We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just what we were looking for!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Games Barn

The Games Barn set in 30 acres of working farmland with fantastic views over open countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Games Barn set in 30 acres of working farmland with fantastic views over open countryside
Ramp access to the barn Living room with woodburner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
57 reviews
The Games Barn set in 30 acres of working farmland with fantastic views over open countryside
Ramp access to the barn
Living room with woodburner
The stream which runs through the entire length of the farm
The decking area with views to open countryside
The dining area
The sitting room from the other end!
And another angle of the sitting room
The front of the property
The view from the bridge
Enter a caption for your photo
The kitchen
A single bedroom (can be twin or double too) with cot
A double bedroom
The other single bedroom (which can also be a twin or a double)
The other double bedroom
The disabled wet room
The disabled wet room showing the sit down shower with no basin
The main bathroom
The ramp up to the property
The farmer, his dog and his tractor
Our happy chickens - you can feed them bread and other bits if you like
One of our cows - they love people especially if they get fed some hay or a bit of apple
One of our litters of piglets. They eat anything (except meat) and love you throwing it to them
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Mayfield, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MRE2013
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Just what we were looking for!”
Reviewed 21 December 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A spacious accommodation in a fairly secluded spot right in the middle of the South Downs - and to make it even better, on a working farm which our girls aged 7 and 9 enjoyed no end, as the hosts were happy to let them help feed the animals. Madeleine and Fred are lovely and we could not have had a nicer time.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Dec 2014
Thanks for this lovely review. We are so glad that your girls enjoyed life on our farm and we hope to see you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travellin...
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing getaway in the country.”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at the Games Barn for a weeks family holiday. The accommodation was roomy and comfortable. We were 3 generations: 3 couples and 2 small children and fitted easily into the four double bedrooms. The cot and highchair provided were also very useful. We made most of our meals in the Barn and found all the utensils needed in the kitchen.

The advice to bring wellies & waterproofs should be heeded as we had a very wet week and took lots of walks around the farm and surrounding area.

Fred and Madeleine were very welcoming and took time to explain to us and the children about living on a farm and even introduced us to the animals. The chickens provided us with lovely fresh eggs too.

WIFI and phone reception available, but not great - which helped us to switch off from our gadgets for a while, and enjoy the true countryside experience.

There was lots to do in the area - including several close National Trust properties and many scenic walks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2014
Thanks for this review. We are glad that, despite the unseasonal wet August weather, you still enjoyed all that the farm has to offer. We note your comments about the mobile and internet . Sadly it is something we cannot fix but we do try to make it clear on our website that broadband in rural Sussex is super slow not super fast and that mobile reception can be tricky. We hope this did not spoil your stay and would love to see you all here again sometime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaJEdwa...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I travelled from Australia with my husband, 2 young children and my parents and we stayed at the barn for close to 4 weeks. We chose the Games Barn based on it's location which was extremely close to family who lived in Heathfield. The rental could not have suited our needs more - there was more than enough space for the 6 of us (and all our luggage) and the little bits and pieces in the barn (books, videos, games, drawers and hanging space for our clothes) made the barn feel like a home, rather than just a holiday rental. Although I have to make special mention - whilst it was nice to have the barn feel like home, having your bed sheets and towels changed each week and washed for you definately made it feel like a holiday!
The owners, Fred and Madeleine were fantastic. They allowed us to treat the farm like it were our home and were always available when we required assistance.
The kids enjoyed feeding the pigs our food scraps and it was nice to sit back on the verandah and watch the sheep going about their day in the field next door, or listening to the ducks chattering away up on the hill.
We only had one small issue while staying in the barn and that was that we got water everywhere when taking a shower. We felt that maybe a shower screen would prevent this from happening - or maybe us Aussies are just messy washers..... A bath mat on the floor helped with this. The bathroom was not slippery but if we walked out of the bathroom with wet feet the hall tiles were extremely slippery.
If Mayfield weren't so far from home we would be going back sooner - unfortunately as we're some 17,000 km away it will need to be later - but we will be back and next time i will not be packing unneccessary items such as books and games as this is all available in the barn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2014
Thanks for this lovely review. It is great to know that a family like yours can stay here for over 3 weeks and feel as if it is a home - that is exactly what we hope to achieve with all our guests. We note your comment about the shower area. It is a difficult balance between being disabled friendly (tiled floors where possible, wet rooms rather than shower cubicles) and suitability for all. We recognise that the areas directly outside the wet rooms are tiled and slippery when wet although the wet rooms themselves are non slip. We will in future provide towelled bath mats to place on the floor directly outside the wet rooms. We hope this minor issue did not spoil your holiday in any way and we would love to see you all again - you were perfect guests from our perspective.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jojep
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing family holiday”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had a relaxing family holiday here with the youngest being 5 and the oldest 60 plus. Everyone had a lovely time. We had our first cup of tea of the day outside on the decking watching the animals. The lambs were so entertaining! Fred and Madeleine made us very welcome and were happy for us to join in with feeding the animals and the farmyard routine always being mindful of safety. My sister loved feeding the pigs and sheep and my great-niece enjoyed feeding the chickens and collecting the eggs. A public footpath runs from the farm into Mayfield and we walked through for coffee one morning and on another day drove a short distance to the coast so there is plenty to do in the local area. There is a TV in the accommodation but we didn't have to time or the inclination to put it on! If you want a relaxing, get away from it all holiday then this is the place for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The animals and lovely countryside.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2014
Thanks for this lovely review. We try to ensure that all our guests can help around the farm if they wish and your group certainly enjoyed the farm experience. We are equally pleased that others in the group were able simply to chill out in the peace and quiet. We hope to see you all again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue F
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant for all ages !!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a long weekend here - 6 adults, 2 small children and a dog! We had the most wonderful weekend, and the children (aged 6 and 2) enjoyed helping Madeleine and Fred with the animal feeding, collecting eggs and generally being around the farm. We got to cuddle new born lambs, and were all fascinated watching them leaping around in the fields.
Everyone wants to go back again - and I can recommend the Barnsley Chops from Madeleine's freezer as we had them last night for tea!
If there was anything to improve it I would say a gate across the little field by the Barn where the children can play would make it completely safe for them - but this is a very minor point and didn't spoil it at all for us.
Hope we will be back again to enjoy this lovely place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness and that the children were welcomed to help around the farm
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2014
Thanks for this lovely review - and we are so glad you will be back next year! We understand the comment about the gate and will consider this improvement for the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K7543ENan...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely setting, enjoyable stay, very nice hosts”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Nice a spacious, clean, tidy & everything you needed. This is ideal for a family with a disabled person, as we have. There are 4 bedrooms and wet rooms, so a real joy to find. We hired a mobile hoist from Huntleigh Healthcare ( v reasonable) who deliver and collect. This makes life a lot easier. Nestled in lovely countryside, East Sussex is lovely. Fred & Madaleine were very nice and extremely helpful, and most welcoming. I would recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tucked away
Liked least: The mattress on one bed was uncomfortable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2013
Thank you so much for this lovely review. We are very glad that you found the facilities so good for your disabled daughter. We hope that your comments will encourage even more people with disabilities to stay here and , of course, we would be delighted to see you all again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie C
Irthlingborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely area, quiet and such a friendly welcome”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

A lovely place for a quiet, relaxed holiday. My husband and I and our 3 daughters loved the animals and farm environment and we were close enough to the historical sites and coast to visit the locality. We were also joined by my parents for a week and there was more than enough room for all of us to relax and still have room. Lovely!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet and calm
Liked least: No telephone or any internet access
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
Thanks for this - we are so glad you all had such a lovely time here and hope to see you all again sometime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing