We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Halfway House

Halfway House
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Isfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great pub, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We came in one Sunday with parents and baby so its got to be good when taking them out!
We've tried the other pubs along this road and found this to be our favorite due to the size and atmosphere.
We had the roasts (chicken and beef) which came out generously sized and the meats cooked to perfection.
With the meals it had to be Harveys (Sussex best) and they were perfect!
Overall this is the best pub on the stretch with great food, booze and a huge family based garden :-)
Roll on summer!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrjcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    23
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
east sussex
Level Contributor
237 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Too salty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Visited here for dinner last week. Food was served promptly and was of a good standard, but next day we all conferred and felt it has high salt levels leaving an after taste. Good meno selection. The pub was very quiet for a Saturday night. Good real ales particularly Harveys best bitter. Easy parking and well sited on the main rd between Lewes and Uckfield.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gsxrEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okehampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Had a great meal at the halfway house, i used to live local but now live in Devon when i come up to visit the half way is my first port of call and never disappointed just wish Mel and Rowan could move the pub nearer me.,, see you again soon

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stewart p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unfriendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

The food was pretty good and reasonably priced but the service attitude was very unfriendly. We were a well behaved mature family group but felt very unwelcome and won't be going there again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“NO FISH”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

The pub has had several different managements and at one stage had a very good selection of fish,this seems to have ceased. The menu is family style cuisine and very acceptable, service is good and prices are reasonable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Halfway House also viewed

 
Uckfield, East Sussex
Uckfield, East Sussex
 

Been to Halfway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing