We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely little pub”
Review of Halfway House

Halfway House
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Isfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
113 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A lovely little pub”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stopped here for lunch on the Easter bank holiday on the way home from a weekend away. I was greeted by a big smile from the gentleman behind the bar when I popped in to ask if it was ok to bring the dogs in and told they were welcome on the solid floors. The welcome was short lived as I was then grumpily told by the lady presented that this was only on a lead but this was not a problem. We settled in a bright corner on comfy chairs and went to look for menus, the grumpiness continued on being told about the specials and I suspect this was the person mentioned in other review who can't smile. Despite this the rest of the service we received was excellent the food and beer was good and the menu had a good selection of pasta, pies and fish among other things. There is a large beer garden and Dogs are allowed in the garden as well as the bar. There is also a field next door where we gave the dogs a little break as well. All in all it was a very good visit, despite the reception from one member of staff, which was made up for the others.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Buzznsmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    23
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place to meet and eat”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have met here a number of times in the evening to eat and to catch up on some admin tasks we do as volunteers in same organisation. We have had excellent service from a variety of staff , a great selection of food, some really good personalised service and at no time have felt rushed to move us on. In fact coming here makes admin and planning meetings enjoyable as well as the company of my colleague of course. the food is good quality and a great selection - am working my way down the menu plus there are some interesting specials to choose from. The "bannofee pie" is to die for ! its not really busy which is a shame for the quality we received but great as there is always space to have a good sized table to sit on, and food arrives really quickly.
Would also choose to eat there as a special night out too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sueperhockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Far better than these reviews would suggest”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

A recent visit on the spur of the moment on a Saturday night proved an enjoyable experience. The place has a nice atmosphere, was busy but not ridiculous, and the food and service were very acceptable. I will certainly visit again and suggest you give it a try. Having passed it many times I am glad I didn't pass it on this occasion.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely country pub shame about the service”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We visited today after passing, lovely pub inside decided to have lunch, food was lovely well done to the chef!! Sadly the venue was let down by a member of staff who lacked the art of good customer service. Really would have made our visit and given an otherwise lovely pub an excellent review.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Onajollytothezoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Swell pub, shame about poorly mannered member of staff.”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Overall, the food was average, as was the service. However, upon arriving at the pub with my family, it came to our notice that one of the staff members were particularly unwelcoming.
With a rude and lazy work ethic, it made us feel awkward, and it soon became apparent that this employee was completely incapable of smiling. If you like to eat food, but enjoy a tense and rude atmosphere employed by staff, then this is the pub for you.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Violet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Halfway House also viewed

 
Uckfield, East Sussex
Uckfield, East Sussex
 

Been to Halfway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing