be shared and enjoyed because it is indeed food for the soul. An enormous thank you to Jenny and Paul, for it is you two who are the cherries on the cake (read gate here J and P!) I hope I have made two new friends.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything, there's nothing not to like
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$85
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing