We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect retreat!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Games Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
58 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Mayfield, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

266dalet
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect retreat!”
Reviewed 14 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

I recently stayed at the Games Barn and was greeted with a warm and friendly welcome, even after arriving quite late in the evening. The owners are the most lovely ' down to earth ' and hard working people you could wish to meet and would go out of their way to make sure you have everything that you need.

We pre-booked a variety of meat from the farm, which was in the freezer awaiting our arrival. I certainly recommend the pork joint from them, slow cooked all day and crackling to die for!

Far reaching open views welcome you from every window throughout the property, accompanied by a pleasant rural soundtrack of sheep and river water to wash away the stress of city life.

A bottle of wine and a real log burning fire create warmth throughout the property and allow conversion to flow into the night. Endless amounts of books, board games and VHS tapes will keep you occupied should you choose to use them along with a picturesque view from the decking area where you can kick back, put your feet up and forget about the world for hours on end whilst star gazing!

Wifi is available for basic internet searches and reading the news etc. Phone signal is ok out on the decking area and there are a few local shops with all of the supplies you would need including a Post Office.

If you are looking for a countryside retreat that feels like a home away from home then this is for you! In summary, it's clean, it's comfortable, the owners are friendly, the location is great. As such, we have booked another two weeks!

Enjoy!

Date of stay: March 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
16 Mar 2018
Thanks so much for this - we are delighted that you have loved it so much you have decided to book a further 2 weeks. What better recommendation
than that. See you again next week!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odyssey62...
2 reviews
“Great disabled access property in a lovely location”
Reviewed 21 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Lovely barn on a farm with welcoming helpful owners, our dog Jack had a great time playing with Zac the farm dog!

Date of stay: February 2018
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
23 Feb 2018
Thanks for this and we are glad Jack liked our dog!. We very much hope to see you again sometime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Date of stay: February 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Feb 2018
Thanks for this. We greatly enjoy having young children around to help us (provided they are well behaved of course). You are welcome to come back at any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
suereeves...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent for family holidays”
Reviewed 30 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We held a family Christmas at the Games Barn for 6 adults and 2 young children. The barn had good spacious room for everybody and lived up to what I had envisaged for the family with the added bonus of being able to see the animals on the farm.

There was enough space and seating in both the kitchen diner and living room for all.

We went for some lovely walks across the fields to walk off all the food we had eaten.

The Games barn was lovely and warm due to the great log burner but even had electric heaters in each of the rooms if required. We even cooked chestnuts on the logs.

If going in winter - do take wellies (which we did) as the land around is very muddy.

We all had a great time. Fred and Madeline were very helpful and we could even have helped to feed the animals if we hadn’t been too busy doing the Christmas bit with the children.

Would recommend.

Date of stay: December 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
4 Jan 2018
Thanks very much for this - we are glad you had such a lovely time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiph69...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Family Meet up”
Reviewed 10 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We were looking for somewhere to stay to meet up with all the family including young children , staying for a family wedding. The barn is very spacious and comfortable with a lovely kitchen diner . It was lovely and peaceful and we all enjoyed being on the farm. The beds were comfortable and we slept well amongst all the business. Good laundry facilities.
One warning is to say to be careful on the wooden ramp and decking that was very slippery in the wet, which is the only reason for the loss of one star.
Fred and Madeleine are very attentive hosts with attention to detail in preparing for the varied needs of our guests. They encouraged the children to feed the pigs and chickens appropriately.
Really appreciated our stay and would return again if staying in that area.
Thank you

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
17 Oct 2017
Thanks for this review. We do warn guests that the decking and ramp can be very slippery in the wet and we recognise the issue. The problem is that in order to make the bungalow wheelchair accessible, decking is the recommended surface. We are glad it didn't spoil your stay and we would love to see you here again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rydpm
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Much enjoyed short break at genuinely disabled friendly accommodation.”
Reviewed 29 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The Games Barn is situated on a farm just outside Mayfield, down some country lanes so best suited for a holiday with your own transport.
We were looking for somewhere close to Tunbridge Wells and Eastbourne as we wanted to visit relatives whilst in the area and this accommodation was ideally situated for us.
Fred and Madeleine were extremely straightforward to deal with and the booking process was very easy , they have very detailed access information which meant we could properly assess whether this was a suitable property for us as one of our group is a wheelchair user.
We received a warm welcome, and whilst our privacy was totally respected Fred and Madeleine were only to happy to spend time with us and share information about the farm. They have a lovely sheepdog who was very friendly and you are welcome to visit the piglets and sheep and to generally enjoy the experience of staying on a farm.
The barn contains everything you need for a self catering holiday, there is even a dishwasher and you have the use of laundry facilities in a utility area. There are plenty of books and videos etc for when you are relaxing and a lovely wood burning stove ( wood supplied) for cosy evenings in. We used the electric heaters just in the mornings as the wood burner easily warmed the whole barn on a late September evening.
The barn is comfy and sensibly furnished for a working farm environment, you are asked to keep things clean and tidy and can either leave things in good order or pay a final cleaning cost which you might choose to do if you had an early departure time.
We found the adjustments that were in place for wheelchair use absolutely suitable and Fred and Madeleine will give you contact details of an equipment hire facility should you need something like a hoist for your stay.
So, a good time was had and we hope to go back next year. Whilst our group was all adults we can imagine that this is a lovely place for families with children who would enjoy the experience of staying on a farm. Please be aware there are a few dos and don'ts designed to keep guests and livestock safe but you wouldn't expect anything else on a working farm.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
2 Oct 2017
Thanks for this lovely review. We are delighted you had such a good time here and that our facilities met your needs so well. We hope to see you all again next year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardingP...
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Absolutely fabulous place, lovely people Madeleine & Fred the owners and such a peaceful place to stop + plenty of places to go and see close by Brighton, Hastings Eastbourne, Battle, Royal Tonbridge Wells, for that day out Brill

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
26 Sep 2017
Thanks - we are very pleased you had such a good time and hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.