We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Boship Lions Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lower Dicker
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was the 3rd time we stayed here. We heard it had been taken over so expected great things. Oh what a disappointment. The grounds has been changed so much that it looked like a Bollywood set. Far too many pointless statues. Whoever thought it would look nice...So tacky! The room smelt of wet paint, and 1 teabag only. Curtains very grubby and too small for the window. Bin not emptied from previous occupier! And as for the breakfast....The last time we stayed the breakfast was freshly cooked to order. No such luck this time! Plastic eggs and bacon so hard and overcooked you could not cut it. Cereal and juice (watered down) not worth a look. No fruit salad or crossants. Very bad.
When we checked out there was no one on reception so we left our key....and left. We expected much more least of all a decent breakfast considering the price we paid. And I suspect that the owner will get his 'friends' to write a good review if the wedding is anything to go by.

Room Tip: Don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crystalskull12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GULZAR2011, Front Office Manager at The Boship Lions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank You for writing your comments on the Boship Lions Farm Hotel.

I have passed all these details onto our Head of Departments with regards to the Breakfast service and Reception being left unattended.

The breakfast services changes depending on the numbers in the hotel, when the hotel is busier we do use the hot buffet compared to when it is quieter when we offer a plated service.

The Lions Group have recently taken over the Boship and we are wanting to bring it up to the high standards of our other three good 3*properties on the Eastbourne Seafront.

With Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

We were guests on 23 August at a wedding at the Boship Farm Hotel. Lovely location for a wedding. Excellent food for the wedding meal, good service too. It's a lovely place with extensive grounds and a small lake. It was a very hot day and so it was nice to be able to wander in the grounds in the evening and take our drinks outside. Our room was large and clean. They provided a fan as it was so hot. Next morning, breakfast was good - plenty of it. Nice reception areas for a relaxing sit down and a chat with relatives before making our way home. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the huge lawn are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally2742013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GULZAR2011, Head Receptionist at The Boship Lions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to Thank You for taking the time to write about The Boship Lions Farm Hotel.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Wedding Celebrations taking place at the Hotel on the day. The Hotel is always happy to hear the positive feedback from guests.

We have recently taken over the Boship and we are wanting to bring it up to the high standards of the other 3* Hotels within the Lions Group located on the Eastbourne Seafront. Should you want to take advantage of our special offers and promotions, please call 01323 748700 and speak to Central Reservation for more information.

With Thanks

The Boship Lions Farm Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Just a big disappointment. Terrible quality of rooms and service and food. No hot water in the morning. No response given to my email of complaint.

Ripped curtains, light bulbs blown.... I could go on and on.

Don't bother staying there. I don't normally write bad reviews but this place is really worth warning people about.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdG08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GULZAR2011, Head Receptionist at The Boship Lions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank You for your recent comments on The Boship Lions Farm Hotel.

I have spoken to the General Manager of the property and I believe that he has now replied to the email in question for you.

The Lions Group have only recently taken over the Boship and we have an undergoing refurbishment plan in place at the moment, I have made sure that this room is one of the first to be addressed.

With Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Well. Where do I begin? Having stayed in the hotel before a few years ago, my expectations weren't great to begin with. However as we couldn't get into any other hotel in the area and needed somewhere closeby for a family event we booked the Boship and reserved the last two available rooms (7 & 9).
It was immediately apparent that there had been a substantial amount spent on the car park, gardens and grounds. Indeed upon entering the building I thought maybe there might have been investment inside too. I was wrong. It is true to say the grubby carpet had been replaced with a very cheap laminate in some of the public areas. It is also true that the bar area has been redesigned. Now instead of comfy chairs there are solid wood benches the length of the room and the chairs changed for conference type furniture.
The bedroom was incredibly poor to say the least. It reminded me of a grubby B and B in Blackpool. The peeling wallpaper was stained where the roof had leaked. You couldn't use the wardrobe because of the smell in it. We didn't use the tv, kettle, trouser press or telephone for fear of being electrocuted. There were no pat tests on anything.
And then there was the en suite bathroom. Whoever for one minute ever thought aquamarine sanitary ware matched pink wall tiles must have had eyesight difficulties. Even 40 or 50 years ago when the bathroom suite was fitted the colours must have clashed! The extractor was filthy but I've no idea why as it didn't work anyway. The floor was dirty as there was a leak from the toilet.
Need I go on? Oh yes the door to the room didn't shut properly, and you could hear everyone coming up and down the creaking stairs!
Breakfast was ok.
As we left we had a look at the animal statues in the grounds. Strange to say the least!!
I wonder if anyone can explain why the bronze stag in the centre of the car park has had the honour of having his tackle painted gold!?? Bizarre!

Room Tip: Book the travel lodge across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thebrookster3669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GULZAR2011, Front Office Manager at The Boship Lions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank You for taking the time to comment on The Boship Lions Farm Hotel.

The Lions Group have recently taken over The Boship, we have an ongoing refurbishment plan taking place. We are wanting to bring the standards of the Boship up to the others of the Lions Group based on the Eastbourne Seafront.

With Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Another hotel run by the legacy group. We managed to get a package deal with the legacy group, which included breakfast. Again this hotel was a bit dated, but was great value for money. The hotel was in lovely grounds, the staff were very friendly & the breakfast was very good to.

Room Tip: Get a suite its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GULZAR2011, Head Receptionist at The Boship Lions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear Guest,

We Thank You for taking the time to write about The Boship Lions Farm Hotel.

We were a Legacy Hotel, now the Hotel is part of the Lions Chain. We are very pleased to hear that you have had a good stay with the Hotel.

Should you wish to come again and take advantage of our special offers and promotions, please do not hesitate to call 01323 748700 to speak to Central Reservations.

With Thanks

The Boship Lions Farm Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We have used the Boship Farm Hotel for fifteen years, so I do believe that we know what we are talking about. During that time the hotel was starting to look tired and needed a lot of refurbishment. Luckily at the end of 2012 the hotel was bought by The Lions hotel group of Eastbourne, so we hoped that there would be investment in the hotel. Well we didn't have to wait long as work started within a couple of days of the purchase. Obviously I guess it is impossible to tackle all areas of a hotel at once but within weeks we have seen complete re-flooring and redecoration of the restaurant and function suites and to a very high standard. The grounds of the hotel have had masses of attention with an old mudded up lake turned into a beautiful carp lake. Whilst the statues of animals around the grounds may not be to everyones taste so what at least they are fun.
We have also seen workmen renovating the bedrooms and other areas of the hotel - but remember Rome was not built in a day and I guess rightly the public areas were redone first and then the bedrooms. As a regular user of the hotel I can assure anyone considering a stay here this hotel represents good value but like any major project it doesn't happen overnight. Its work in progress but from what we have seen in 8 months that progress is happening fast. You will always get petty remarks on trip advisor from people with niggles that they let fester. I know also that bad reports are sometimes posted by aggrieved ex employees of hotels so it pays to read between the lines. I am not an exployee or anything to do with The Lions hotel just a regular customer who feels that the truth should be told and in a day and age of cut backs and recession I think it is great to see someone like Mr Gulzar who is prepared to put large sums of money into a local project like this.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank David190766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GULZAR2011, Head Receptionist at The Boship Lions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear Guest,

We Thank You for taking the time to write about the Boship Lions Farm Hotel.

We have an ongoing refurbishment plan in progress within the Hotel including both the exterior and interior of the property. We are pleased to hear that you like the changes that are happening within the property.

We look forward to welcoming you to The Boship for another 15 years!

With Thanks

The Boship Lions Farm Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We were in the area for a family event and couldnt get in to any other hotel. That should have been our first clue! The room was extremely hot. You couldn't sleep due to the heat. (Room 47) Staff were not interested. Other family members were in a different family rooms and the room temp was fine. The shower drizzled at best and a simple shower took twice as long! The water was cold, but I suppose due to the room temperature it was a blessing. The bath panel was rotten and was a health and safety risk! There were no nets in the windows so you had no privacy. The window frames were screwed together so in room 42 you couldnt even open the window! (thank goodness there wasnt a fire. will be informing fire service for next inspection!)The dining room smelt of wet dog and the it was clear from the carpet in the dining room that a wet dog had in fact been in the dining room! (I am a dog owner and have nothing against dogs, but in the dining room!) Breakfast was advertised as being between 8am and 10am. However, nothing was ready at 8. This was proberly due to the hostess arriving at 8am and setting the light speed record through the car park! The staff eventually provided toasters to make toast but there was no where to plug them in until they eventually got an extension cable. However, it only toasted on one side. The public toilets in the reception area didn't have any paper towels so one was forced to use toilet roll. There were so many other things. I was impressed as I drove into the car park and approached the front door but then as I moved further through the hotel my hopes dwindled. I am sure in the 1960s or 1970s this hotel was the bees knees. However, in my opinion it needs updating and there are health and safety issues. We will not be returning. Good luck if you have the misfortune to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mergarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Dicker
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hellingly Eastbourne
5.4 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
82 reviews
6.0 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Travelodge Eastbourne Willingdon Drove
7.1 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,258 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boship Lions Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boship Lions Hotel

Address: A22 | Hailsham, Lower Dicker BN27 4AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lower Dicker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lower Dicker
Price Range: £51 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boship Lions Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Boship Lions Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boship Farm Lower Dicker
The Boship Lions Hotel Lower Dicker, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing