We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boship Lions Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Boship Lions Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lower Dicker
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Christmas”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

From the moment we arrived there was not any Christmas Cheer.Dog friendly this hotel is NOT.The room was dirty and there are too many things broken to write down.There were not enough staff and the few that had worked were doing many jobs The owners and management need to take a good look at everything as they are in the HOSPITALITY business.Never again a Christmas ruined.

Room Tip: None.The whole experience was awful.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank elaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GULZAR2011, Head Receptionist at The Boship Lions Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about The Boship Lions Farm Hotel. I am sorry to hear about your experience.

We appreciate all feedback that we gain from a guest's experience and act upon the negative comments.

There is now an extensive refurbishment plan in place and a vast improvement has been made already.

Should you want to write down your comments and forward them to: boship@lionhotelsltd.com, I will ensure that the Manager will respond to them.

With Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    110
    81
    93
    125
See reviews for
95
183
22
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Decided to book Xmas night so i wouldn't have a long drive home......i wish i hadn't bothered!!!!
What staff were on duty were very nice.
Main problems were:-
The heating in the bathroom made it like a sauna but heating in the room didn't work
Sink tap didn't seem to work then came off in may hands
The shower definitely didn't shower...it didn't even trickle!
All the milk was out of date
Minor complaint but beds way to soft and pillows like rocks!!
On reporting this on check out i was told it would be feed back but they doubted anything would be done about!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tankkgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GULZAR2011, Head Receptionist at The Boship Lions Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about The Boship Lions Farm Hotel. I am sorry to hear about your experience.

We appreciate all feedback that we gain from a guest's stay and act upon the negative comments.

We have undertaken an extensive refurbishment plan including the bedrooms and there has already been a vast improvement made.

Please can you forward your complaint to: boship@lionhotelsltd.com and I will ensure that the Manager responds to you.

With Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailsham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Warm and welcoming reception. A lovely log fire in the bar. The Sussex Room which we had booked for our family lunch (15) was beautifully decorated with Christmas tree and several side tables for our use. Tables and crackers of the highest quality. Unusual soup (Cauliflower/ apple ) delightful. Smoked salmon starters mouthwatering. Main meal varied and enjoyed by all. Rest of menu excellent. Serving staff slip silently in and out. Cheese board enormous. and all of this in a beautiful setting. Our ages ranged from 16 years to 78 years and we are still talking about the wonderful experience we had at the Boship Hotel, so much so that we have booked for Christmas day next year and a special occasion in the Summer. Well done the Boship!.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffreyStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GULZAR2011, Head Receptionist at The Boship Lions Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Stone Family,

Thank you for your comments about your family Christmas Luncheon at The Boship Lions Farm Hotel.

We are really pleased to hear that everyone enjoyed the day. We have passed on all your thanks and appreciation to the staff members that were working that day.

We look forward to welcoming you and the family back for your next occasion.

With Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Some improvement but not good enough yet. more attention to detail is needed .I don't think i would return Try the travelodge over the road .The lions boship hotel is in a good setting but that all you can say about it

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetskiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lower Dicker hotels

Hailsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

we where invited to a retirement party. the food was the worst i have ever had. cold and tasteless dished up on cold plates. when a couple of our party complained the staff just put dinner in microwave to reheat. but couldnt improve on taste

Room Tip: dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 981angelal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Having been a regular visitor to the Boship over the years, I have just returned from my latest stay. On arrival I could instantly see changes to the outside of the hotel and the improvements are significant. The lake areas are stunning and really make a focal point for the hotel.

My room was of good standard. The food was great, evening meal was good every night and breakfast was substantial and of good quality.

Fran and her team were welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Very friendly staff.

The Lions group are making great strides with this hotel and I look forward to my next visit, to see what other exciting things they have implemented.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The hotel was booked by a friend as it was 'dog friendly' I presume we were in the courtyard as that is where dogs can go, it may mean the non-dog rooms were luxurious, it may mean other courtyard rooms were luxurious, ours was a toilet except there was more evidence of water in it than the bathroom!

In any other hotel I've stayed in this would be classed as 'un-servicable' - to book people into it says a lot about the management of the hotel, my friend didn't want to make a fuss as it was "cheap" and "we wouldn't be staying in it much" we were in it too long! Our twin room was a double bed with a busted mattress and a zed-bed, so when they meant twins I'm guessing they didn't mean identical twins?

I will post pictures of our room, you can see for yourself. Never before have I looked out - seen a Travelodge (its directly opposite) and felt envious! Do yourself a favour and stay there!

Staff were friendly enough, breakfast was good but a bowl rather than a thimble for the cereal would be nice.

I cannot see why I would want to stay at this establishment again - EVER!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jud9e_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Dicker
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel
7.1 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
6.1 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Priory Court Hotel
Priory Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pevensey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
8.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boship Lions Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boship Lions Hotel

Property: The Boship Lions Hotel
Address: A22 | Hailsham, Lower Dicker BN27 4AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lower Dicker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lower Dicker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boship Lions Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your The Boship Lions Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boship Farm Lower Dicker
The Boship Lions Hotel Lower Dicker, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing