We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Stafff But Not Much More”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Boship Lions Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lower Dicker
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Visited on a Thursday evening intending to have dinner. After choosing from the very limited 3 main courses on offer we were told that 1 choice had been exhausted & only one portion remained of another. At that point we paid for our drinks & moved on to the excellent White Hart in Lower Horsebridge.

Room Tip: Avoid if you want to eat where you stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Denis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

We have been coming to the Boship now twice a year for the last five years as part of the wonderful Starfish Project, which holds its courses there.
In that time I have seen the Boship undergo many changes, and I have to say, they are all for the better. There is a new manager in place, Alex, and he really is an asset, he runs the place like clockwork and nothing is too much trouble for him. He even brought out jugs of squash to all the people on our course who had been playing football, a thoughtful touch which was very well recieved. The staff are all very friendly and go out of their way to help.
The food in the restaurant has changed beyond all recognition, the meals on the last course from which we have just returned were the best yet. Delicious, wholesome food, cooked well and served promptly and efficiently.....what more could you ask?
The rooms are still varying in decor but as the hotel is undergoing a full restoration program, in time all the rooms will be of a very high standard. We stayed in the Ashdown suite again, and as usual were very satisfied. The linen is spotless, the beds are very comfortable and the shower powerful and piping hot. Ok, the furniture is a little tired but there is plenty of storage space and the whole atmosphere is welcoming.
The beautiful grounds are a real bonus to this hotel. They are very spacious and peaceful (except when our lot have their usual football match after the days session!) and there are numerous places to simply sit and watch the world go by. The new owner appears to be very keen on animals....there are llamas, alpacas, reindeer, rabbits, chickens and a peacock as well as lots of model animals dotted around, quirky but fun!
This hotel isn't the Ritz (yet!) but we love it. The place oozes charm, is very welcoming and we are looking forward very much to our return in July.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladymariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GULZAR2011, Central Reservations at The Boship Lions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about The Boship Lions Farm Hotel.

We are really pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your recent course.

The Hotel is undergoing an extensive refurbishment plan and we are well underway with it all.

Alex has been informed of your praise and is he is very thankful for it.

We look forward to seeing you again in July!

With Thanks

Fran Harwood
Central Reservations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Just had a memorable 4 days. The service was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for Alex the manager. He looked after us very well. We know the improvements are on-going and we look forward to seeing those when we return in July.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank lyndan2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GULZAR2011, Central Reservations at The Boship Lions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for comments about The Boship Lions Farm Hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself whilst here with the Starfish Project.

We look forward to seeing you again in July.

With Thanks

Fran Harwood
Central Reservations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before but the improvement this time round was really noticeable. The meals were very pleasant and much better than we had experienced in the past and the staff, especially Alex, the new manager, were very friendly and welcoming. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GULZAR2011, Central Reservations at The Boship Lions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing about The Boship Lions Farm Hotels and the improvements made.

The Hotel is currently undergoing an extensive refurbishment plan and we are constantly trying to improve the facilities available.

Your praise of the food and staff will be passed on for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

With Thanks

Fran Harwood
Central Reservations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I would like to compliment the Boship staff for making Mothering Sunday an enjoyable experience for my mum. All staff involved were very friendly & helpful - from Gilly on Reception at time of booking, Natasha for her prompt response to my email re menu choices, the warm & friendly welcome from Alex (Assistant Manager) and attention during our time there & all the restaurant staff. The food was extremely good and the music provided very entertaining. It was good to see the improved decor of the restaurant and the work undertaken in the grounds - a lot of change since our visit in Feb 2013. (Our visit did not involve an overnight stay on this occa

I have to agree with some of the comments re the finishing touches that are still needed to decor in parts of the hotel, particularly the Ladies toilet facilities and the carpeting from the main door to the steps leading to the toilets. I'm sure (and hope) that these will be attended to all in good time.

The Boship holds sentimental value to us so look forward to enjoying its improvements.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GULZAR2011, Central Reservations at The Boship Lions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about The Boship Lions Farm Hotel.

We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Mothering Sunday Luncheon with the Hotel.

We are always working on improving the facilities within the Hotel and an extensive refurbishment plan is currently underway.

We hope to welcome you back to The Boship Lions Farm Hotel in the near future.

With Thanks

Fran Harwood
Central Reservations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

At the weekend, my club held a school days themed dinner and party at the Boship. Our theme meant that we had many requirements, in terms of food and layout etc. I'm very pleased to say that the team at the Boship managed to meet all our requirements. The Boship staff (especially Natasha the Events Manager, Alex the Assistant Manager and Fran at Reception) were extremely helpful, friendly and professional, both in the lead-up to our event and over the weekend itself. The whole team went out of their way to help me (the event organiser) ensure that our event ran smoothly - a very successful weekend, thank you! I would definitely host another event at the Boship.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GULZAR2011, Central Reservations at The Boship Lions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about The Boship Lions Farm Hotel.

We are very pleased to hear that you and your group had a successful party, we certainly enjoyed ourselves too!

Your thanks has been passed onto all the member of staff at The Boship and we can not wait till the next Harley Davidson reunion party.

With Thanks

Fran Harwood
Central Reservations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed at the boship many times over the past 5 years.My first few visits the hotel was very tired and in need of substantial investment but the staff did there very best with what they had.
Over the past couple of years the new owner has made massive investment to update the facilities and improve/tidy the grounds(this is an on going project and not completed on my last stay march2014) charming old main building , lovely friendly staff
Andy Edwards(starfish project)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andedward1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GULZAR2011, Central Reservations at The Boship Lions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent comments about The Boship Lions Farm Hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you are impressed with the changes and improvements been made.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the next Starfish Project!

With Thanks

Fran Harwood
Central Reservations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Dicker
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hellingly Eastbourne
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel
7.1 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Travelodge Eastbourne Willingdon Drove
5.4 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
86 reviews
6 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boship Lions Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boship Lions Hotel

Address: A22, Lower Dicker BN27 4AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lower Dicker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lower Dicker
Price Range: £29 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boship Lions Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Boship Lions Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boship Farm Lower Dicker
The Boship Lions Hotel Lower Dicker, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing